We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
258
267
49
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
267
49
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday marketminute walkshops and restaurantsgreat choicedeluxe roomshopping streetwithin walking distancefront desk stafftrain stationcastleumbrellasschedule
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Richmond hotel for four nights. The hotel is central to many shops and restaurants, walkable to Kochi castle as many have said. The hotel service was superb, even ready with the umbrellas before we knew it was raining outside! We also had a mistake in our schedule and needed to stay one more evening; they dealt with it seamlessly.

I thought the breakfast was a good value! I had the katsuo tataki breakfast (the region’s specialty) and the fresh brewed coffee was nice and strong! If you need a little something sweet there are mochi donuts down the street.

If you’re coming from America, the room size may be smaller than you’re used too so opt for the deluxe room if you can. Bathroom amenities were on point :)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond-Hotel-Kochi, フロント at Richmond Hotel Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you for staying our hotel. And we are glad for your many contribution. We feel relieved that you are stayed confortably. as you say, Our hotel is central in Kochi city, There are many shops and restaurants around our hotel. We guide those, Please let we know when you need. We grasp sincerely that you saying And work hard for all customers can satisfy. Please stay at our hotel again when you visit in Kochi. We are looking forward to see you again. Thank you for contribute while you are busy.

Front desk
Yamaguchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

The shopping street Obiyamachi, Sunday market, Kochi Castle are all within walking distance. Many restaurants and cafes nearby. Small room, small bathroom, but not a big problem for just one night's stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Vicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond-Hotel-Kochi, フロント at Richmond Hotel Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Thank you for reviewing us and we appreciate your feedback.
We appreciate your recommendation of our place to welcoming others.

We looking foward to seeing you some other day.

Front clerk
Yoko Kawabata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

This is a business-oriented hotel without many tourist services. The lobby is small and sparsely-furnished, and there is no on-site restaurant except for a limited breakfast menu. Even so, we enjoyed our stay there as tourists.

The front-desk staff is friendly and tries to be helpful, but some of them are not proficient in English. There is usually an English-speaking person on duty during the day, and they will help with information requests.

We stayed in a deluxe room, which is noticeably bigger than the standard rooms, which are fairly small. There was a very small desk for working. There were electrical outlets on the desk and on each side of the bed. The bathroom is small, with the toilet adjacent to the sink and the bathtub. The wi-fi is free and adequate.

The room was clean and well-maintained. However, the bedsheets are changed only once every three days. New towels are provided daily only if requested.

The hotel is located on one of the covered shopping streets, where there are many shops and restaurants. If you want to be in the downtown shopping area, this is a perfect location. It is about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the Kochi train station, a five minute walk to the nearest streetcar stop, and a ten minute walk to the castle.

If you want a nice, reasonably-priced hotel with a friendly staff in the downtown area, and don't need a lot of tourist assistance from the staff, this hotel is a good choice.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views. If more than one person, a deluxe room is worthwhile.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond-Hotel-Kochi, フロントスタッフ at Richmond Hotel Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thank you for staying with us.

We are so happy that our room and amenities met your needs during your stay with us.

We look forward to providing you another memorable stay with us on your next visit and wish you a pleasant stay, wherever your next destination may be.

Thank you once again for your review and we appreciate your feedback.

Richmond Hotel Kochi
Front clerk
Hinako Umanoue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The Hotel is a short walk from the station in the covered shopping area. The rooms are nice, with a good strong shower. The staff were very friendly and efficient
The castle is very close and there are shops all around the hotel. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank libica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond-Hotel-Kochi, Front desk at Richmond Hotel Kochi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thank you for your staying at Richmond Hotel Kochi.
We're glad for your reviews about our service,rooms,location,and so on.
We'll try to improve the level of service for years to come.
As occation offers, please choose our hotel next time too.
We'll looking foward to seeing you some other day.

Front Araki
Maneger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Good position, in a shopping arcade, short walk from JR station,nice staff, good room BUT had to accept a smoking room, in this age why smoking is allowed in hotel rooms surprises me.
I had forgotten how unpleasant sleeping in a room like this was.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank murraymint48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews