We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
travelhappy15
Sydney, Australia

Ordinary rooms with great dinner

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Oct 2018
Most of these rooms are traditionally Japanese with matting and a futon for sleeping. For overseas visitors, an extra futon on the floor will make it more comfortable. There are public baths for both men and women, with a very small bathroom ensuite in each room.
The only available seating in these rooms are either the windowsill or the chairs placed on the ground with the dining table.
The room was a bit shabby and worn, as were the public areas. The redeeming feature was the set menu dinner served to our group, which was tasty and well presented.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
AU$251
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.1 km from Hakone Hotel Kagetsuen
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$484
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
3.4 km from Hakone Hotel Kagetsuen
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$480
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Hakone Hotel Kagetsuen
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$237
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • japanican.com
8.5 km from Hakone Hotel Kagetsuen
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$1,520
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$1,520
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
3.3 km from Hakone Hotel Kagetsuen
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$474
  • Algotels
4.0 km from Hakone Hotel Kagetsuen
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$271
  • Hotels.com
8.8 km from Hakone Hotel Kagetsuen
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$271
  • japanican.com
8.7 km from Hakone Hotel Kagetsuen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$480
  • Expedia.com
    AU$598
4.4 km from Hakone Hotel Kagetsuen
Free parking
Restaurant
Private Hot Spring Area
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$409
  • japanican.com
9.1 km from Hakone Hotel Kagetsuen
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
16
61
19
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
61
19
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Dissapointing visit.
It is located at a fairly useless location.
Nothing is really close or usefull or easy to get to regarding mount fuji activities.

On clear days a view of mt. Fuji is possible.

The hotel itself is quite terrible.
One of the worst hotels that we stayed at in quite a while.

Let start with the good:
- free use of private and public Onsens
- friendly reception and helpfull

The bad:
- The rooms are exceptionally dirty.
Dust and fungus smells greet you as you enter the room. Thick layers of dust in most places around the beds and other items. Fungus on the shower curtain.
Bugs in the room. Stains on the bed linnen. Curtains that stunk and have turned yellow.
I guess they chose to put chloride desinfection pots in the room instead of cleaning it.

- Breakfast was bad.
The selection looked oke at first, but everything was cold and tasteless. Only thing that tasted good were the cornflakes. And we had breakfast at a normal time (7:30).

- Dinner is just dumb,
You arrive there and are told that dinner reservations have to be made 1 day in advance, if not you are out of luck.
Most hard to reach dinner places in the neighbourhood close at a convenient 4 or 5pm. One or two options remain that also provide a free shuttle pick up and drop off.

- The hotel has the atmosphere of a ghost hotel, you rarely see or hear anyone (depending on your prefferences, this could either be a good or bad thing).

If you do want to stay in Hakone, i would advise selecting a cleaner hotel.
Make sure to skip this one if you are sensetive to dust qnd fungus in the air.

We decided to deviate from the scedule our travel agency put together and flee the Hakone area. We booked a hotel in Kawaguchiko, which is much more conveniently located near the Mt. Fuji activities.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

A good hotel that don't get 5 stars because its old place, a big parking, good spa private and public, big rooms and a very good breakfast, western and Japanese , you can see the Fuji from the window, great place to be.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank אריה ש
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Our group enjoyed our short stay at this little resort. The food was good and although the rooms were not large, they were comfortable.
i enjoyed my first Onsen in the complimentary private hot spring baths. We were in a tour bus but I understand the hotel does provide transport to Hakone which is a few kilometres away over somewhat narrow and winding roads.
Hakone is a good place for enjoying the surrounding area - We visited Mr Fuji and Lake Kamiguchi from here, as well as the Peace Park before heading to Lake Ashi for a cruise and a gondola ride up to see the sulphur venting from the mountainside.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morewindOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2017

The Hakone Hotel Kagetsuen is a middle-of-the road hotel without the luxury expected in a resort. There is a small gift shop in the plain lobby with a small selection of goods, but you can purchase canned/bottled drinks for a reasonable price. The double bed rooms are fairly large with a traditional Japanese style seating area. The bathroom is small with a small but deep half bath. Shampoo/conditioner not in the rooms but plentiful in the onsen (bath), for which they have for the community and for families. The food served for dinner was nicely prepared and picture-worthy. The hotel is situated a short walk from the Cultural Center and a nice walk to the harbor. We were able to access the roof for spectacular views of Mt. Fujii, which by itself made the stay worthwhile. But what a nice staff! They (chef, server, receptionist, hostess) lined up outside as we left and sent us off with waves and goodbyes!

Room tip: Single rooms are very small - opt for a double. If you go to experience hot springs bathing, ask for a room close to the onsen.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We had booked a non-smoking room but as soon as we walked in the room it reeked of smoke. There was an ash tray on the table. They apologized and quickly upgraded us to a larger room with no smoke smell. The breakfast buffet was great & very casual. All most everyone shows up in robes from there morning Onsen. If you have a clear day go up on the roof for a spectacular view of Mt. Fuji. Everyone was very helpful.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank skyhawk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews