We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 293
USD 249
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 354/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 411
USD 370
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 280
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakone Hotel(Hakone-machi)
USD 426
USD 253
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Fukuzumiro Ryokan(Hakone-machi)
USD 341
USD 333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ryokan 
Hakone Manatee(Hakone-machi)
USD 515
USD 488
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 532
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Okada(Hakone-machi)
USD 467
USD 401
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ryokan 
Sounkaku(Hakone-machi)
USD 468
USD 451
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Hakone Pax Yoshino(Hakone-machi)(Great Value!)
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
45
34
15
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
34
15
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewkaiseki stylebuffet dinner and breakfastgreat hotelrope wayminute walklake ashipirate shipprivate baththe bushalf boardcable carfacilitiesslippersbalconydishesluggage
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Beautiful ryokan. I thought it was a bit pricey but the buffet dinner and breakfast were includes so it’s quite worth the price. Was expecting a stunning lake view like how it was advertised, unfortunately the weather was very bad and foggy.
Japanese style buffet breakfast and dinner although there was toast and cereal for breakfast. Staff speak limited English, some of them dont speak English at all. Onsen experience was great too.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Annice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_U638OR, Front desk at Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Dear Annice S

The Management and Staff would like to thamk you for the wonderful comments.

From your comments, the weather was very bad and foggy, so for your next visit, we will consider that you could enjoy other things to do when it is rainning.

To ensure your comfortable experience here next time, we will improve our service as soon as possible.

Front desk/Satoi Usui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

It' a great hotel, a mixer of Japanese and western. It's not easy to get here but worth the effort. Very Japanese in the decor, minimalism - which is beautiful. The restaurant in the hotel (dinner and breakfast) were super good. A mixture of Japanese and European food. The room are good in size big! Very clean. The Onsen is a must. Love ever moment.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_U638OR, Front desk at Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Dear Rina F
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hanaori.

We would recommend trying private onsen for your next visit.

Our warm hospitality awaits your return sometimes.

Front desk/ Satoi Usui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

This is a new Ryokan and beautiful. However, it is extremely difficult to get to unless you rent a car, hire a car service, or take a very expensive taxi from the Odawara train station that is an hour away. There is not easy way to get to Hakone. We choose this to see the beautiful Lake but in the pouring rain you can't see anything. Then once arrived, you must climb uphill with your luggage. I wanted to leave my bags at the bottom and have someone from the hotel get them but my daughter would not let me. Then you need a "reservation" time for you dinner that is included in the price of the hotel - something you cannot tell from any literature online. Ther shuttle service has to booked in advance and again you cannot tell that from the literature online. Dinner is served buffet style and the food was like any all you can eat buffet, just "eh" and I kept circling hoping something wonderful would pop up but it never did. We asked for a double room which was actually a room for 4 people so I wonder if we were paying double what we should have paid for a room for 2 people - no info again. There is a "private" onsen for the room we were staying in but you had to book a time and pay extra - again how would you know that ahead of time? They like foreigners but everything is totally in Japanese....go figure. Would I suggest staying here? Only if you are coming in beautiful weather and do not want to do any sightseeing or shopping. if you want to wast a day in Japan laying around a Ryokan, then go for it. Massages are normal priced (if you can get one).

Room Tip: Have a Japanese person make the reservation and make all plans for you.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Felice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_U638OR, Front desk at Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Felice M
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hanaori.
We apologize for the defects during recent visit.

When you feel something inconvinient, please let us know.
We could suggest something for you.
To ensure your comfortable experience here next time, we will improve defects as soon as posible.

Thank you again for sharing your experience here.

Front desk/ Satoi Usui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

This hotel is just a few minutes walk to the bus stop, ropeway stop and ferry stop at Togendai so it is the most convenient in this area. The outlook of the hotel is absolutely great, a very subtle yet beautiful one, blending the essence of modern design and antique Japanese feels. The rooms have nice view of the lake Ashinoko, and the food and onsen were exceptional. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ugin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_U638OR, Front desk at Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear ugin38

Thank you for your favorable feedback. It really warms our hearts.
We bet you try our private onsen next time.
You will feel more calm atomosphere when you use the private onsen.

Our warm hospitality awaits your return sometime soon.

Front desk/ Satoi Usui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

The hotel was 2 min walk away from the Togendai ropeway terminal & bus terminal.
It took us about an hour bus ride (long & winding road) from Odawara Station to the hotel.
Our rooms were spacious & very clean and were overlooking Lake Ashi. It was an beautiful sight watching the sunset from the balcony.
However, food was less attractive. Buffet breakfast & dinner (same menu over 2 days)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Lake are noisier as there is a road running parallel to the hotel. Mountain view should be quieter
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank I359NYhelenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews