We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Such an amazing place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palms Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palms Guest House
Ranked #104 of 141 Langkawi B&B and Inns
NCR, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such an amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Beautiful and peaceful location.. Very near to beach (less than 5 min walk).. Nice and clean rooms, Hot Shower, AC, mini refrigerator, clean sheet, towels, chairs.. Everything was there and we loved it. This was our second trip to Langkawi. Earlier we stayed at Berjaya but this time in a guest house and that too for 8 nights. Believe me, we would like to stay here again and again.

The owner, Sue, was very helpful. She suggested us many places to visit. Overall it was a 5 Star stay for us.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Global_Merchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    5
    8
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
K.L., London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

The Palms Guest House is an ideal budget place to stay in Langkawi. They have not many rooms which full most of the time but the friendliness, cleanliness ,privacy and cozy atmosphere is fantastic. That's why it got good recommendation from Lonely Planet
The owners is very helpful and good , they are not that much money minded like most of budget places. they are very helpful. They dont sell any tours, excursion and trips for commission like other places but they give you good recommendations on what to do n how to go about.
We witness this when the owner help out one of our room neighbor when he got an accident involving a scooter he(himself) rented from nearby beach counter. We have seen in many places we travel ,normally the owners of hotel or rooms will not interfere with the travel counters.
We have stayed here for third time, 2 times this year.
You just have to walk 2 minutes to the beach. Food and entertainment places is nearby too.
We are planing to come back again next here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K_L_LondonFoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Great location if you want to be near tourist attractions, busy restaurants and duty-free shopping centre on Pantai Cenang. Not good if you're looking for quiet time on Langkawi. Clean and good value, but rather warm for a fan room. Fridge in room is one of the best ideas to store duty-free drinks!:) Ironically, while it's near the commercial areas, it's just as near to countryside for walks in the Malay kampungs. Good location for base, if most of your days are spent sight-seeing, island hopping, shopping and exploring the island. Just watch out for limited parking space.

Room Tip: Fan rooms are always cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

As far as we were concerned the only good thing about this place was its location. 3 minutes to the restaurants and a minute further to the beach. The room was not clean, it wasn't cleaned at all whilst we were there (4 nights), bins weren't emptied, no clean towels & only 1 toilet roll for the duration! The caretakers (owner is away) don't seem to be too much bothered and reception is closed most of the time (there is a notice on the door that says closed, DON'T KNOCK, how welcoming is that!). Free wifi is non existent although there is a place along the road that only charges 3myr an hour. We came back one day to find our door unlocked although nothing was taken as because we weren't happy about the security of the place we lugged our valuables around with us all the time. On our last morning we found cockroaches in the bathroom, yuck! I know it's cheap but for $5 more you can get much better on this lovely island.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore/london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Palms comes well recommened but failed to live up to expectations. At first glance the rooms seem well maintained and by Malaysian standards they are ok. But we had cash stolen from our room during our stay. The management did not really seem to care and acknowledged they had a thief in their midst. The best thing we could do to help them was to report the matter to the police, they said. After all this hooha we decided to check out. On check-out I noticed a safe in the office and suggested guests lock away their valuable, but I was told (very often) this is just a budget place. Well with room prices pushing RM90 I would say it's a very pricey budget place!!!! I have stayed in much better budget places at real budget prices in Malaysia that feel some form of service is included. I would never stay at Palms again. There are plenty of other budget guesthouses around.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babi000006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.0 km away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 km away
The Cottage Langkawi
The Cottage Langkawi
#6 of 26 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 km away
Zackry Guest House
Zackry Guest House
#4 of 141 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa
0.0 km away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.0 km away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Guest House

Property: Palms Guest House
Address: 5226 Jalan Batu Asah | Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Palms Guest House Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing