We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$240
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jeff B
Brentwood, United Kingdom

Spoilt by the impending Typhoon!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jan 2020
It was raining heavily when we arrived and did not stop - which was a pity because this looked like a lovely spot. The room was fine and it was a real bonus to have the opportunity to have a hot spring experience. We ate in the hotel - dinner was a buffet. The food was good but it was a little expensive. Would love to stay here in more clement weather.
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
Tripadvisor
AU$327
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$446
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$614
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.1 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
Tripadvisor
AU$313
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
9.7 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
Tripadvisor
AU$258
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
9.6 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
ナカニワ(夕景イメージ)
Tripadvisor
AU$422
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.0 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$623
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$279
  • Hotels.com
9.8 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$1,052
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$1,083
5.9 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$252
  • Hotels.com
10.4 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
65
109
45
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
65
109
45
11
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2019

The hotel is very clean and provides good service, like all hotels in Japan.
The staff barely speaks English still they were very helpful with all transportation arrangements.
The room was really big and nice.
The only inconvenience was the lack of bus transportation. The bus to this area runs only between 9:00 and 17:00.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank yshargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2019

This hotel is situated in a remote area in Hakone. The view is to die for with panoramic views over the adjacent golf course and hillside.

There are no facilities outside the hotel within walking distance, so the only restaurant facilities are within the hotel. Hakone is a remote area, so all hotels are much the same on location. This why the hotel needs a resturant guests feel able to use without feeling they are being robbed.

Dinner here is massively overpriced. The tour group of 30 we were travelling with all decided to take a packed meal from the railway station. The hotel needs to review it prices. If they lowered the price of dinner all of us would have used the restaurant. An example of the price is a steak cost ¥7800 that is £62.

The rooms are an unusual design with steps down into the room and a step into the bedroom and the sink is not in the bathroom, but in the room and was broken.

The breakfast was a poor affair with limited choice hardly any cereal, no orange juice, the hot selection was poor. So, coffee and toast had to do.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank StuartRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly. I was disappointed with the hand basin in our room as it was cracked and looked unsightly. We mentioned this to the hotel front desk and hope they fix this as this should not be the case given the price of the room. It was also disappointing that the hotel didn’t have a cafe for a light breakfast or meal or a bar where guests could relax before dinner.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Misow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2019

Rooms are incredibly dated and prices were exorbitant during peak season in August.

The spread at breakfast was fairly good and there was a decent choice at the buffet dinner. However, we found the staff to be unfriendly and unhelpful - would not stay here again.☹️

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank PaulineOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2019

We stayed at this golf club resort hotel as part of our Essence of Japan Tour with Titan and I thought it was absolutely lovely and would have devinitely loved to stay another night.
The hotel is in an isolated position and it wasn't until the next morning that we realised that it is actually located within a volcanic caldera ie a crater formed by a major eruption leading to the collapse of the mouth of the volcano.
We stayed in room 276 which is accessible by lift or stairs. Our balcony overlooked the golf course and also had a beautiful view of the mountains beyond. The room itself had a very different layout to any others that we had stayed in as there were approx. 3 steps down to the beds, table and chairs. On the upper level are wardrobes and a washing area separate from the WC. I would therefore recommend that guests might like to leave a light on at night in case they need to use the loo.
The beds were exceptionally comfortable.
Food: Prior to arrival we were informed that there was only a buffet dinner available at the hotel and that it was best to pre book a table. My husband is not fond of buffets or smash and grabs as he calls them and we had previously checked and discovered that there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Therefore we took our own food and had a bedroom picnic. Most of the people on tour seemed to do this but the few that paid for a buffet seemed to have enjoyed it-sorry but don't know what they had.
Breakfast is provided in an exceptionally spacious room and the buffet was laid out over a wide area so avoiding any crush. There was a good choice but like most of the hotels that we stayed in the fried egg and bacon were almost cold.
There is a shop within the hotel selling a good quality range of products including some very nice ladies clothing.
And now more about the feature of the hotel that I loved best!
Because of the volcanic nature of the area, one of the assets of the hotel is the hot spring Onsen, and I really would recommend travellers to set aside their instinctive modesty and to experience the absolute pleasure of naked bathing in either the inside or outside immaculately clean pools. There are separate pools for male and female, and having done it three times now, my experience is that no-one goes in the pool to stare at anyone else. You don't swim in an Onsen and you don't wash yourself in one. Having already removed clothes and cleansed your body and hair, you simply relax in the wonderfully clean and warm water. The facilities were absolutely marvellous-exceptionally clean, lovely towels provided, lockers for clothes, security lockers for valuables, shampoo, body wash, hairdryers, hairbrushes. Basically you can just walk in and all will be provided for you. Like me, a few of the tour group rushed through breakfast so that they could make use of the Onsen before we left.
So please don't be shy-this really is a wonderful experience not to be missed, and I thought this particular Onsen was absolutely lovely.
If you have your own transport and are looking for something to do, you might wish to take a 10 minute drive to Togendai port, Lake Ashinoko, where you can take a harbour cruise on a "Pirate ship". We found this to be a very pleasurable experience. You could also ride on the cable car and if you are fortunate there are wonderful views of Mount Fuji, or you could take a Duck tour-I would have loved to travel on one of these if we had been travelling independently.
So all in all, the Prince Hotel was lovely and the area was fantastic and beautiful and I'd definitely return given the opportunity.

Date of stay: May 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KaraokeSue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews