We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Takamatsu Full-Day Private Tour with Government-Licensed Guide
2

Book in advance
from
AU$219.12
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Ogijima Island
from AU$219.12
More Info
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
45
54
12
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
45
54
12
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We were there for the Setouchi Triannale and I found the island is very charming, it is very nice for a half day excursion, combined with Megijima for example.

Date of experience: October 2016
3  Thank tizibcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2016

A delightful island to visit as part of the Setouchi festival . Lots of steep walk and beautiful vistas. We had an impromptu lunch of traditional food cooked by locals down at the wharf. Also visited a peaceful coffee shop in a quiet alley up above the port. It was a Centre for beautiful locally produced lacquerware which it sold. Pricey but we didn't see anything as nice late in our travels.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank SydneyAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Ogijima is not as popular as Shodoshima or Naoshima, but it also has a great source of art exhibits. There's no direct ferry to the island, but the ferry runs from Takamatsu to Megijima, and then Ogijima.
It is a small island, so it will only cost you 3 hours max to visit the entire island. As the time I visited was during the Setouchi Art Triennale, the ferry is more frequent than usual which is 2 hours per one. Quite a number of cafe options with decent art exhibitions too.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank miyavicty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2016

As we had an extra day in Takamatsu and the hotel was just opposite the ferry pier, so we decided to hop to Ogijima. There are a lot of exhibits on the island, but be prepared to walk up the slopes and the ferry schedule: one every two hours.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank TWHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2016

This island, mostly known for its cats (although we have seen just a few of them) or its Setouchi Art Festival, may be at first glance small and uninteresting as it doesn't have any attractions nor open bars/restaurants or public transportation (except the ferry to Takamatsu and viceversa). However its beauty may surprise you, especially the combination of sea and mountain features, or even the symmetry between nature and modernization.
It's a perfect place for those who love walking/hiking (either around the island, maybe towards the lighthouse, or up towards the observation deck) or just stay at the beach and swim/sunbathe. Moreover, if you're fan of the book/manga/film Battle Royale, then it's a must-see!
The only tricky part is how to get here as there are only 5-6 ferries per day (one ferry per two hours; appr. 510 yen just one way). If you're going to visit it this year, I recommend to check the ferry schedule on the Setouchi Art Festival website.
I really enjoy it and the view from the top is amazing!

Date of experience: May 2016
3  Thank iris_marron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews