We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Rakuten Travel
AU$620
Booking.com
AU$519
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Agoda.com
AU$440
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
mr.soetanto
Jakarta, Indonesia

TRADITIONAL RYOKAN STYLE ACCOMODATION WITH BEAUTIFUL MOUNTAINOUS SURROUNDING & TRADITIONAL JAPANESE HOSPITALITY

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Dec 2023
We are part of TOTO Japan Indonesia tour and had a late night check-in from Narita.

Upon arrival we are greeted and helped by the front staff with all Japanese hospitality. Our room are located on the first floor which is the same level as the onsen. All of the rooms are a bit distant away from the main lobby, therefore you'll need a bit of walking in between areas.

Our room are Ryoken style with tatami floor mattresses which is quite comfortable. In room heating are quite warm however the bathroom and showers are not, no heating so during winter will be quite chilly. Wifi internet is quite bad, very slow and drops alot.

Our room have an astonishing views towards the lake and mountains, and surrounded by golf course to the side of the hotel.

Breakfast and dinner are all served with Japanese style breakfast, very yummy and free coffee too. Dining staff are very well mannered and diligently taught our daughter the tastiest way to eat some of the traditional meal.

We stayed for 2 nights and so We begin our Japan tour in the best way a Japanese accomodation & hospitality can offer.

Thank you & definitely recommended accomodation...
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Request for first floor if you're planning to use onsen most of the time...
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
笹尾 雅洋, 支配人 at Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 24 Dec 2023
Thank you very much for visiting Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel the other day. Once again, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback. Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the hospitality of our staff. The warm words from our customers are a source of encouragement for us.
The hotel is located at such a high altitude that you can see the Pacific Ocean instead of the lake from some rooms. We apologize for any inconvenience caused regarding Wi-Fi. We will try our best to improve.
When you come to Hakone, please come and visit our hotel. We would be happy if you would recommend us to your family and friends. We look forward to seeing you again. please take care of yourself. Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel Mikio Sakurai
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$538
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$538
  • Hotels.com
    AU$538
  • japanican.com
    AU$541
2.7 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$505
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$561
  • Agoda.com
    AU$471
  • Hotels.com
    AU$544
1.5 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$302
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Booking.com
5.4 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$300
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$355
  • Agoda.com
    AU$294
  • japanican.com
    AU$353
5.4 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
Booking.com
AU$285
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$311
  • Hotels.com
    AU$288
  • japanican.com
    AU$313
5.2 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Booking.com
AU$391
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$601
  • Agoda.com
    AU$342
  • Priceline
    AU$551
1.7 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$548
  • Priceline
    AU$690
  • Expedia.com
    AU$517
  • Hotels.com
    AU$532
3.9 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
Booking.com
AU$242
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$245
  • Agoda.com
    AU$225
  • Vio.com
    AU$250
6.1 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$257
  • Priceline
    AU$285
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$245
  • Hotels.com
    AU$278
4.9 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$728
  • Vio.com
    AU$348
  • Agoda.com
    AU$325
  • Priceline
    AU$809
5.6 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
56
115
41
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
56
115
41
6
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2023 via mobile

Stayed here on tour for that authentic traditional Japanese experience. Unfortunately a rather sleepless night on the floor on a futon.

Staff are friendly and helpful surroundings are exceptional just not too sure whether I would like to sleep the same again. Would be much more appreciated if we had a western style bed.

Part of the experience...

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PeterK499
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
笹尾 雅洋, 支配人 at Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2023

Thank you very much for visiting Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel the other day. Once again, we would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to rate us. In Japanese culture, futons are only used when sleeping, so they are stored away during the day.
This is wisdom for making effective use of limited space. We apologize for not having a comfortable stay due to the mismatched futon.
We will continue to strive to provide a comfortable stay for our customers. We look forward to seeing you again. Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2023

Only stayed one night, which was a pity.
Wonderful Japanese dinner and breakfast.
Sleeping on comfortable mats was an experience to be savoured.
Best of all is the onsen with nice hot bath indoors and slightly cooler one outside.
Great staff too.

Room tip: Early morning onsen is a delight
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
笹尾 雅洋, 支配人 at Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2023

Thank you very much for coming to Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel the other day.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your feedback regarding your stay during your busy schedule.
We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the meals and sleeping on the futons during your stay at our hotel. We would like to thank you again for your compliments on the milky white hot springs and the hospitality of our staff.
We will continue to do our best to ensure that our customers can spend their time comfortably.
When you come to Japan again, please come to our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Manager Yoshihiro Sasao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2023 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this onsen hotel. It was a fantastic experience. We drove down to the hotel. It’s not difficult to find the hotel if you follow the GPS, despite its a bit far from other crowded area. Dinner and breakfast were superb. Sake was nice as well. Male and female onsen won’t swap as I guess the onsen is literally the same. Everything is nicely maintained in the hotel. It’s a fantastic getaway. The hotel is next to golf course so the view of the hotel rooms are the green. As a golfer I prefer natural view rather than trimmed golf course but anyway it’s very refreshing to see the view when blinders off. Once again, it’s a very nice onsen hotel and I would definitely visit again in the future.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Calbee689
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
笹尾 雅洋, 支配人 at Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2023

Thank you very much for coming to Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel the other day.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your feedback regarding your stay during your busy schedule.
We are very pleased to receive your compliments regarding the food and hot springs, and that you would like to visit us again.
In Hakone, the accommodation is located at the highest place, so you can see the magnificent scenery without anything blocking your surroundings.
Please visit our hotel when you come to Hakone.
Severe, please take care of yourself.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Manager Yoshihiro Sasao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2020 via mobile

Very pleasant one-night stay with our family. The surroundings are beautiful, food is great, ofuro also nice! They also offer completely free of charge soft drinks/coffee during morning, which i enjoyed a lot. Overall, great place!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank André C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2020

This was the Overnight section of a 2-day Tour out from Tokyo, between Matches - we were a Touring RWCup Party from the UK.

Described as a 'Ryokan' (traditional Japanese Inn/Hotel with authentic food, rooms and ambiance, so as a real chance to experience something genuinely Japanese, and a change from the formulaic 'Western Humongous Bed Factories'. We were really looking forward to this.

How wrong could we be .......

Welcomed - barely, much less warmly. Pointed in the Direction of our Room. We carted our own luggage.

Room - very basic indeed and more like a cell. Floor was a sack-like material which being damp added a powerful overlay of damp and musth. Round table at floor level with a well to hide your legs was most uncomfortable. The bed was described as a futon, however my description would be some ruffled sheets - with straw-filled pillows to match which also added that extra earthy farmyard aroma to the room.

Walks in the grounds - banned. Walk over to the next door Golf Course, which from our Bedroom window looked cool, was met with a tundra-like response of "Keep Out. Private'. an entreaty as to the Green Fees illicited the same response. The Prince Hotel's reaction was "they are always like that". Shame you did not consider it appropriate to warn us.

Getting out of the Hotel or for some exercise was therefore limited to their drive or the Car Park.

Dinner at night - decscribed as "a feast on a kaiseki dinner". My summary - awful and portions too small for my Hamster.

Breakfast was their Shining Hour served at 07.00 (Note - not from 07.00). We came early at 07.05, and walked into the Dining Room to find every single place setting had its hot Meal sat there waiting, going cold. Ours already was. Others who filtered down 10, 20 30 minutes later were greeted with the same sight.

A pointless waste of time, effort and food. I think 3/4 people of 40, ate that morning.

We paid and went outside to wait in the Car Park for our Coach.

I unfortunately left something in our Room. Did they make any attempt to contact me/us about it - Nope. Our Tour Agent did and they forward it to a Hotel further on in our Itinerary - it took amost 9 days to appear and they charged me postage and a Handling Fee.

In Summary - No sleep, comforts, food or drink, or Service.

Quite the most un-Japanese experience of our entire fabulous 7-week Itinerary, spaning 14 Hotels.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews