We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
27
104
36
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
104
36
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

The staff were friendly as is to be expected for Japan.

A fair price, however the last orders at all restaurants was 8:30pm no chance of any food after that time. The shuttle bus is infrequent, we never managed to use it. The Hotel is relatively clean however the bathroom had mold in parts including the shower curtain which was dotted all over with black mould.

The hotel is dated, it has been maintained resonably well but has a 1970s feel about it.
The early closing of the restaurants and infrequent shuttle was a big dissapointment, resulting in us having to walk outside in the cold evening to find somewhere to eat.

The best thing about the Hotel was the bike rental at 500 yen per day which made the sites more accessible.

Don't stay here unless all places in the rest of Nara are completely booked or the rest of the Town has been levelled by an earthquake.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AllanWhicker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Super friendly, helpful staff, even when there was a language barrier in the bar, they went to find someone who could help with the menu. Great place to stay. After 10 days on futon this place was heaven!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sfranzen2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is right on the highway so coming from Kyoto it was really easy to find.
The staff are very very friendly and very very helpful as we wanted to go to Nara park and look at some temples. We had no problem as they advised us where to park and gave us a map so we would not get lost.
Compared to many places we have travelled to Nara is quite small so it didn't take long and did not take a whole day to see it all.
The hotel room was very very small and quite old but also provides all the amenities a hotel would usually have.
I think the best part of staying in this hotel is that the spa (on-Sen) really made my day! Yet again abit outdated but none the less still good and still clean.
If you are travelling from city to city and looking for an overnight stay then this is a good hotel but if you plan to stay longer then I wouldn't stay here as it's far from the town centre.

Stayed: October 2016
2  Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Big hotel, not new but room is clean, comfortable bed and spacious room for japan standard, love the small garden view outside my window. And has a nice garden view at breakfast area. But location a bit far to nara park. Around 10 mins walk to nearest subway station.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank soen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Very nice modern hotel, free WiFi, and they give you a free bath-pool coupon to each guest, which is located in the basement of the hotel. Yes, you will have to totally undress and share the big bathing room which has a big walking pool, a jug-zee, and a big hot tub. If you do not feel comfortable sharing the big bath tub with strangers, naked, then this is not for you. Besides, you don't have to use this service, of course each guest room has its own bath tub/toilette with all the necessary amenities. This is just an extra service this hotel offers. Japanese people like the big bath (On-sen), as it will totally relaxes you, and gets rid of your tiredness from walking around the city. The hotel itself has everything, very nice breakfast area, a little shop, a little garden in the back, and all the rooms are quiet. The only things is it is located a bit far from all the attractions in Nara. However, the hotel has a free shuttle bus between the center of Nara and the hotel which is convenient, runs every half an hour. But if you are in town until late at night, say after 9:00pm, then there will be no more shuttle. The best way is to take a cab, about $20 from Kintetsu Nara station. The staff are friendly and accommodate to your request at their best. They also have bicycle rentals. Nara is not a big city, so you can ride a bike to all the temples and shrines. We opted this out as it was middle of August and extremely hot and humid. If we go to Nara again, I would definitely stay at this hotel again and rent a bike to explore the city. Good hotel for family with small children, couples, or single traveler.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view to Helijo-Kyo. You can se the old Nara from your room.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews