We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kimono Photoshoot (Muslim friendly)”
Review of Waplus Nara

Waplus Nara
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 55.39*
and up
A Complete Kimono Experience in Nara
Ranked #1 of 6 Fun & Games in Nara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: WAPLUS NARA is the Japanese kimono experience shop, just 2 minutes' walk from JR Nara station. We have a variety of Kimono related services such as kimono rental, costume photos and kimono school. Not only at our shop, we can offer these services at your accommodation or event venue as well. Why don't you enjoy kimono experience in the Ancient Nara. Service details; 1) Kimono School Waplus is one of the only kimono-school for foreigners in Japan, and will help you learn everything there is to know about the tradition of Kimono wearing. After a class on Kinomo history you will be taught how to dress, with amazing patience and attention to detail, the staff help you understand and perfect the intricate process. Knowing that you have learned the traditions and perfected the art yourself is truly rewarding, and the final outfit, with finishing touches from the teachers, is stunning. 2) Costume Photos For a once in a lifetime experience, the costume fitting allows you to transform into a princess, samurai or oiran—with a traditional outfit. Rather than using wigs, trained hairstylists will carefully recreate the authentic appearance using your own hair. When you are ready, the staff will help you dress in the many layers, slowly constructing your complex outfit. Finally, you can step into the studio for your shoot and then choose the final photos as a stunning reminder of your experience, and treasure them as a memory of Japan.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

placed 5 min away from Nara station.
Staff is very friendly and professional and speak fluent English.
Kimono for both men and women (even hijabis!)
they have many plans to chose from, we opted for kimono rental for a photoshoot ~ 1 hour or less.

highly recommended.

Thank juman_meniawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukumiy, マネージャー at Waplus Nara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you very much for the comment. We are very glad that you liked our service! We hope the photo you had will be your nice memory of visiting Japan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"kimono rental"
in 6 reviews
"stunning experience"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful kimono"
in 2 reviews
"taking pictures"
in 2 reviews
"yukata"
in 4 reviews
"obi"
in 3 reviews
"shop"
in 4 reviews
"japan"
in 4 reviews
"purchase"
in 2 reviews
"photos"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We feeled really welcomed and get helpful advice. They have a good selection of yukata and Obi, and the Price is great too. I would recommend a visit here!

Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukumiy, マネージャー at Waplus Nara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you very much for chosing Waplus Nara! We are very glad that you liked our service.
We hope you enjoy wearing the yukata and obi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Great experience buying a beautiful blue haori with flower patterns. The material is also quite good. The staff was also really nice and helpful. This place was a nice surprise on my way to Nara Park :)

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukumiy, マネージャー at Waplus Nara, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you very much for visiting Waplus nara. We are more than happy to know that you had a great time here . We do hope that you have enjoyed srolling around Nara . We wish you will continue to have wonderful time in Japan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

It was beautiful, very friendly and professional. Everybody wanted to help and we have a great experience wearing kimono and taking pictures. We were surprised because price was much cheaper than such stores in Kyoto.

Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukumiy, マネージャー at Waplus Nara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you very much for coming to Waplus Nara. We are more than happy to know that you had wonderful moments with us. It was our great pleasure to meet you . We wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

They are very kind, speak english and just have beautiful kimono. They did my hair with much Attention. And Because it was my birthday they even got my a gift! Location is very convenient too. Absolutely recommend!

Thank vraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukumiy, マネージャー at Waplus Nara, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you very much for coming to Waplus Nara. We are more than happy to hear that you had wonderful moments with us. It was our great pleasure to meet you . We wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waplus Nara also viewed

Nara, Nara Prefecture
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 

Been to Waplus Nara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing