We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$567
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Expedia.com
AU$505
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$486
Fully refundable before Tue, 28 May
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
naresh134
Dallas, Texas

Glorious public areas, outdated rooms

Review of Fujiya Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Feb 2018
We stayed for two nights at the Fujiya Hotel. Its 138-year history has made it a tourist destination in itself so even in January on a Sunday night it was fairly crowded. However, by Monday most visitors and guests were gone and it was pretty empty. The hotel felt much cozier then. .
The public areas have been maintained/refurbished quite well and they do ooze charm, especially for those who like historic hotels. However, the rooms are pretty outdated, though spacious. The bathrooms also show their age and would benefit from a thorough updating.
The French restaurant is rather pricey but the grill downstairs serves fairly good food. There are a number of nice eateries very close to the hotel so one does not have to eat here. The western breakfasts in the main dining room are very good. The dining room itself shows its glamorous past and the service is also very good.
The onsen (hot spa) is pretty disappointing as it is essentially a small dark room and can only accommodate at most two or three persons. However, it is easy to have it all to yourself. We did not use the indoor swimming pool which is fairly large.
While we were there, Hakone had a major snow storm, almost 8 inches! The grounds looked beautiful all covered in snow and in the morning, when the snow had stopped, we were able to take a walk in the grounds (carefully) including their onsite indoor greenhouse.
The location is very convenient for touring around the Hakone area as the bus and local train stops very close to the hotel. Also, the hotel is located essentially at the beginning of the circuit that most people take to go around the national park.
For convenience, a little bit of old grandeur and fairly decent service, Hotel Fujiya is a good pick.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$538
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$541
  • Priceline
    AU$538
  • Hotels.com
    AU$538
2.1 km from Fujiya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$505
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$544
  • Agoda.com
    AU$471
  • Expedia.com
    AU$562
1.5 km from Fujiya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$300
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$355
  • Agoda.com
    AU$294
  • japanican.com
    AU$353
3.8 km from Fujiya Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
Booking.com
AU$285
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$313
  • Hotels.com
    AU$308
  • Expedia.com
    AU$313
3.6 km from Fujiya Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
AU$301
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
5.2 km from Fujiya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Booking.com
AU$391
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$599
  • Agoda.com
    AU$342
  • Priceline
    AU$551
1.1 km from Fujiya Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
Booking.com
AU$242
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    AU$250
  • Agoda.com
    AU$225
  • Priceline
    AU$245
4.3 km from Fujiya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
Booking.com
AU$257
  • japanican.com
    AU$286
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$245
  • Priceline
    AU$285
3.6 km from Fujiya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$553
  • Expedia.com
    AU$693
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$516
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$731
5.7 km from Fujiya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$728
  • Vio.com
    AU$348
  • Agoda.com
    AU$325
  • Priceline
    AU$809
4.0 km from Fujiya Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveller rating
436
384
154
63
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
436
384
154
63
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building hakone area tokyo onsen forest
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018

This hotel catered to the top of society, first to the Japanese then also to the foreigners from the 1920's onwards. This current management has totally lost the way, its self respect and its respect for the client and has turned it in a tourist attraction with just ruins remaining of the old glamour. The worst is the service, reduced to McDonalds level. The confuse old with antique, reputation with service. It is sad to experience and is no longer worth a stay. A look, yes, maybe a cup of tea or coffee in the veranda and walk in the garden, hurry !! before they manage to mess that up too. It is a disgrace to the descendants of the founders.

Room tip: stay away, until they learn to respect their heritage AND their clients again
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2018

This isn't the fanciest hotel with the newest, coolest amenities, but it is gorgeous and has so much history! The interior of the main building is gorgeous and feels like taking a step back in time. You can take a stroll through their lovely gardens during the day. And at night you can relax in their onsen, or even in the private bathtub in your hotel room which has water supplied by the natural hot spring as well. Each room has yukata for the guests to use. The staff are very friendly and polite. The restaurants are pricy, but the hotel is located by several more affordable restaurants. We really enjoyed our a stay at the Fujiya and wished we could have stayed longer. When we return to Hakone, we will definitely stay here.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atwikatydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Although I wanted to stay in one of the older building, the rooms were already full. So, we stayed in Forest building.
The room was old but well maintained. We could see the Hakone Tozan Trains through woods. We are very content with the view of red train going through the green woods.
French dinner at the restaurant "Wisteria" was awesome as well.
Also, there is a room which displays the history of the hotel near Onsen and indoor pool. Old menus, photos, and actual tableware and guestbooks were displayed, and we enjoyed going through this small "museum".
It is sad that the hotel seems to be closed from April 2018 to 2020 for renovation, but I would certainly like to stay in this hotel again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NorthWest777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Spent one night at Fujiya Hotel with my husband in December 2017. The hotel was old and in need of serious TLC. My husband enjoyed the relic from the past feel but for the price the furnishings need a serious update. The bed was like sleeping on concrete and the pillows and coverings needed a refresh. Beautiful property grounds and the onsen on sight is convent. Close location to mountain train. Service was very good but i think this hotel has seen its time. Food options were limited and the eateries in the basement were depressing and stark. The bar downstairs is dark and has potential but needs a menu refresh. The breakfast in the beautiful wood carved dining room was the highlight. Furniture in all areas of hotel look worn and in need of refurbishing. If you are looking for a hotel from the 70s that hasn’t been touched since, this ones for you.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank KLMnyc517
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We stayed at this hotel with families including an infant. While staying for 2 nights I enjoyed lunch at the main dining, swimming at the pool and walking around the Japanese garden. The building of the hotel was aged, but it was kept very well and kept clean. It was decorated in a traditional old Japanese style and old western style mixed with a unique design. The staff were kind to our baby.

Room tip: Garden view room is better than Mountain View room
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mat_mak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews