We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Grace S
Sydney, Australia

Close to Flawless

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 June 2023
Staff members are well dressed with impeccable manners. The service is excellent, their anticipation of client needs is outstanding. I have sciatica and they brought a bath chair to my room within 15 minutes of check-in. When they realized the next day that it wasn't really what I needed, they immediately brought a small stool. Incredible, I never expected such caring service.

The room is classy, with a wood / glass book-case. It is very clean. They provide pajamas and a warm shawl, just in case you wish to walk outside and feel cold. The couch is comfortable and besides a desk, they also provide seating for two at a separate table. My friend and I enjoyed room-service breakfast every morning - we stayed for 4 nights.

The onsen and bath area is spacious with plenty of amenities. Beds are comfortable and pillows lean towards the soft side. Lighting is good. From my balcony, I can see the Koi pond with some beautiful. colorful fish. Very relaxing.

Meals are well thought out with 3 different menu choices. The basic menu, a "medium" menu and the full menu. The basic menu is sufficient for our appetite, though we tried the full menu the last evening - it was delightful but a bit filling. Wine list not big but sufficient for a couple of nights' stay.

This is a quiet space with a classic atmosphere. Therefore, anyone wishing for a move lively atmosphere might wish to consider another venue. However, if relaxation and good spa treatments are what you want, it is wonderful.

My friend and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys good food with onsen baths, relaxation, a beautiful tree-lined garden and great service.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$537
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.4 km from THE HIRAMATSU HOTELS & RESORTS SENGOKUHARA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$562
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
4.3 km from THE HIRAMATSU HOTELS & RESORTS SENGOKUHARA
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
Tripadvisor
AU$313
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
8.9 km from THE HIRAMATSU HOTELS & RESORTS SENGOKUHARA
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$541
  • Algotels
1.5 km from THE HIRAMATSU HOTELS & RESORTS SENGOKUHARA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$311
  • Priceline
9.1 km from THE HIRAMATSU HOTELS & RESORTS SENGOKUHARA
Free parking
Restaurant
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$457
  • Algotels
4.7 km from THE HIRAMATSU HOTELS & RESORTS SENGOKUHARA
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$290
  • Algotels
7.1 km from THE HIRAMATSU HOTELS & RESORTS SENGOKUHARA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$245
  • Algotels
8.8 km from THE HIRAMATSU HOTELS & RESORTS SENGOKUHARA
Free Wifi
Free parking
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$254
  • Algotels
9.7 km from THE HIRAMATSU HOTELS & RESORTS SENGOKUHARA
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$565
  • Expedia.com
    AU$572
4.4 km from THE HIRAMATSU HOTELS & RESORTS SENGOKUHARA
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
30
10
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
10
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

This ultra-modern, Japanese resort has rooms which are decorated with abstract artworks, western-style antique and modern-European furniture, and nice marble soaking tubs (located near the terrace of the room) so guests may appreciate the view of forested mountains and Mt Fuji (stayed in 302).

The complimentary mini-bar is stocked with an assorted selection of French and The Hiramatsu’s own brand of mineral water, plus some bottles of French fruit juice. Assorted teas and coffee are also provided.

Upon arrival, we were greeted very cordially and presented with a variety of French fruit juices from which to choose while registering.

The large, waiting lounge area is decorated with modern-art paintings and antique British furniture.

Dinner was held on the first floor, facing a lovely lit terrace with torch-like lighting being reflected off a pool of water. The morning view of the same area during breakfast is of a beautiful forest on the other side of the water display.

For dinner, very creative French/Italian dishes were served (7 courses). Please see the pictures.

For breakfast, we were served fresh orange juice, a healthier-style of a creative Eggs Benedict, a tomato-based dumpling type of soup, a variety of freshly-made French bread and sweet rolls along with honey and fruit jams, a steamed green pea and basil-sauce savory custard, a small dish of rice gruel with vegetables, and a dish of fresh fruit with yogurt. One’s choice of coffee/tea followed.

If you have any food allergies, please inform the staff in advance. Note that you should inform the staff in advance of how well-done you would like to have any meat dishes cooked since we had not been asked for our preferences. (a bit too raw for our tastes)

If one needs to monitor salt content, please inform the staff in advance. I found some of the very creative and artistic/well-plated dishes to be a little salty for my own taste buds since I tend to cook with only a little salt at home.

The beauty and health benefits of the in-room, marble-soaking bath was really appreciated. A separate shower was also located in the room.

Please note that the tubs have 24-hour running water, so bring ear plugs if the sound of running water disturbs your sleeping pattern.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lorrainey819
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I were very impressed by the friendly and comforting service by Mr Arga during our stay. He really made us feel so welcomed and having a home away from home feeling. A very young and capable young man with a very night promising future ahead!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DexperienceReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Beautiful Quiet Ryokan in the Sengokuhara region. Their service level is top notch. Once you check in, they prep your room while they serve you a welcome drink, and show you the dinner for the night, checking for allergies/dislikes etc.
The room is beautiful (3f suite) and the private onsen was wonderful. Beautiful facing, and the amenities are top notch. Even cypress shavings to enhance the onsen experience.
The dinner's and breakfast's are amazing. Words can't begin to describe the experience. Would come again.

Room tip: 3F suites are expensive, but worth it.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vodoxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2024
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2023
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews