We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true gem - fascinating and unique”

Review of Himaya House

View across the pool to Silversands beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House Side view of the House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House
Side view of the House
View across pool to guest wing
View across pool to main house
View at low tide from part of garden
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom bathroom
Veranda dining table
Entrance to the living room with veranda beyond
Bedroom in separate guest wing
Outside veranda on guest wing
View from Master bedroom window to pool
Looking down to pool from Guest wing
Looking back towards HImaya at far end on cliff
Walking along side Himaya at low tide - in the South Monsoon
Looking out to Marine Park
A sunset from Himaya
Storm over the ocean from Himaya
Fisherman out in May storm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Malindi, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael-K...
Kenya
2 reviews
“A true gem - fascinating and unique”
Reviewed 20 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

The second time now we spent our holidays at Himaya House with his even more than polite and obliging owner Lissa and the professional and hard working staff (but always descreet).
And also the second time it was a pleasure to be at this heavenly place with the big and natural garden, the baobab trees, the pool. To stay on the cliff is the best - you can have real privacy and - if you want - your are down the beach in one minute.
One of the best places we have ever been travelling around the world!
Actually is hard to describe the - because it is so unique - the people as well!
Just come and see - and feel it!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The place and the service
Liked least: to stay there only for two weeks - could stay longer
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotdoggin...
cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“heavenly...”
Reviewed 6 September 2011 for a stay in February 2011

The perfect spot nestled into the cliff at the southern tip of the beach, Himaya house is a true oasis of calm. The owner Lissa was there to welcome me personally and make sure I settled in and had everything I could possibly need, without crowding me. She was very knowledgeable about the local area and happy to help in any way she could. The staff at Himaya house cooked the most stunning fresh and wholesome food and without even noticing them there the house was always spotless. I couldn't fault anything so so hope to be able to stay there again sometime soon. Thank you for such a lovely memorable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the thoughful yet unintrusive service and the views
Liked least: having to leave...
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
africawea...
england
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful secluded coastal hideaway”
Reviewed 4 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Beautiful, spacious, airy coastal house. Himaya House is a private hideaway reached from the beach by your own private staircase hidden behind a carved door. We slept in huge 4 poster beds with mosquito nets billowing in the coast breeze blowing in through the enormous windows. The rooms are exquisite, like something you'd expect to see in a celebrity magazine, the pool is beautiful and set in lovely green gardens and huge windows are everywhere, offering a panorama of the bay.

In contrast to the hotels on the beach where you can't venture out without being hassled, in Himaya you can really enjoy the peace of the coast and if you want to venture out into town one of the omnipresent tuktuk's will take you for only ~30p

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frejacaym...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Amazing private paradise, overlooking beautiful bay///”
Reviewed 24 August 2011 for a stay in March 2011

We were delighted with our choice. An unbelievable location high up on the coral bluff, this private paradise has a mature tropical garden, private pool, unbeatable views and an amazing team of chefs and helpers. We had an amazing couple of weeks here, spending our time hanging out at the house or exploring the locality. Home cooked dinners to order included the freshest sea food we had ever had! highly recommended!! - if you can get a booking!! - weve already booked another 2 weeks next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Kisii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem of a Place”
Reviewed 17 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Himaya House - a gem of a place! We spent four relaxing nights here in July. The house and staff more than lived up to the photos and reviews we had read. Definitely 5*! The location is absolutely stunning - beautiful beaches to each side of the property. Also, we didn’t get pestered by beach boys when they saw us come out of the private little wooden door onto the beach.

The staff were very attentive but not at all intrusive. We liked that. They were always on hand but very discreet. We woke one morning to see our rather dusty car (having come all the way from Kisiiland on the other side of Kenya) being washed. We made use of Sammy for shopping and cooking. He made breakfast each morning - with lovely fruit salads. We had read about his prawn curry in the reviews. We were only at Himaya for four nights but we had prawn curry, rice and spicy vegetables twice! Sammy also made us a tasty chicken dinner with roast potatoes and salad. (We also had an evening meal at The Baby Marrow which was excellent. The meal at the Old Man and the Sea wasn’t as good, but it was cheaper.) The weather wasn’t great and the staff were continually moving the sun bed cushions in and out as the showers came and went. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. The damp and unsettled weather didn’t dampen our break.

As for the house itself, it was very roomy, comfortable and tastefully furnished. We loved it. The new bathrooms were luxurious - we hope the property photos on the internet sites will be updated. (NB. “C” on the shower taps isn’t “C” for cold. “F” is the cold tap and “C” is the hot tap). The uninterrupted sea view from the dining area on the verandah and the main house bedroom and bathroom was beautiful. The pool area was also really nice - the pool being a good size - and the planting up the steps and around the separate bungalow was really pretty.

Although there seems to be plenty to see and do around the area, we spent most of our short time at the house, relaxing in the lovely surroundings.

We were sorry that Lissa was away when we came. We hope very much to meet her another time. She was so helpful on the telephone and made the whole booking process so easy for us. She has a gem of a home. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Himaya to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing