We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out. They prey on foreigners at this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Kumamoto Ekimae
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The staff there are out to steal your money. I had the misfortune of staying at this hotel for two nights. At check-in, the staff did not give me a receipt when i asked for one. I thought nothing of it until the next evening, I get a knock at my door. It was one of the staff, who hands me a note stating that I owe them 5000 yen. According to them, I shorted them 5000 yen when i paid. Now, I'm certain I paid so I asked to see some sort of proof. They refused to show it to me. I was worried about legal and communication issues. How was I sussposed to tell a cop about a fairly complex scam? I should have packed my bags, and cybercafed it or called the cops anyways. I eventually caved, but had this happened in my home country, I would have told the staff to politely screw themselves, and then called the cops. Had they showed me any proof that I was in the wrong, I would have gladly paid, and apologized. This incident reflects badly on Kumamoto, toyoko inns, and blemished an otherwise wonderful vacation. I recommend that you stay at one of the many other hotels nearby and closer to the castle.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theJdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2009

This hotel is quite close to the train station and tram stop, so it's easy to get to the sights. Staff was friendly and helpful, with adequate English skills.

The twin room was typically small, but efficient and comfortable. The bed was firm and comfortable, with nice linens and a thick, comfortable pillow. The private bathroom had the usual amenities, including toothbrush kits, razors, combs, with soap and shampoo in wall dispensers over the shower/tub. At checkin we were each given a nice gender-specific kit of samples of various skin care products. We also were able to borrow an ethernet cable to use the in-room internet connection.

The coin laundry facilities are in a tiny alcove off the lobby, with 3 washers and 3 dryers, and a vending machine that dispenses detergent for 30 yen per load. We had no trouble getting our laundry done.

The night we were there, the hotel was offering a free curry dinner. Since we had no other plans, and had laundry to tend to, we ate there. It was a simple meal, but quite tasty, with generous portions, and all we had to pay for was drinks from the vending machine.

The free breakfast buffet included both Japanese and Western items, but choices were limited and dull.

At checkout, the staff gladly forwarded my largest suitcase to the hotel I would be staying at in two days. The charge was 1270 yen.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Stayed at the Toyoko Inn by the JR Station in Oct 2008. The hotel is new and very nice. The rooms are small, as are all Japanese business hotels, but not so small that it is a problem. The wife and I had a double and had no problems with the size. The hotel is just a short walk from the JR train station and from the bus/tram station making for easy access to Kumamoto City or to other parts of Kumamoto Prefecture. There are computers to use in the lobby for free and the rooms have internet connections (did not use) the free breakfast was japanese style of rice balls and miso soup along with coffee and tea. There are drink/beer/sake vending machines and washer/dryer in the lobby area also. We stayed at 4 different Toyoko Inns on this trip (Tokyo - Shinagawa, Kumamoto -Ekimae, Osaka - Namba, and Kyoto - Gojo) all are very similar. They are small but very cheap especially by Japanese hotel prices. All our future trips to Japan will include Toyoko Inns.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chalankanoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank 辻横 晴
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumamoto hotels
Dormy Inn Kumamoto
#2 of 97 in Kumamoto
558 reviews
Kumamoto Station
Jr Kyushu Hotel Kumamoto
Jr Kyushu Hotel Kumamoto
#9 of 97 in Kumamoto
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nest Hotel Kumamoto
#29 of 97 in Kumamoto
161 reviews
Kumamoto Station
The New Hotel Kumamoto
The New Hotel Kumamoto
#8 of 97 in Kumamoto
192 reviews
Kumamoto Tokyu REI Hotel
#10 of 97 in Kumamoto
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Kumamoto

Been to Toyoko Inn Kumamoto Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Kumamoto Ekimae

Address: 2-8-10 Kasuga, Kumamoto 860-0047, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Kumamoto > Kumamoto Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Price Range: $63 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Kumamoto Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Rakuten and TripOnline SA so you can book your Toyoko Inn Kumamoto Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing