We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wedding Pictures.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scorpio Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scorpio Villas
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Canada.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Pictures.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I Latifah got married over there but then I lost my wedding pix; when I came to Nairobi.
Nevertheless, everything was great!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Latifah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    114
    32
    14
    7
See reviews for
49
196
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

this was our 3rd visit it just gets better the food is very good a very large selection and well prepared and very good quality the staff throughout the hotel are fantastic with regard prostituts no problem if any come into the dining they and their friend keep to themselves we have travelled the world but the scorpio is among the best we will be back again in spring.

Room Tip: just go and soak it up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barrythe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This was our second holiday at Scorpio having had such a great time in 2010. We were not disappointed this year.

Having stayed there before, we had a good idea which were the best rooms but the ones that we had asked for were not available due to refurbishment. However, we were shown some alternatives and chose room 2 which was was far better than last year's.

As before, the staff were really charming and couldn't do enough for us. Some even remembered us from last year and greeted us as old friends. Those at reception were particularly helpful and charming, even lending us money for the tuktuk fare into Malindi.

The hotel facilities are really great - pools/gardens etc and well looked after and constantly being cleaned/swept.Internet facilities ( when working) are expensive by Kenyan standards. Went to cyber cafe in Malindi and paid less than 60p for an hour! Malindi itself is not up to much but use the 7 to 7 supermarket for supplies although the hotel prices are not expensive.

On the first evening, we asked for a dining table on our own which we had for all the holiday.The service was very good with one or two rare exceptions mainly due to new staff.

The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice but, on 2 occasions, they ran out of eggs and/or butter.The owners were informed and went ballistic with the staff.

The food at dinner was good with plenty of choice but did get a bit boring by the end of the holiday. Some complaints about 8pm opening of restaurant but this is probably due to the large Italian contingent.

The "entertainment" was of mixed quality. Constant muzak in the restaurant which was annoying/ terrible female singer at dinner who had a limited selection of songs which were repeated every evening. Do people want to be " entertained" during dinner?/ Out of tune band at night but very good when joined by female singers or sax player on occasional evenings.

The prostitutes were still there - they always will be - but certainly not so blatant as last year and not really a major problem.

Did not go on safari this year but had 2 trips. First to orphanage through the famous Geoffrey. We had taken out pens and paper for the children which were enthusiastically received. Very eye opening experience which should be done - shows how fortunate we are.

Again, with Geoffrey,we went on full day trip to the mangroves at Mida Creek - excellent and well worth the visit/ Watuma Beach - certainly not up to expections/Gede ruins - fascinating. Anything that you want to do/go. Geoffrey will organise it with great courtesy.

The seaweed on the beach was not so bad as last year as the hotel had made efforts to clean it up on a regular basis.Also, the beach bar is now open. Once you say "NO"(or similar), the beachboys will leave you alone. In fact, during our second week, they had moved further along the beach as, apparently, the Italians were more receptive.

The souvenir sellers ( Big Mama, Simon,Mary, Johnstone) at the gate to the beach were lovely - not pushy and most grateful for any business. If you treat them politely and firmly, they will not bother you, Business was bad for them this year due to lack of tourists and you should remember that selling a few trinkets at very low prices (compared with UK) is, in many cases, their only source of income.

The Scorpio is a well run/managed,privately owned, hotel which provides excellent service and facilities for its guests but I feel that it may be under some financial pressure due to a reduced number of tourists and, allegedly, being owed a considerable sum of money by a major tour operator who have not paid their bills. I hope that this is not the case as we would certainly return again if its high standards would be maintained

Room Tip: Room 2 was fine with all that we needed - great roomboy. A bit noisy from the band at night but no r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPB5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooler, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Came here with my daughter for birthday 3rd Oct to 17th Oct, 2011. Gardens beautiful, little girl kept room immaculate, good . Staff kind and helpful. Negatives -- first week it was a building site as they demolished buildings with guests underneath them, second week sewerage ran through the paths as rain heavy, leaked into pools, no apologies from proprieties who live on site, reception unhelpful

Staff were not allowed to sit down at anytime, even those looking after the proprietor’s children. The children spoke to staff like animals as did many of the italians staying there. Breakfast was good, dinner, unless you liked veal or cheap fish was not good. 10 people I spoke to had tummy problems, one very ill second day there , doctor had to be called (£80 for visit) I went down with the bug last day there, one of our friends was sick as we left.

Male and female prostitutes brought in every night, some were children. An Arab man took photos direct to face book of every blonde in dining room, nobody stopped him. NOT my kind of hotel but the Kenyans are lovely people. Safari and trip see Jeffery at beach gate for excellent service. Go to orphanage outside Malindi and take sweets for children and some books. Jeffery will take you

Room Tip: stay away from central part as noisy music most of the night is heard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineBaker1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Came here after our safari - people on trip advisor saying that the waterhole in Tsavo next to Aruba lodge was dry, but we didnt see that, plenty of animals drinking and bathing!!

Back to hotel, it was lovely, clean and people fantastic. Bar staff and waiters couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned every day and sprayed every evening. Shower was big, but water not very hot or fast! We had bed on the balcony and lovely trees and one of the 4 pools as our view. The food was plentyful and you could have 6 courses each night if you wanted, but not always a good selection and a lack of potatoes & vegetables. Pools were lovely with fresh towels in good supply. Three little shops looked after by Jonathan with good range of reasonably priced goods. Elvis, the Cosmos rep was around every day, but we didnt really rate him very highly and he just left us at the airport with no real idea of what to do, but it was easy enough. The free tea, coffee and cakes in the afternoon with a free drink and nibbles just before the evening meal was a nice touch and got us talking to other guests. We were lucky enough to have our own table for meals, although we were moved about a couple of times.

Had a fabulous time overall and would certainly recommend the safari at Tsavo East and this
hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naranjos973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
1.3 km away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#4 of 29 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
18.7 km away
Che Shale
Che Shale
#1 of 3 in Mambrui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
3.6 km away
Tamani Jua Tao Resort
Tamani Jua Tao Resort
#16 of 29 in Malindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Dorado Cottage
Dorado Cottage
#10 of 29 in Malindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.7 km away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
1.2 km away
Sandies Tropical Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scorpio Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scorpio Villas

Property: Scorpio Villas
Address: Mnarani Road, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#1 Best Value Hotel in Malindi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#6 Family Hotel in Malindi
Price range (per night): $114 - $189
Hotel Class:4 star — Scorpio Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scorpio Villas is an attractive Small Resort where guests stay in Lamu-style, thatched cottages, furnished with hand-carved furniture including a large four poster bed. Every cottage has a large, shady terrace and the dining waiter will serve breakfast here every morning (on your request, or you may wish to dine in the restaurant). The villa accommodation is interspersed with four swimming pools around which you'll find sun beds and chairs. It is only 50 metres, along a path, to the white sands, private Beach With Umbrella & Sunbeds. Only 1.5 kilometres from the centre of Malindi. This hotel is conveniently situated and is popular with repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Scorpio Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scorpio Villas Hotel Malindi
Scorpio Hotel Malindi
Scorpio Resort Malindi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing