We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It went from average to poor in 1 year:(”
Review of Byblos Sur Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Byblos Sur Mer
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Byblos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2017

My wife and i came back after 1 year to "Byblos Sur Mer" to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and since we spent some time during our honeymoon last year in the hotel and the experience was "Ok" we decided to go back this year as its location is very suitable and the hotel does have an amazing and romantic view specially during the sunset (pic attached).
So we decided to upgrade from last year's port suite to an executive suite and we stayed there 4 days and 3 nights from 1st until the 4th of July 2017. My overall rating is 2 stars only because i will give props to the kitchen staff during breakfast as they were very polite and helpful and the second star for the view from the room, other than that the experience wasn't pleasant as when you pay for an executive suite you expect certain high level, what i mean is that for example the shower-head keeps falling apart when used, most of the drawer knobs are very loose, the WC door lock doesn't work, no toilet cleaner available, no room service showed up the 2nd day until i called them around 2PM and asked them to send someone to clean the room. The internet speed is horrible as you will be lucky to have more than 0.4mbs down and 0.3mbs up,the AC keeps shutting down and even when kept on 18 degrees and on the highest fan speed we kept sweating most of the day, you don't know what is complementary with the room and what is not i.e i had to pay when checking out the crackers and the tea+Nescafe i used but not the wine,fruits and water and when i asked why you didn't notify us that those were not complementary with the room and why you replenished the crackers when not asked since they place outside the minibar the reply was we will tell your comments to management.

For the amount i payed and the experience i had i will only give 2 stars only and i'm not sure i will be going back next year nor in the near future.

It was a let down!! :(

Room Tip: Get a double room on the sea view,not worth the $ of upgrading to a suit.The best things are it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sergeelmir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

Rooms, location, amenities and the breakfast of the hotel were all top notch – but what I'd like to point out here was the very attentive staff. They were all helpful, quick and professional and made our stay there wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fai_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Yea the hotel have great location interior and outsid but
3 star service with very bad breakfast and week internet
The personal who working in reception not professional like hotel 3 star not 5 star
You have very nice rooms but the suite room not exist in this hotel becareful and for sure that hotel have too expensive prices for anything.but i still say great location and you can spend nice time

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bassel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

The Hotel was extremely well kept and the staff was very professional and always willing to help. One recommendation is to ask for a room not so close to to the the dining area, as the morning foot traffic can be heavy for breakfast, we stayed in room 106 and that was 2 rooms away on same floor. As far as the breakfast goes it was simple clean and enjoyable.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank RogerKUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel is well situated, clean and very friendly. However, they need to inspect the rooms more often to maintain the fixtures in it and should not be left to the customers to alert them to do the repair. The breakfast is great and the staff are very cordial and professional. A great place away from home at a location dating back thousands of years.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Usamah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Byblos
0.8 km away
Monoberge Byblos Hotel
Monoberge Byblos Hotel
#3 of 14 in Byblos
111 reviews
0.3 km away
Ahiram Hotel
Ahiram Hotel
#2 of 14 in Byblos
137 reviews
2 km away
Victory Byblos Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#5 of 113 in Beirut
952 reviews
28.2 km away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#1 of 113 in Beirut
793 reviews
16.1 km away
Bay Lodge Boutique Hotel
Bay Lodge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 29 in Jounieh
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byblos Sur Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byblos Sur Mer

Address: P.O.Box 163, Byblos 163, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Mount Lebanon Governorate > Byblos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Byblos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Byblos
Price Range: $205 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Byblos Sur Mer 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of history, Byblos Sur Mer is a landmark hotel situated on the ancient Phoenician port of Byblos. Overlooking the shimmering Mediterranean Sea and resting on one of the oldest civilizations in the world, this mesmerizing boutique hotel embodies the highest service qualities combined with a design and character that exude a fusion of seventies’ glamour with a contemporary zest. The hotel offers a range of marvelously decorated rooms and suites with magnificent views over the blue Mediterranean Sea and the Crusader Castle nestling over Byblos harbor, all complemented with a wide variety of restaurants and bars where our chefs will concoct scrumptious meals to indulge your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Byblos Sur Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Sur Mer Hotel Byblos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing