We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
27
58
34
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
58
34
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gion subway station first floor men and women japanese breakfast baths closet onsen fridge
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

The staff were all very friendly and willing to help foreigners. However, it was a disappointment that the rooms and facilities were very old. Abit expensive for this quality within Fukuoka. No lifts available and I will not recommend if you have huge luggages to carry up as the stairs are also very steep and narrow. Bed was not set up for us, it has to be done ourselves, but there is turnaround service.

In the room: it was nice to have the warm kotatsu in winter and the room was spacious enough for 4. Nice balcony that can sit 2 and overlooks a nice private garden. However, the cabinet and balcony doors were faulty.

Facilities: Toilet for upstairs accommodates only for 2 persons (shared toilet- 1 per gender) with 2 sinks for 5 rooms shared. Hot spring (a very small and old indoor tub) is to cater to 4 persons only at a time and is occasionally full. There is also 2 private baths for us to use, slightly small but suitable one person.

Overall, this is a authentic traditional ryokan if you don’t mind the old and rundown facilities. Can be abit pricey for the quality. But the staffs are extremely friendly :)

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hui Min S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Our stay at this otherwise charming, rambling, historic old inn was damaged by being assigned Room #17. This dreadful, depressing hole of a room, with its peeling wallpaper and spartan, environment bears no resemblance whatsoever to the photos featured on Booking.com, or most of the photos on this website. No fridge, few traditional features, old and stained tatami which should have been changed long ago. What a shame, because we enjoyed the rest of the ryokan, with most employees cheerfully helpful, decent baths for both men and women, clean shared toilets and a truly splendid Japanese breakfast served in a large space redolent of the atmosphere of old Japan. Having made our reservation many months ago, I have no idea why we were stuck in that room from hell, but our rating would have been much higher if our accommodation resembled what we had been expecting. It is true that we booked a room for four people on Booking.com, and only three of us were able to make the journey, but we paid the same price for the room, not per person, so this should not have affected anything. Also, please note...you have to set up your own futon, which was a first for me in more than 25 years of annual travel in Japan and staying in ryokan way more humble than this one! Not the end of the world, but just a little odd. Stay here by all means, but by all means avoid Room #17!

Room Tip: Just avoid Room #17, and any other room which resembles it!
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Japan0phile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

This ryokan is very warm and nice one. All staff very kind and helpful. The room and public area are cleaned rightly. Also close to the train station(named Gion), you can go through exit 6 which is elevator exit. Then, walking shortly. Onsen is provide as well.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Journey703747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

I've stayed here before(2013) and on another trip through Japan thought I'd stay here again. It's what it is, old style, 800 odd metres from Hakata station, use the subway tunnel that connects Gion subway station to Hakata station to get here.
It's surrounded by izakayas, old style pubs, and it's just very convenient, bus stops are also nearby.
If you're desperate for food you can always go to the station and it's underground restaurants(I recommend the conveyor sushi place in peace valley).
People here speak some English, there's free tea and coffee at reception plus a cold drink machine, more are outside in the road.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

어떻게 보면 역사적 유물에 가깝네요. 생각보다 규모가 큰데, 가운데에는 아주 작은 중정(정원)이 있습니다. 걸을 수 없고 그냥 감상용인데 모든 객실에서 보이게 해놓았네요.

방에서는 오래된 다다미 냄새가 나고, 정말 코딱지만한 TV가 있고...객실 전등은 줄을
당겨서 켜는 옛날 전등 그대로예요. 화장실도 남녀 공용...

저렴하게 일본식 료칸문화를 접해보려면 나쁘지 않은 선택으로 보입니다만 오래 머물 곳은 아닙니다. 하카다 역에서 걸어서 10분 거리입니다.

A very typical ryokan which is more than a hundred years old. If you want to experience a short time travel to old japan, it would be a nice choice. However, if you are sensitive for cleanness, smell, and shared restroom, reconsider staying there. The cleanness of blanket is doubtful, old tatami smells unpleasant, and the shared restroom on the second floor is even shared between men and women. (I did not check the restroom on the first floor.)

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phlip0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews