We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Calbee689

Fantastic Onsen Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Jan 2023via mobile
We stayed two nights in this onsen hotel. It was a fantastic experience. We drove down to the hotel. It’s not difficult to find the hotel if you follow the GPS, despite its a bit far from other crowded area. Dinner and breakfast were superb. Sake was nice as well. Male and female onsen won’t swap as I guess the onsen is literally the same. Everything is nicely maintained in the hotel. It’s a fantastic getaway. The hotel is next to golf course so the view of the hotel rooms are the green. As a golfer I prefer natural view rather than trimmed golf course but anyway it’s very refreshing to see the view when blinders off. Once again, it’s a very nice onsen hotel and I would definitely visit again in the future.
Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
笹尾 雅洋, 支配人 at Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 10 Jan 2023
Thank you very much for coming to Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel the other day.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your feedback regarding your stay during your busy schedule.
We are very pleased to receive your compliments regarding the food and hot springs, and that you would like to visit us again.
In Hakone, the accommodation is located at the highest place, so you can see the magnificent scenery without anything blocking your surroundings.
Please visit our hotel when you come to Hakone.
Severe, please take care of yourself.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Manager Yoshihiro Sasao
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$496
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

AU$471
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$307
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
4.9 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$696
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mount View Hakone
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Mount View Hakone

  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$242
  • Algotels
5.4 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Pax Yoshino

  • Priceline
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$318
  • Hotels.com
5.4 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
  • Algotels
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$266
  • Hotels.com
5.2 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$448
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$323
  • Algotels
4.1 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Yoshiike Ryokan

  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$407
  • japanican.com
5.6 km from Hakone Yunohana Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
56
115
42
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
56
115
42
6
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2020 via mobile

Very pleasant one-night stay with our family. The surroundings are beautiful, food is great, ofuro also nice! They also offer completely free of charge soft drinks/coffee during morning, which i enjoyed a lot. Overall, great place!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank André C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2020

This was the Overnight section of a 2-day Tour out from Tokyo, between Matches - we were a Touring RWCup Party from the UK.

Described as a 'Ryokan' (traditional Japanese Inn/Hotel with authentic food, rooms and ambiance, so as a real chance to experience something genuinely Japanese, and a change from the formulaic 'Western Humongous Bed Factories'. We were really looking forward to this.

How wrong could we be .......

Welcomed - barely, much less warmly. Pointed in the Direction of our Room. We carted our own luggage.

Room - very basic indeed and more like a cell. Floor was a sack-like material which being damp added a powerful overlay of damp and musth. Round table at floor level with a well to hide your legs was most uncomfortable. The bed was described as a futon, however my description would be some ruffled sheets - with straw-filled pillows to match which also added that extra earthy farmyard aroma to the room.

Walks in the grounds - banned. Walk over to the next door Golf Course, which from our Bedroom window looked cool, was met with a tundra-like response of "Keep Out. Private'. an entreaty as to the Green Fees illicited the same response. The Prince Hotel's reaction was "they are always like that". Shame you did not consider it appropriate to warn us.

Getting out of the Hotel or for some exercise was therefore limited to their drive or the Car Park.

Dinner at night - decscribed as "a feast on a kaiseki dinner". My summary - awful and portions too small for my Hamster.

Breakfast was their Shining Hour served at 07.00 (Note - not from 07.00). We came early at 07.05, and walked into the Dining Room to find every single place setting had its hot Meal sat there waiting, going cold. Ours already was. Others who filtered down 10, 20 30 minutes later were greeted with the same sight.

A pointless waste of time, effort and food. I think 3/4 people of 40, ate that morning.

We paid and went outside to wait in the Car Park for our Coach.

I unfortunately left something in our Room. Did they make any attempt to contact me/us about it - Nope. Our Tour Agent did and they forward it to a Hotel further on in our Itinerary - it took amost 9 days to appear and they charged me postage and a Handling Fee.

In Summary - No sleep, comforts, food or drink, or Service.

Quite the most un-Japanese experience of our entire fabulous 7-week Itinerary, spaning 14 Hotels.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2020 via mobile

If you want a taste of a Japanese hotel with golf thrown in, this would be it.
Comfortable rooms. Mostly Tatami beds although there are some rooms with 'western' beds if you specify.
All meals are set and are all Japanese.
It is a little distant from the nearest town, where restaurants were closing by 7.30 so if you don't want to eat in the hotel, you need to plan.
But take the lake cruise to the Ropeway and you can get a stunning view of Mount
Very good Hot Spring Bath in the hotel so all in all an interesting stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2019

Excellent stay in the hotel on dates of 3rd to 5th Oct 2019. We were 2 young couples that was on holiday and the staff never treated us any less than any of the local customers which was a very pleasant experience. Food was delicious as well and the rooms were big. Hotel staff were extremely helpful in arrangements for transport and were e kind to answer any queries we had. Special mention to the Taiwanese lady who was serving us our meals, didn't managed to get her name but she realised we were speaking in mandarin and kindly explained the dishes to us in our comfortable language.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kashi225
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2019 via mobile

Best relaxing authentic Japanese style hotel. Amazing bath with an outdoor hot spring. He will enjoy being greeted at the front door with your room key. When we went to the dining hall for dinner our bags were put out it just felt like home and it was so comfortable and relaxing

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank NikkiFL-PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews