We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and great service ”
Review of Hakone Ginyu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hakone Ginyu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Went a few years back but only reviewed it now. Expensive and exclusive but is a top onsen. Service is impeccable I must say. Dinner is lavish and exceptionally good and creative. There are rooms with private tubs but rooms without tubs are fine as well. Valley view is impressive. Transport highly recommended as it is along the route up to Hakone. However the hotel will ensure you board the correct buses too. Worth every $.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank danielyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
There are newer reviews for Hakone Ginyu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

I'm a little late in writing this review but if Hakone Ginyu has maintained its standards from a few months back, I cannot recommend it highly enough. The moment we set foot in the lobby, we entered a serene, calm oasis after a tiring day of exploring Hakone. The lobby and common areas had some interesting Balinese themes but we thought the property overall was stunning, the views out into the trees are incredible and this continues when you get to the room. We had a western style room with that same amazing view (even better when viewed from the private onsen) and it was amazing. Separate dining area, bedroom, nice seating area by the window, lovely bathroom with the shower room leading out to the onsen. The kaiseki was out of this world, and to top it all off, the staff brought us to a terrace upstairs to eat dessert, where they had set out hundreds of little candles in celebration of our honeymoon - we didn't even tell them, one of the reception staff guessed and asked us! We were so touched by the effort that went into such a thoughtful gesture. For us this was a splurge for sure, but the experience was truly unforgettable.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RanjiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

This ryokan is top notch. We had spacious accommodation and excellent service. The chef accommodated my wife's diet restrictions and the staff were most careful to ensure that the meal she was served worked for her diet and tastes. Great views over the gorge. The lounge and bar area are beautiful. If you want to test the ryokan experience at a top level this does it.

Room Tip: Ask for extra towels
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steing1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Wow, from the moment you enter you are blown away by the amazing view and the friendly staff. The hotel has a public hot pool and a beautiful traditional vibe. Our room was stunning and large. We had a private onsen looking over the mountains, and a dining room for our breakfast and dinner. The food was amazing. I recommend getting the Japanese breakfast and sake tasting plate. My only disappointment is I only booked for 1 night. Was left wanting more.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We were mesmerized by the spectacular view on the lush mountains and its natural surrounding.
We stayed in the Tsuki Room with private outdoor hot spring bath.
The kaiseki (multi-course Japanese meal) dinner & breakfast was of good quality, scrumptious and nicely plated and served in the comfort of our room.
We had a memorable stay and would recommend this great luxury Ryokan especially for Couples who are looking for a relaxing, serene and private time!
Staff were friendly and they are able to communicate in English.
Location: Stone's Throw away from Miyanoshita Station.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaxLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#14 of 244 in Hakone-machi
481 reviews
Gora Onsen
Hyatt Regency Hakone Resort and Spa
Gora Onsen
Gora Kadan
Gora Kadan
#5 of 244 in Hakone-machi
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tounosawa Onsen
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
Fukuzumiro Ryokan
#2 of 244 in Hakone-machi
278 reviews
Gora Onsen
Gora Hanaougi
Gora Hanaougi
#3 of 244 in Hakone-machi
201 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakone Manatee
Hakone Manatee
#4 of 244 in Hakone-machi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakone Ginyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakone Ginyu

Address: 100-1 Miyanoshita, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0404, Kanagawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen , Kowakidani Onsen , Miyanoshita Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hakone-machi
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Hakone-machi
#10 Spa Hotel in Hakone-machi
Price Range: $709 - $1,350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hakone Ginyu 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the lush mountains of Hakone, lies the spa resort of Hakone Ginyu. 'Ginyu' means a person seeking inspiration for a poem by traveling around.Spectacular views of the Haya-Kawa River as well as the Hakone Mountains set the perfect backdrop for poetic inspiration. The entrance and lobby are located on the top of the building. The essence of Japanese style emanates through the corridors and continues throughout the entire resort. The infinite beauty of the natural surroundings will enable you to forget the stress of everyday life.You will be transported to a different world once you arrive at Hakone-Ginyu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan) and Cancelon so you can book your Hakone Ginyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakone Ginyu Hotel Hakone-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing