We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
387
393
84
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
393
84
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyamashita parkcruise terminalnew winggeneral macarthurpre cruiseoriginal buildingle normandiechinatown stationlives up to its namenice cocktail barbusiness loungehuge windowsinteresting historyhistorical hotelthe red brick warehouselovely roomlovely park
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We had a wonderful experience at the Hotel New Grand in Yokohama, travelling with our family of four. After landing at Haneda Airport, it was only about 15 minutes by car to Hotel New Grand, which was great because our flight from the USA was exhausting. Check in was easy with the English-speaking attendants at the front desk. The bellman showed us to our rooms, doing a great job explaining everything.

Travelling with our two teen sons, two King rooms worked very well. The staff was able to arrange rooms (almost) next to each other, which allowed easy access. The beds were firm and very comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was absolutely amazing, which was a great relief both after the long flight and after two long days of sightseeing in Tokyo.

We used this Hotel as a base for visiting friends in Yokohama and for a couple days in Tokyo. Access to Tokyo was easy by train (google maps provides directions with all the train/subway connections). The end of the Minatomirai-Line Train is only a block from the Hotel -- that was very helpful because you get on before the train is crowded! But, I highly recommend that you visit Yokohama. As others have said, Hotel New Grand is about two blocks from the amazing Chinatown, with its pedestrian-only street and awesome food. Yokohama's baseball stadium is also within walking distance or an easy cab ride. We spent an afternoon watching the Yokohama Bay Stars, which was tons of fun. The mix of the familiar rules of baseball with the Japanese fans' cheering and chanting was really cool and in line with what we try to show our kids when we travel abroad. The park across the street from the Hotel and the view of the bay are both fabulous.

The best part of our experience at hotel new grand was the gracious and accommodating staff. It would not be a family vacation, if something did not go wrong. This time my younger son became ill. So, he and I had to extend our stay at Hotel New Grand by one night, while my wife and older son went on to Kyoto. The concierge and front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating. Although the hotel was booked solid in the morning, they understood our situation and let us know an hour later that we could keep one of our rooms. Their kindness was a great help.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaisersrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
宿 泊, マネージャー at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind feedback about your stay at Hotel New Grand.
We are luckily located in a very convenient place where is easily reachable to many interesting sites. Furthermore, the transport by bus operated by Keikyu company between Haneda airport and our hotel is so easy and time saving. We sincerely wish your son is completely well now, and hope you will have another chance to visit us on your future travel to Japan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

みなとみらい線の元町・中華街駅から近く、海にも近いという抜群の立地。客室は32平米のスタンダートツインに泊まりましたが、ソファーもありくつろげました。風呂のお湯の出が良く、比較的遅くに着いたので、すぐに入浴したかったのでナイスでした。当然、近いので中華街で夕食をとり、帰りに山下公園で夜景を楽しむ。ホテルにもどってシーガーディアン2で飲んでゆっくり寝めました。翌日は氷川丸を見学して、マーリンルージュでクルーズ。まるでサザンの世界です。楽しめました。

Excellent location that it is close to Motomachi · Chinatown Station of Minato Mirai Line and close to the sea. Guest room stayed at standard sitting twin of 32 square meters, but there was sofa, too and was able to relax. The hot water of the bath went well and arrived relatively late so I wanted to take a bath soon so it was nice. Naturally, because it is close, I will have dinner at Chinatown and enjoy a night view at Yamashita Park on my way home. Back to the hotel, with Sea Guardian 2, enjoyed a cocktail and slept slowly. The next day we took a tour of Hikawa-maru and cruised aboard the Merlin Rouge. It's almost like Southern's world. I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank texas1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
宿 泊, 支配人 at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

この度は、ホテルニューグランドをご利用いただき誠に有り難うございました。
また、ご満足いただけたとのご感想と高いご評価を頂戴いたしましたこと大変嬉しく、光栄に存じます。
頂戴いたしましたご感想を共有し、この先も皆様にご満足いただけますよう、設備管理及びおもてなしの向上に努めてまいる所存でございます。是非またのご来館を従業員一同、心よりお待ち申し上げております。

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Hotel New Grand.
We are very delighted to learn that you are satisfied with your stay and appreciate that you gave us a high rating toward us.
We are pleased to share your kind comments with all our staff and will keep striving to maintain and improve the quality of our facilities and our customer service.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Beautiful and spacious hotel, for a good price! Located right next to Chine Town, the Marine Tower, and other attractions in Yokohama. Has been around for 90 years, and has many storied guests including General MacArthur and Charlie Chaplin. Great views of Sakuragicho and the Yokohama Bay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Bay
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takeshi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニューグランド宿泊部, 支配人 at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel New Grand.
We have welcomed luminaries like General MacArthur, Charlie Chaplin, Babe Ruth, Prince Henry-Duke of Gloucester, Mary Pickford, Douglas Fairbanks, Ronald Colman and many others.
We are here to provide the best possible service that will leave radiant memories and we will keep on going to achieve this goal.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your future trips to Yokohama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

If you are looking for a good Hotel in Yokohama, certainly will not be disappointed if you stay at the New Grand. It is a perfect Hotel. Full of charm, good location (across from Yamashita Park, 2 blocks from Chinatown and one away from the subway station). The staff are wonderful. We never received so much attention. We were treated like royalty. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. On the way back from Kyoto, we ended up staying in another Hotel, from which we had already made the reservation previously. Despite being more expensive and with more stars than the New Grand, lost ugly in the comparison. Thank you New Grand staff. You have made our stay unforgettable.

Se voce está procurando por um bom Hotel em Yokohama, certamente não ficará desapontado se ficar no New Grand. É um Hotel perfeito. Cheio de charme, boa localização ( em frente ao Yamashita Park, a 2 quadras da Chinatown e a da estação de metrô). Os funcionários são maravilhosos. Nunca recebemos tanta atenção. Fomos tratados como a realeza. O quarto era de bom tamanho, múito limpo e confortavel. Na volta de Kyoto, acabamos ficando em outro Hotel, do qual já haviamos feito a reserva préviamente. Apesar de ser mais caro e com mais estrelas que o New Grand, perdeu feio na comparação. Obrigado staff do New Grand. Voces tornaram nossa estadia inesquecivel.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank easyfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニューグランド宿泊部, 支配人 at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

We appreciate you for taking your time to post your kind comment regarding your stay with us. Our staff was so flattered when they learned your praise about them. It is such a reward for us as we strive to provide the best service possible to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel New Grand someday in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Got a little lost at 1st because I went in through the back of the building. Very nice and upscale. Great rates and the location had an even greater view. Close to alot of コンビニ、 神奈川県民ホール、and 横浜 Chinatown. The staff had a good enough understanding of English and went above and beyond to make my experience worth the 14hr flight.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank KortneyK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ホテルニューグランド宿泊部, 支配人 at Hotel New Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you very much for your posting your review.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and the town.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future so that we are able to provide you even a greater experience at Hotel New Grand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews