We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice weekend stay for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A nice weekend stay for the price”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at Mutiara Johor Bahru over the weekend in March 2012. Located next to Holiday Plaza and about 10 mins walk to KSL City, the hotel commanded a nice location at the heart of Johor Bahru. Check-in took a while as the trainee was trying his best to familiarize with the front office duties. We didn’t mind at all given that he was courteous and always trying his best to meet our needs.

We were given a quiet superior room at the Pelangi Wing which faced the railway track and swimming pool at the back. The clean room was spacious. It came with a king sized bed and 4 comfortable pillows. The satellite TV worked even though the selections were somewhat limited. We used the in-room safe provided to store our valuables. There were no complimentary bottled waters in our room unfortunately and other frills like bedroom slippers or bath robes.

Our bathroom seemed dated. Some renovations would have been nice even though the bathtub was spotless and water pressure acceptable. The bathroom was generally well-maintained. I used the clean swimming pool at level 3 of the hotel and it worked well for me.
The buffet breakfast in the morning was sumptuous and it helped that the staffs at the restaurant were very welcoming. Generally, we were very pleased with the service staffs we encountered as most of them including the housekeeping team greeted us with a friendly smile whenever we bumped into them along the corridors.

Generally, we enjoyed our weekend stay at Mutiara. It would be perfect if some renovations were done to the bathrooms. However, for the prices we paid, we shouldn’t have too much complains. Mutiara certainly exceeded our initial expectations. Thank you for the nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Pelangi Wing facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minghui79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily T, Public Relations Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Mutiara Johor Bahru. Your positive comments are appreciated. Meanwhile, we will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations and we sincerely look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    313
    160
    29
    26
See reviews for
220
82
24
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights, the rooms are old and the toilets just adequate. Sound proofing is bad and you can hear the TV playing on the room next to you. There is a stale stench in the room and the towels are old and sometimes have holes. No water, or slippers or bath robe provided in the room. Tooth brush not provided in the toilets but need to be requested for.
The lobby is has an open restaurant where people are allowed to smoke, since this is right next to the lift, you might lose a year of your life every time you wait for the lift.
Location is good, but there are a lot of other hotels in the same location.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel, if you have to then, take the elevator to the 1st floor (or the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raivikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily T, Public Relations Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
We regret to learn of the unpleasantness encountered during your recent stay. For your information, all our 336 rooms and suites have been fully renovated not so long ago. Feedback regarding room’s stale stench and old towels were noted and corrective measures taken. Complimentary water, slippers and bathrobe are available in deluxe and suite rooms while other amenities are offered free-of-charge upon request. We hope this will not deter you from visiting us in the near future and rest assured the next time you come by, Mutiara Johor Bahru will not disappoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2012. Booked 2 rooms on Club Floor. Room 1132 & 1134 with interconnecting doors. Rooms was spacious, clean & worth the money. Staffs was friendly, but please do check what you are paying for, they charged me incorrect amount at first.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The only negative part about this trip was the check in. We were not given our rooms at 2 PM, more than that the attitude of the check in lady (she seemed to be the one in charge) was not great. She was not at all apologetic and made us wait even though we had small kids. We finally got the rooms at 3 PM, supposedly an upgrade to the Mutiara club floor without club benefits.

Now coming to the good parts of the trip.

1) Breakfast is very good, make sure you buy the rate including breakfast. Very nice spread even for vegetarians.
2) The rooms are spacious, clean and lots of toiletries provided. I read somewhere that no water was provided but we had 2 bottles of mineral water. There was a huge LCD TV also.
3) The hotel is near to a train track but you can hardly hear it from inside so that is not a problem.
4) Excellent location, very near to a small shopping mall and 5 minutes walking distance to a larger mall which has TESCO etc. The hotel is easy to locate also.
5) Car parking is complimentary which I understand some other hotels do not provide.
6) They have a swimming pool but no kids pool so not so fun for the kids.

I have read multiple reviews on multiple sites before deciding on this hotel and do not regret it. You can visit this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harishbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We booked this hotel through agent for USS Package. Checked in quite late (7pm++) and our room was not ready (?), so we were upgraded since I have a sleeping baby on my lap, and since we have a wedding to attend in just 1 hour! The room is clean and near to perfect. The only problem is they didnt replenish the toiletries and minibar. Breakfast is yummy!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuffyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
2.5 km away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.5 km away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
3.3 km away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
807 reviews
3.3 km away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
207 reviews
3.1 km away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#16 of 109 in Johor Bahru
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel

Property: Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Address: KB No. 779 Jalan Dato Sulaiman, Johor Bahru 80990, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price range (per night): $58 - $245
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotelopia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Hotel Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing