We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,102)
Filter reviews
1,102 results
Traveller rating
553
382
107
27
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
382
107
27
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungewan lipasir gudangchinese restaurantaeon malldim sumbreakfast buffetjunior suitewelcome drinkfive star hotelmain restaurantbusiness tripservice levelspecial thanksbirthday cakenight marketsatay
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 1,102 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Back to stay at Renaissance JB for Easter Day.
Again was upgraded to the junior suite as Marriott Platinum Member.
The hotel is still well-kept and the lounge is still the same: great staff, food and services
Strongly recommend this hotel for family getaway!

Dr E Chow

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank UpperGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Gagan-Singh, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear UpperGuest,

Thank you for your great review and rating. We are happy that you had quite a positive stay with us and a wonderful moment in Johor Bahru. As a 5 star hotel, we ensure our guests are well taken care of and cater excellent services in making their stay pleasant and memorable.

Our team from each department plays an important role in serving our valued guests and we are glad you were able to experience it. Please do continue to choose staying at our hotel should your travels bring you to Johor Bahru and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Gagan Singh
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Definitely not for you if you’re looking for somewhere to relax over the weekends!
As a Marriott Gold member, felt pretty shortchanged. Felt so much like a family hotel, definitely not a 5* experience like you’ll get in other chains/hotels. While I get that I had gone over a long weekend and it was full house, there was just absolutely no solace for a couple trying to seek some quiet getaway.

Hide in the club lounge? Club lounge rules were blatantly flouted - saw huge families in there (ie parents, 2-3 kids and their folks), having what seems to be a family dinner in the evenings. while i get i would have expected some flexibility should i have kids, please consider some ways to at least partially enforce the rules (use your imagination) so it is at least *pleasant* for be other legitimate guests. It’s all about maintaining standards even in your busiest days, no? Absolutely no differentiation in status here. Is that the management’s intention, i wonder...

And a 5* hotel with no tubs with an upgraded room? Pretty disappointing for a hotel I would say in this day and age.

So as a PSA: families with kids, this 5* hotel is for you! For MR members expecting some status differentiation, or couples wanting some peace and quiet, avoid this hotel at all costs!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AdelineC500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Gagan-Singh, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Adeline C,

Thank you for choosing a stay at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel and providing your detailed feedback. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. We appreciate and shared your matters of concerns that has been highlighted with the appropriate hotel team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to prevent unpleasant experience from occurring in the future.

As a Gold member whom we deeply appreciate your patronage to Marriott and we hope the above will not deter you from visiting Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel again. With that, we wish you will continue to choose our hotel as your preferred accommodation and please do not hesitate to reach out to our team for any further assistance in making your stay a wonderful experience.

Regards,
Gagan Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Superb service from club lounge staff, especially Ms Angle. Thank you so much for taking such wonderful care of our family during our visit. From start to finish everything went seamlessly. Ms Angle was absolutely amazing so please pass on our sincere thanks. Your staff very professional to treat guest. The food at the club lounge was always delicious!
Once again many thanks for everything! We had a great vacation.
THANK YOU SO MUCH Ms Angle and all club lounge team helped to make it that way! I’ll be sure to let you know in advance before we come again.
Thanks again for all your hard work and consideration.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank mohdyazidabdaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Gagan-Singh, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear mohdyazidabdaziz,

It is our pleasure to have you and your family with us and we thank you for your review and especially your high praises for Angel of Club Lounge, who did her best in attending to your needs. Your recognition for her good work is very greatly appreciated and of course we will relay your compliments to her as certainly, she'd be very happy to hear from you.
Please visit us again and we'd be sure to make each stay memorable and pleasant for you and your family.

Regards,
Gagan Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Was here for an overnight conference. Convenient and very near to the causeway. It is away from the city so much quieter and yet with a good choice of local and international dining areas around to satisfy most foodies! Hotel looks new and rooms are also fitted with good quality stuff eg. recessed light switches and German Grohe tap fittings! They must have gotten a good interior designer! Shower areas have centre rough surfaces to prevent slipping and everything else was tastefully designed and done up. The seminar rooms were also well designed with good AV equipment and seating. Was overall quite impressed! However there were a few small points that detracted from an almost perfect score - firstly the drainage from my room bathroom sink was not good and water quickly back-flowed after running the tap for a while. Also, the men's washroom at the 2nd level seminar rooms had only 2 urinals with one that was permanently choked and hence unusable throughout the length of my conference. Bed was comfortable although the pillows were all too soft - would have been ideal if the two pillows provided had a firmer and a softer one. Guess I could have called housekeeping but it was too late in the night and I decided to bear with it for one night. The dining choices for the buffet breakfast and lunch at the Cafe BLD was certainly impressive with a good selection of dessert items too. Breakfast was very crowded and the staff struggled to cope so one had to wait a while for new cutlery to be replenished.at emptied tables. But otherwise, they were much attentive with taking orders for coffee and lattes. The egg and prata station outside the dining area also deserves special mention! Overall this is a great hotel for relaxing as well as for conferences. Its proximity to Singapore and nearness to the causeway are also plus points. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Urban_Travellers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Gagan-Singh, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Urban_Travellers_11,

Thank you for taking us on a trip to your experience with the hotel. We are certainly glad that you had an overall pleasant experience with us and highly noted on some of your points for improvement. Our hotel is indeed designed to be sleek and chic, suitable for all travelers be it business or leisure just as the hotel is equipped with facilities such as meeting rooms, restaurants and gym. With that, we're honored that you appreciate the design and its offering in detail.
We do hope you will visit us again whether on business or leisure, do bring your friends and family along as we are keen to welcome them to our hotel for a memorable 5 star experience.

Regards,
Gagan Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights I was quite busy at work but very time when return back to hotel everyone would welcome me like I’m the only person but the hotel ,especially Mr Jenner got to pin point him he is been doing really great in checking how’s my stay is my room good . His service was really great coming all the way from Australia he even suggested some place that i should check out For breakfast always serve me some dishes when I seat down so that I don’t need to pick up the food . Overall it’s a fantastic hotel just that some of them in the lobby don’t speak good English and I believe this’ll should not happen in a 5 star hotel .

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank CrazyMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Gagan-Singh, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear CrazyMalaysia,

Thank you for your review and generous bubble rating. We're so glad you had a positive stay with us as well as we are proud of the services rendered by Jenner. It's very kind of you to recognize his deeds and efforts which we appreciate your thoughts. As a 5 star hotel and a part of Marriott, it is in our best interest to deliver excellent services in making our beloved guests feel welcomed and accommodated throughout their stay with us.
We sincerely hope you will visit us again and do bring your friends and family as we look forward to welcoming them as well.

Regards,
Gagan Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews