We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dexperience Undercover
Singapore, Singapore

Lovely View Of The Natural Forest During Autumn!

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jan 2021via mobile
Hoshino Resorts Kai Sengokuhara: Hot Spring Ryokan With Minimalist Rooms & Forest Views

#hoshino #kai #hoshinoresorts #kaisengokuhara #kaiseki
#waitingfordinner #hakone #japan #ashigarashimo #hotspring #onsen #ryokan #luxurytravel #dexperience #black #autumn #memories

Dexperience Review:
Service 3/5
Ambience 3/5
Value 2/5
Quality 3/5
Experience 2/5
Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this review
Responded 27 Jan 2021
Dear DexexperienceReview,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We sincerely hope that you had a good time at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara.

It is unfortunate that some of your interactions were less than perfect and we are working with
our team to ensure all guests expectation are not only met, but exceeded and feedback
such as yours provides us that opportunity to further enhance our guest experience.

Thank you again for your comment and we hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Mount View Hakone

AU$255
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$496
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
2.7 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

AU$470
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
3.1 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Pax Yoshino

AU$374
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
8.5 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free parking
Restaurant
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

AU$614
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.3 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free parking
Restaurant
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$307
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • japanican.com
8.3 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$702
  • Algotels
4.0 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$327
  • Algotels
8.1 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$368
  • Algotels
9.0 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Yoshiike Ryokan

  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$426
  • japanican.com
8.7 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
39
7
3
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
39
7
3
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend and it was literally the best hotel I’ve ever been in! The room was spacious and beautiful, with a private onsen and balcony facing the Japanese mountainside. There’s also only 15 rooms so everything is super intimate and private. The included dinner and breakfast were absolutely incredible — delicious and an experience. I would 100% recommend this place. We will stay here again if we’re back in hakone.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank doug1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Dear doug1987,

Thank you for your excellent review of KAI Sengokuhara and for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would choose us again. It is excellent news that the dining options and the atmosphere were especially enjoyable. Our services strive to provide an authentically Japanese, yet comfortably modern experience for our guests. Should your travels bring you back to Japan, we would love to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020

A wonderful resort for relax, the semi-open hot-spring with view right in your room is superb. Staff are friendly and helpful, the vegetarian-twist of recipe for dinner and breakfast are nice and it remains the sophistication of Japanese cuisine. The book choices in the library is nice too, nice art book and Japanese traditional craft and art theme make the resort extraordinary.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

Dear Ken N,

Thank you for your great review of KAI Sengokuhara and for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is excellent news that the vegetarian dining options and staff service were satisfactory. Our services strive to provide an authentically Japanese, yet comfortably modern experience for our guests. Should your travels bring you back to Japan, we would love to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020

My family of 4 (with 2 kids aged 11 and 3) stayed there for 2 nights in December and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The resort's theme is art, and art works are featured in your room and around the resort. Every aspect of our stay from the welcome when u arrive, check in, dining, onsen, farewell etc were wonderful. All the staff i interacted with spoke English (pretty impressive for a resort in Japan) and they were very thoughtful and attentive. It is a small resort (<15 rooms ) so it doesn't feel crowded. We left feeling happy and refreshed. Shouldn't all holiday breaks be like that? I highly recommend this resort.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Dear Lawrence0816,

Thank you for staying with us at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara and for writing a great review! It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our services indeed strive to provide an authentically Japanese, yet comfortably modern experience for our guests. Should your travels bring you back to Japan, we would love to welcome you back to one of our ryokans!

Sincerely,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019 via mobile

Wow what a place - simply stunning and very calming. We stayed for 2 nights and fully enjoyed our stay. Our room was fantastic and our private onsen was the best. The food was all Japanese and delicious - great way to try the local cuisine. The staff are all very kind and respectful. They all tried their best to speak to us in English. Wonderful place - would defo go back if I event get the chance and money!!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank AnneC1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2019

Dear AnneC1155,

Thank you for your kind review of Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara! It is great news to hear that you had a positive two-night stay and that you especially enjoyed the local Japanese cuisine as well as the hospitality of our staff! Our services strive to provide an experience that is both authentically Japanese and comfortably modern. We have a variety of unique accommodations, and would love the chance to welcome you back to one of them soon!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2019

We stayed here on our first trip to Japan. We stayed in many name big brand hotels throughout Japan such as the Andaz and Four Seasons but for Hokane we wanted a traditional but luxurious experience. It exceeded our expectations!!! It was a lovely gorgeous room with a completely unique dining experience. We did take taxi's everywhere as we only were in town one evening but really enjoyed the spa and amenities along with the coloring activity. The dining experience was beautiful. We are not huge fish eaters but appreciated the beauty of each dish. I highly recommend!!! We will always remember this place on my birthday trip. They made it so special!

Room tip: Use the onsen and enjoy the coloring activity!
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2019

Dear Kaitlin S,

Thank you for your great review of Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara! We are thrilled to hear that we could provide a luxury escape to find some peace and relaxation with us during your brief stay. I have shared your kind comments with the rest of the staff, and we will continue striving to improve our services while providing an authentic Japanese experience. Though we regret that you could only stay one night, we would love the chance to welcome you back to Hakone for your birthday next year as well! Congratulations!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews