We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
20
42
17
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
42
17
3
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

Located conveniently less than 10min walk to JR Kochi Station this Hotel offers traditional Japanese (ryokan) style sleeping on futons on the tatami floor.
The rooms were a bit tired and need of some new wallpaper or pictures to hide some marks but the onsen (hot baths) and endless plates of delicious local food (dinner & breakfast included) made up for it.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank TravelBug241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
横山公大, オーナー at Tosa Gyoen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015

To TravelBug241
The other dayThank you for visiting to TOSAGYOEN.
and thank you for your comment.How was during your stay.
Referring to the comments that I received,and I will do my best.
Please come by all means to also when you come to KOCHI
Than you very much
from Kodai Yokoyama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My travel company arranged for me to stay in this hotel on both 10 & 12 May 2013.

During my 1st day there, after I stepped in the room I found that the room was very hot and the air-con was not working. I reported the problem to the hotel staff before I went for dinner and was told that they will look into the problem, but after my dinner I found that no action was taken and the room was hot like "sauna". I requested my tour leader to talke to the hotel staff again. The answer provided was they can't do anything and advised me to open the window for the night. But after I opened the window, I found that this hotel building was very close to the next building, so no wind at all. I was very upset and insisted for a solution from the hotel staff, finally they gave me a fan for the night. Anyway, I was unable to sleep for the whole night as the fan was noisy.

For the 2nd night there, the air-con was working but the air kept flow directly to the bed due to the bed was placed directly in front of the air-con. I felt very cold and even I adjusted the air-con to the lowest, I was unable to sleep. Beside that the blanket also made me felt itch all over. Another sleepless night for me again!

I had very bad impression about this hotel and will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CKP02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Very nice atmosphere, one English speaking person available. Some rooms are older and smell to much after smoking in room. Nice unsen, excellent meal, excellent breakfast; price/ quality: a little bit high.

Room Tip: ask for not smoking room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews