We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stuart1
Sheffield, United Kingdom

Overall a poor hotel.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Nov 2019
This hotel is situated in a remote area in Hakone. The view is to die for with panoramic views over the adjacent golf course and hillside.

There are no facilities outside the hotel within walking distance, so the only restaurant facilities are within the hotel. Hakone is a remote area, so all hotels are much the same on location. This why the hotel needs a resturant guests feel able to use without feeling they are being robbed.

Dinner here is massively overpriced. The tour group of 30 we were travelling with all decided to take a packed meal from the railway station. The hotel needs to review it prices. If they lowered the price of dinner all of us would have used the restaurant. An example of the price is a steak cost ¥7800 that is £62.

The rooms are an unusual design with steps down into the room and a step into the bedroom and the sink is not in the bathroom, but in the room and was broken.

The breakfast was a poor affair with limited choice hardly any cereal, no orange juice, the hot selection was poor. So, coffee and toast had to do.
Date of stay: November 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
AU$250
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$260
  • Agoda.com
    AU$245
  • Expedia.com
    AU$250
1.8 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$484
  • Priceline
    AU$484
  • japanican.com
    AU$497
  • Hotels.com
    AU$483
4.0 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$650
  • Priceline
    AU$882
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$521
  • Hotels.com
    AU$822
5.1 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$286
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$273
  • Vio.com
    AU$266
  • Trip.com
    AU$283
9.8 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$479
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$531
  • Trip.com
    AU$537
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$602
2.6 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
AU$285
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$311
  • Trip.com
    AU$271
  • Expedia.com
    AU$280
9.7 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
AU$468
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$641
  • Agoda.com
    AU$426
  • Priceline
    AU$637
5.5 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$311
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$266
  • Expedia.com
    AU$236
  • Booking.com
    AU$240
9.6 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
AU$381
  • japanican.com
    AU$335
  • Trip.com
    AU$422
  • Vio.com
    AU$422
10.0 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$1,117
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • japanican.com
    AU$1,111
  • Hotels.com
    AU$987
  • Rakuten Travel
4.1 km from Hakone Sengokuhara Prince Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
65
109
45
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
65
109
45
11
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly. I was disappointed with the hand basin in our room as it was cracked and looked unsightly. We mentioned this to the hotel front desk and hope they fix this as this should not be the case given the price of the room. It was also disappointing that the hotel didn’t have a cafe for a light breakfast or meal or a bar where guests could relax before dinner.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Misow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2019

Rooms are incredibly dated and prices were exorbitant during peak season in August.

The spread at breakfast was fairly good and there was a decent choice at the buffet dinner. However, we found the staff to be unfriendly and unhelpful - would not stay here again.☹️

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank PaulineOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2019

We stayed at this golf club resort hotel as part of our Essence of Japan Tour with Titan and I thought it was absolutely lovely and would have devinitely loved to stay another night.
The hotel is in an isolated position and it wasn't until the next morning that we realised that it is actually located within a volcanic caldera ie a crater formed by a major eruption leading to the collapse of the mouth of the volcano.
We stayed in room 276 which is accessible by lift or stairs. Our balcony overlooked the golf course and also had a beautiful view of the mountains beyond. The room itself had a very different layout to any others that we had stayed in as there were approx. 3 steps down to the beds, table and chairs. On the upper level are wardrobes and a washing area separate from the WC. I would therefore recommend that guests might like to leave a light on at night in case they need to use the loo.
The beds were exceptionally comfortable.
Food: Prior to arrival we were informed that there was only a buffet dinner available at the hotel and that it was best to pre book a table. My husband is not fond of buffets or smash and grabs as he calls them and we had previously checked and discovered that there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Therefore we took our own food and had a bedroom picnic. Most of the people on tour seemed to do this but the few that paid for a buffet seemed to have enjoyed it-sorry but don't know what they had.
Breakfast is provided in an exceptionally spacious room and the buffet was laid out over a wide area so avoiding any crush. There was a good choice but like most of the hotels that we stayed in the fried egg and bacon were almost cold.
There is a shop within the hotel selling a good quality range of products including some very nice ladies clothing.
And now more about the feature of the hotel that I loved best!
Because of the volcanic nature of the area, one of the assets of the hotel is the hot spring Onsen, and I really would recommend travellers to set aside their instinctive modesty and to experience the absolute pleasure of naked bathing in either the inside or outside immaculately clean pools. There are separate pools for male and female, and having done it three times now, my experience is that no-one goes in the pool to stare at anyone else. You don't swim in an Onsen and you don't wash yourself in one. Having already removed clothes and cleansed your body and hair, you simply relax in the wonderfully clean and warm water. The facilities were absolutely marvellous-exceptionally clean, lovely towels provided, lockers for clothes, security lockers for valuables, shampoo, body wash, hairdryers, hairbrushes. Basically you can just walk in and all will be provided for you. Like me, a few of the tour group rushed through breakfast so that they could make use of the Onsen before we left.
So please don't be shy-this really is a wonderful experience not to be missed, and I thought this particular Onsen was absolutely lovely.
If you have your own transport and are looking for something to do, you might wish to take a 10 minute drive to Togendai port, Lake Ashinoko, where you can take a harbour cruise on a "Pirate ship". We found this to be a very pleasurable experience. You could also ride on the cable car and if you are fortunate there are wonderful views of Mount Fuji, or you could take a Duck tour-I would have loved to travel on one of these if we had been travelling independently.
So all in all, the Prince Hotel was lovely and the area was fantastic and beautiful and I'd definitely return given the opportunity.

Date of stay: May 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KaraokeSue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2019

Rural Mountain setting with good sized spacious room with Lounge sitting area and a balcony overlooking a Golf course. The bathroom had a good hot and strong shower over the high sided bath. The room temperature was hot with the a/c controlled remotely by hotel, no user adjustment posible. The saving grace was that we could open the balcony door for fresh air. A good selection of toiletries along with Free bottled water and WiFi was supplied. A pleasant Buffet dinner, with a range of Western and Japanese dishes was had in the hotel. A Good breakfast was also enjoyed. The Hotel also offers the traditional Japanese Onsen bathing facilities.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the Golf course and Mountains are a treasure to sit and view.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RetireeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2019

This Hotel is more of a Resort than a Hotel. It is located in the mountains and it backs onto a golf course and tennis courts.

There are spring baths available, but the notice in the room says no tattoos allowed.
I think it is for the "Yakuza" (Japanese Mafia). So if you are a Caucasian and have a tattoo, you might have to check with the Hotel staff if you can use the Baths.

The rooms are large and very comfortable, with great views from the balcony.

The Hotel has a large open foyer.

The Breakfast/Dining area has very large floor to ceiling windows that give you a great view overlooking the golf course and the mountains in the background.

The breakfast is very nice.

Just a great place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews