We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ben N
London, United Kingdom

A great stay in a beautiful setting

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 May 2024via mobile
A great stay here at Kai Sengokuhara. Unfortunately it was cut short due to confusion between our agents and the hotel. That being said, the hotel were very friendly about it and apologetic.

They moved us to their sister hotel Kai Hakone for our 2nd night.

The staff, despite the lack of English did everything they could to make it up to us and I have to praise them for that!

The hotel itself is stunning, the room was beautiful with incredible views and a lovely in room onsen.

The communal onsen is nice, however not the best I’ve been to in Japan!

I think we were unprepared for the food. It’s a very Japanese hotel, whereby what you eat is fully Japanese in a small personal booth which is very bizzare. A great experience, but I wouldn’t say it’s the best meal I’ve ever had!

A great stay nonetheless. Wish it could’ve been the full 2 nights!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
AU$250
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$251
  • Agoda.com
    AU$246
  • Vio.com
    AU$277
0.8 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$484
  • japanican.com
    AU$501
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$483
  • Rakuten Travel
2.7 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$505
Fully refundable
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Agoda.com
    AU$468
  • japanican.com
    AU$612
4.0 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$273
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$286
  • Trip.com
    AU$285
  • Rakuten Travel
8.5 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
AU$285
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$313
  • Vio.com
    AU$273
  • Hotels.com
    AU$307
8.4 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
AU$410
Fully refundable
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Agoda.com
    AU$390
  • Expedia.com
    AU$598
4.3 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$478
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$478
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Trip.com
    AU$541
3.1 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$240
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$313
  • Expedia.com
    AU$237
  • Priceline
    AU$266
8.3 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
AU$382
  • japanican.com
    AU$338
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Trip.com
    AU$425
8.7 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$1,518
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,341
  • japanican.com
    AU$1,519
  • Rakuten Travel
2.9 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
39
7
3
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
39
7
3
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

Not very friendly to foreigners because of lack of communication. Explaining and showing things about hotel is mandatory in a friendly way to a customer to make them feel comfortable in their stay. Overall, hotel as a building and facilities are nice but to have a better experience staff should be more friendly, informative and helpful to have their guests have a good experience at their stay. As we asked to have a taxi van to go to train station, response was not very helpful by saying that they can not guarantee to arrange big van at that time and didn’t offer any solution either. There are couple more experiences that I won’t mention but overall that made us feel uncomfortable and not very welcomed. I wouldn’t come back or advise anyone to stay at this hotel in Hakone. I am sure there are better alternatives.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Adventure293740
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2023

Amazing, authentic Japanese onsen experience! The rooms and views were amazing, and the meals and service was excellent. Beautiful onsen and meals in Yakutas, what could be better? Note there are no western meal options so be prepared for a full Japanese breakfast. The hotel doesn’t make referrals but we used MK Taxi Limos to get us directly there from Haneda, which cost $350 but was really easy. We also used Aki from Coconut Hikes Japan for a private tour of the area. He picked us up from the hotel and did a great job taking us on a hike with Mt. Fuji views.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AndyLosAltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2021 via mobile

Hoshino Resorts Kai Sengokuhara: Hot Spring Ryokan With Minimalist Rooms & Forest Views

#hoshino #kai #hoshinoresorts #kaisengokuhara #kaiseki
#waitingfordinner #hakone #japan #ashigarashimo #hotspring #onsen #ryokan #luxurytravel #dexperience #black #autumn #memories

Dexperience Review:
Service 3/5
Ambience 3/5
Value 2/5
Quality 3/5
Experience 2/5

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DexperienceReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2021

Dear DexexperienceReview,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We sincerely hope that you had a good time at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara.

It is unfortunate that some of your interactions were less than perfect and we are working with
our team to ensure all guests expectation are not only met, but exceeded and feedback
such as yours provides us that opportunity to further enhance our guest experience.

Thank you again for your comment and we hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend and it was literally the best hotel I’ve ever been in! The room was spacious and beautiful, with a private onsen and balcony facing the Japanese mountainside. There’s also only 15 rooms so everything is super intimate and private. The included dinner and breakfast were absolutely incredible — delicious and an experience. I would 100% recommend this place. We will stay here again if we’re back in hakone.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank doug1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Dear doug1987,

Thank you for your excellent review of KAI Sengokuhara and for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would choose us again. It is excellent news that the dining options and the atmosphere were especially enjoyable. Our services strive to provide an authentically Japanese, yet comfortably modern experience for our guests. Should your travels bring you back to Japan, we would love to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020

A wonderful resort for relax, the semi-open hot-spring with view right in your room is superb. Staff are friendly and helpful, the vegetarian-twist of recipe for dinner and breakfast are nice and it remains the sophistication of Japanese cuisine. The book choices in the library is nice too, nice art book and Japanese traditional craft and art theme make the resort extraordinary.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

Dear Ken N,

Thank you for your great review of KAI Sengokuhara and for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is excellent news that the vegetarian dining options and staff service were satisfactory. Our services strive to provide an authentically Japanese, yet comfortably modern experience for our guests. Should your travels bring you back to Japan, we would love to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews