We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Angrch

Wonderful and Relaxing

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Oct 2019via mobile
Wow what a place - simply stunning and very calming. We stayed for 2 nights and fully enjoyed our stay. Our room was fantastic and our private onsen was the best. The food was all Japanese and delicious - great way to try the local cuisine. The staff are all very kind and respectful. They all tried their best to speak to us in English. Wonderful place - would defo go back if I event get the chance and money!!
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this review
Responded 17 Oct 2019
Dear AnneC1155,

Thank you for your kind review of Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara! It is great news to hear that you had a positive two-night stay and that you especially enjoyed the local Japanese cuisine as well as the hospitality of our staff! Our services strive to provide an experience that is both authentically Japanese and comfortably modern. We have a variety of unique accommodations, and would love the chance to welcome you back to one of them soon!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Mount View Hakone

AU$238
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$238
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$238
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$651
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$606
  • japanican.com
    AU$673
2.7 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

AU$651
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$643
  • japanican.com
    AU$554
  • Hotels.com
    AU$637
3.1 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$595
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$592
  • Agoda.com
    AU$542
  • Expedia.com
    AU$658
8.1 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$470
  • Expedia.com
  • japanican.com
    AU$690
  • Hotels.com
    AU$538
4.0 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Pax Yoshino

AU$363
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$387
  • Agoda.com
    AU$346
  • japanican.com
    AU$394
8.5 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free parking
Restaurant
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$393
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • StayForLong
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$647
8.3 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Yoshiike Ryokan

AU$471
  • japanican.com
    AU$522
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
8.7 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$379
  • Agoda.com
    AU$352
  • Trip.com
4.3 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free parking
Restaurant
ナカニワ(夕景イメージ)
Get rewarded with One Key
  • japanican.com
    AU$424
  • Vio.com
  • Trip.com
3.6 km from Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
39
7
3
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
39
7
3
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2019

We stayed here on our first trip to Japan. We stayed in many name big brand hotels throughout Japan such as the Andaz and Four Seasons but for Hokane we wanted a traditional but luxurious experience. It exceeded our expectations!!! It was a lovely gorgeous room with a completely unique dining experience. We did take taxi's everywhere as we only were in town one evening but really enjoyed the spa and amenities along with the coloring activity. The dining experience was beautiful. We are not huge fish eaters but appreciated the beauty of each dish. I highly recommend!!! We will always remember this place on my birthday trip. They made it so special!

Room tip: Use the onsen and enjoy the coloring activity!
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2019

Dear Kaitlin S,

Thank you for your great review of Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara! We are thrilled to hear that we could provide a luxury escape to find some peace and relaxation with us during your brief stay. I have shared your kind comments with the rest of the staff, and we will continue striving to improve our services while providing an authentic Japanese experience. Though we regret that you could only stay one night, we would love the chance to welcome you back to Hakone for your birthday next year as well! Congratulations!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2019

We stayed in the room with our own private hot-spring bath and it was just beautiful. We stayed with our 5 year old son and the three beds spread out together were very comfortable and spacious. We felt welcomed from the moment we arrived and loved the little insights into Japanese culture we learnt during our stay. The kaiseki dinner was impressive and I loved the little touches of the ice-blocks after the public bath to rehydrate. The design of the hotel and the rooms is immaculate - really exquisite and makes the whole experience special.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank elkprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Dear elkprints,

Thank you for staying with us at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara and for writing a review! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your 5 years old son in our care, especially the hot spring bath both in your room and the public bath. We have a variety of other unique accommodations and hope you choose to stay with us again at one of them soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2019 via mobile

Location not as inconvenient as I thought as it is accessible by local bus. Spacious hotel room with private onsen; spectacular view with zen feeling. Had fun with the coloring activity! Staff members are fluent in English and very helpful! Would definitely recommend to my friends!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Stw1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2019

Dear Stw1997,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara!
We are happy to hear that you could enjoy our peaceful atmosphere and that you found the service by our staff satisfactory.
We would certainly welcome the opportunity to serve you and your friends in the near future.
Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2019 via mobile

The hotel never feels crowded as there aren't many guests at one time. We had the onsen to ourselves. The dinner was full of surprise. The art class was fun. The breakfast is of good quality. The mini onsen in the room is cute.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank patriciawong1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Dear patriciawong1027,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara.
We are thrilled that you had enjoyed your stay here with us and I will definitely share your review with the rest of the team. Certainly hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to the city.

Sincerely,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2019

It was the perfect ryokan for our honeymoon! The room was fantastic and we loved the amenities in it, including the samues to wear around the hotel and for the hot bath. Our private onset was great since my husband wasn't able to use public ones due to his tattoos. Dinner was fantastic and service outstanding! Every single course was exquisite and presented in a beautiful way! We did one of the activities they had of painting after dinner and we enjoyed it a lot! We would definitely love to come back and relax some more!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorenzayhumberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2019

Dear lorenzayhumberto,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, kinds comment and
choice your honeymoon's stay.  Best wishes for your marriage.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay Hoshino Resorts KAI Sengokuhara.
As you mentioned, there are private Hot Spring (Onsen) all each our rooms.
We truly appreciate your genuine compliments.
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of the team.
We strive to provide a great hot spring resort experience for all guests no matter what season our guests visit and stay with us.


Sincerely,
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews