We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:30 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tokyo
from USD 118.37
More Info
from USD 102.80
More Info
from USD 56.07
More Info
from USD 121.49
More Info
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
7
15
11
9
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
15
11
9
18
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Very few bus stops and they don't say what tourist sites are near their stops. The time slots are either too close to each other that you cannot spend enough time to go around the area or too far apart from each other that you will stay in the area too long. If you try to transfer from different routes to see another site, the time slots are impossible.

The bus route goes in one direction so if you miss the stop to see another tourist attraction in the same line, you would have to go back to the main stop (Mitsubishi Building) to try to get to another bus.

You won't be able to make full use of your money and time using the Sky Hop Bus. Better to use the train.

Date of experience: December 2017
3  Thank Bettina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

For whatever reason, the top of the glass siding had LED strip lights. This totally blocks any view of the outside because the glare made it unable to see outside. So it is a total waste of time listening to the canned description without being able to see anything.

The 'guide' just sits at the back and not interacting at all with any of the guests.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank supremo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We are great fans of the hop on hop off buses but surprisingly, the Tokyo version was a bit of a disaster. Now I am only going to compare the Tokyo service with the Osaka Wonderloop here. The days we took both trips it was raining. In Osaka they only use a covered in bus on a rainy day but in Tokyo they used a bus which had an open top deck and even worse - had no lower deck at all! In the Osaka wonderloop the commentary was read by a darling Japanese lady who was dressed in a Halloween costume and gave out sweets. She was as sweet as pie and so was the driver. In Tokyo the bus was manned by a very dour Japanese woman who looked very cranky to see us. The driver was so enthusiastic that he actually put his foot on the accelerator when 4 people ran towards the bus as it was about to leave. Since the bus was almost empty due to the bad weather, the company could have surely appreciated selling four more tickets. If I'd been those four I certainly wouldn't wait around in the rain for another bus. As for the commentary, that was particularly disastrous. As previously stated, in Osaka a charming young lady dictated the commentary thus giving the trip a personal feel. But in Tokyo the situation was quite different. We did two loops of the bus and on one loop they forgot to turn the commentary on till we got off the expressway. Considering the large number of buildings in Tokyo the commentary was fragmented at best. There was a fair bit of music and not too much discussion on buildings and only a couple of mentions of historical events such as when sumo wrestlers were present at the closing of a department store. I would suggest that someone with a broad knowledge of the history of Tokyo writes a new script for the bus and makes sure that there is continual talk and no music. As I said, they forgot to turn on the commentary on one of the buses but on the second bus I caught, they did not start the recorded commentary until we were ten minutes into the trip. Everyone was shaking their ear plugs and turning around to ask their neighbours if they could hear something. Well it was one way to see Tokyo but this service definitely needs a shake up.

Date of experience: October 2017
5  Thank Roslyn35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We recently used this option to see as mochas we could using this service. We did not know we could not sit inside - as it was a very hot & sunny day, we paid a severe price, i.e. sunburn. We could not use our umbrellas - not allowed on this bus. :-(

On the plus side, we sw many places in and around Tokyo. We could hop on and off and a schedule was given to us. Would we use them again - yes. Totally worth the effort and time when you simply what to see what to do and where to visit again.

Please note the culture in japan is to be on time - if you miss the Bus, you simply have to wait for the next one.

Enjoy it !!!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Suleiman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

I have really enjoyed hop on/hop off busses in many different cities and I thought that this would be as useful. It was not. We planned on taking one line to connect with another only to find that the wait between busses would be over an hour! We did not continue and used the subway instead. The information seemed less history and more oriented to shopping. I didn't need to see the first 7/11 in Tokyo! I would not recommend this bus at all!

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank Margo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews