We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
7
7
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
7
7
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Perhaps more commonly known by the title above (and thus not so easily found on Tripadvisor), we stayed here for five nights in March. This is not an elaborate resort in the usual sense but it ticked all the boxes for us - location, food, service and comfort at a very reasonable price. We came mainly to view the stunning winter vistas of the Hakkoda mountains and weren't disappointed. When the weather was poor we visited neighbouring onsens (although the hotel's onsen was a delight) and always had superb Japanese dinners at the hotel complemented by excellent beer and saki. The hotel staff were always helpful, even if English was sometimes limited.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms with western beds. We had a Japanese room and quickly adjusted to sleeping on tatami mats.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 5seat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Great location if you are here for winter sports or to use the Cable Ropeway.
Do not let the name Resort or Spa fool you – this is JAPAN & more like our basic skiers lodge!
The staff are absolutely delightful: enthusiastic and could not have been more helpful - English is not spoken well (if at all), but that is half the charm.
The food is totally awesome…all authentic traditional Japanese – set menu with no choice every night, and a basic buffet breakfast. No bar, certainly no ‘nightlife’, and very VERY limited on any wine choice with dinner…
We were actually asked to be quiet & turn our ‘noise’ down one evening at SIX pm…..not by the staff, I might add! So do not come here to party & laugh too much!
We tried to book about 12 months in advance to get western style rooms. There were only 2 other ‘western’ couples staying while we were there, and as we were unable to get ‘western’ rooms – I seriously question how many western style rooms they may or may not have here. We all had tatami mats for beds and you had to use the hotel’s public onsen for your daily bath/shower. Well worth a visit (by local bus shuttle) to the 300 year old onsen nearby as well.
We stayed here for 5 nights and though we all got used to sleeping on the floor very comfortably…it certainly was nice to get back to the ‘altitude’ of a western style bed.
Always great Pow this far up north and the snow did not disappoint. The back country touring & skiing was wonderful more for the scenery & ambiance than the slopes – far too much walking by our guide for very short fresh tracks.
Have certainly had much better back-country touring & skiing elsewhere in Japan. Touring through the Tree Monster scenery combined with the story of being the lost souls of warriors does makes this experience a MUST at least once!!
As long as you know what to expect, this is a great experience away from the hoards of ‘westerners’ stampeding through the Japan off-piste Pow.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MoreFunForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Wow, this was best-value, best japanese. best food hotel in our 2 week ski trip. We stayed here for two nights jn Feb to ski mount hakkoda with Guide Simon. Just getting here in winter is part of the fun (4 busses/day from Aomori station, takes 1 hr and the snow goes from 0 to over 4 meters on the side of the road)... Hotel is situated next To the hakkoda ropeway terminal. Most people come here for active sports, do NOT expect active after ski/nightlife, place is pretty much desterted after 9 but the price js good, rooms (japanese) are nice size, clean and comfy, view is fantastic and the food in the restaurant (set menu, no a la carte) is simple but superb. There is a little shop in the hotel, couple of vensing machines, mostly japanese audience (who were very talkative when we were there). The onsen is nice and big (great view) and the area is great fun to ski for two/theee days.... Absolutely loved it..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rinus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews