We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$514
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
AU$571
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
japanican.com
AU$386
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Reets
Tonbridge, United Kingdom

Good location for sightseeing

Review of Hakone Yutowa
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
Great location right by Gora Station for sightseeing access.
Staff friendly and helpful
Has a private onsen if you want to use one.
The bedroom was ok size, enough room etc but not massive.
The beds are very low if you struggle getting up from floor that might be a problem but they were comfortable.
All food and drink was included and there was plenty of it and it was good.
You have a set time for dinner and there isn’t anywhere outside the hotel to get food after 6pm at night.
The main parts of the hotel are clean and tidy but some of the stairways need new carpets as they were stained badly.
Would recommend for a night or two
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: If doing the round trip sightseeing route get the train to Gora, drop bags at hotel and get cable...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
AU$301
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
4.1 km from Hakone Yutowa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$513
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$513
  • Hotels.com
    AU$513
  • japanican.com
    AU$540
1.0 km from Hakone Yutowa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$505
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$560
  • Agoda.com
    AU$481
  • Rakuten Travel
1.1 km from Hakone Yutowa
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Booking.com
AU$410
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$559
  • Agoda.com
    AU$367
  • Expedia.com
    AU$614
1.1 km from Hakone Yutowa
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
Booking.com
AU$284
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$308
  • japanican.com
    AU$313
  • Expedia.com
    AU$300
4.8 km from Hakone Yutowa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$588
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$478
  • Priceline
    AU$689
4.7 km from Hakone Yutowa
Free Wifi
Free parking
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
Booking.com
AU$257
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$245
  • Agoda.com
    AU$219
  • Vio.com
    AU$257
5.4 km from Hakone Yutowa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
Booking.com
AU$279
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$310
  • Expedia.com
    AU$275
  • japanican.com
    AU$287
4.7 km from Hakone Yutowa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$338
  • Rakuten Travel
  • japanican.com
    AU$296
  • Priceline
    AU$375
5.1 km from Hakone Yutowa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$300
  • Agoda.com
    AU$297
  • Priceline
4.9 km from Hakone Yutowa
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
25
17
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
17
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit kids play room foot bath free drinks buffet style stayed here for two nights hot pot great hotel one night private onsen condo footbath gora station dinner hakone baths
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2024 via mobile

We had a fabulous 2 night stay here.
Location is great - 2 mins from Gora station on the Hakone loop.
We caught a taxi from Odawara the nearest Shinsanken station but got the train back which was pretty straightforward.
Our room was in the condo block which is separate from the main hotel. But it was lovely. Very big by Japanese standards with a lounge area. The bathroom had a private hot spring bath which was amazing!
Beds were comfortable.
The hotel provides Yutowa gowns and slippers to be worn - I would say 50% of the guests complied. But it was a fun thing to do. The evening meal was a mix of buffet (mainly Japanese options) and you choose a main course from a menu. Really delicious. Beer and other drinks available during the 90 minute slot for dinner and then until 10 pm in the lounge. The lounge itself was spacious, lovely and calm. Breakfast was equally delicious.
We really enjoyed our stay and will return

Room tip: Try out Gora brewery bar and grill
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BrightonSeagullfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2024

This is a comfortable hotel where we stayed in the “condominium building” with large rooms, kitchenettes, and a sitting area. A plus in this hotel is a large common area where snack, beverages, and sweets are provided throughout the afternoon and evening. There is also a children’s play area with refreshments. Breakfast and dinner are buffet only and we found the food below average the prices high. Suggest eating dinner in one of the simple nearby restaurants in Gora instead.

Room tip: If you have a travel reading light, you’ll be glad to have it at this hotel. There are only overhead lamps in each room of the condos.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPTraveler18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2024

We liked the combination of traditional
ryokan and hotel. We had one of the traditional traditional Japanese rooms complete
with tatami flooring. It was very comfortable and a good size with a sofa. Our room had a view over the fire pit and outdoor foot bath.

There are
the many leisure spaces in which to relax after sightseeing. Seating at different levels for relaxing or playing board games. Very convivial atmosphere. There is a
public and private bath, garden terrace
children's play area, and a library area including English books. Free drinks and nibbles are served in the public areas which was a nice touch.

The layout of the hotel itself was a bit confusing, presumably because of its past function as a research station, so I kept getting confused.

The staff are very welcoming with good English.

The location is quiet but very convenient for the cable car, agora station and the Open air museum. All easy walking distance.

Within immediate walking distance there are few restaurants and I suspect they would need to be prebooked to ensure a table. Unusually for us we decided to have dinner in-hotel. Whilst seemingly bit expensive up front it represented excellent value with everything included. There was a big variety and all well prepared. Breakfast is a buffet and not as good as dinner

On the downside we found the room hot. The shower head could have done with decalcifying and the shower door had not been cleaned of water marks. If this is not going to be done leave me a squeegee and I will do it myself! .

Would definitely stay here again and recommend.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank packyderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2024

Relaxing hotel with great service. It's very close to the train station of Gora and the cable car so the location is great. It's relaxing, quiet and clean with attentive staff.
The public and private Onsen were really good and well kept.
There is not much to do in the evening in the town so I'd recommend the hotel dinner which includes free drinks too. My wife is vegetarian which can very challenging but the staff went out of the way and made her something special off the menu.
The hotel is laid out in a complex format and it can get a little confusing walking around but then again we found it fun exploring the hotel and different areas.
Well worth considering this hotel!

Room tip: Private Onsen gets busy in the evenings- we found it better to go early morning
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ajay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 December 2023

5~10 minutes walk from Gora station.

My room came with a private bathroom (no need to share). Common area includes free drinks (e.g. coffee, tea) and also snacks at tea time and night time.

Private onsen was available (first come first serve basis) and the courtyard was beautiful too. Very nice place to chill.

Also have a kids play area.

Room tip: Private Onsen is first come first serve so remember to go early. Also only one room to do coin laundry!
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JLee1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews