We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
japanican.com
Rakuten Travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
trfcnte
Redondo Beach, California

Nice modern Japanese ryokan.

Review of Tensui Saryo
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Apr 2024
A fine traditional Japanese inn. Meals are served at set times, you have to sign up. There is no room service. You go to 7-11 or Lawson's for all the stuff you want to eat/drink in the room. If you are tattooed, you can't use the communal onsen, so you have to book the private one which has a small tub for 2 people, or use the nice one-person ceramic tub in your room. The food was very good. Nice courses, well prepared and presented. There's a Lawson's within walking distance. Lots of foreigners in the small town. There's very little in the way of toiletries in the room. The onsen is well equipped, and the tiny foldable combs are really nice. Front desk speaks English, and the lobby has an interesting bar where you can soak your feet.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: The belt for your yukata is in the closet.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
1.0 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mount View Hakone
3.9 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
5.3 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Free parking
5.1 km from Tensui Saryo
Free parking
Restaurant
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
4.9 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.2 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
1.5 km from Tensui Saryo
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Setsugetsuka
0.2 km from Tensui Saryo
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
5.0 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
89
59
25
13
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
59
25
13
30
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2023

We booked the twin room with tatami area and a private onsen. It was over the top to say the least but we wanted to treat ourselves, and boy did it ever meet, if not exceed our expectations. In a western-style hotel it would definitely be considered a suite. It was quite expensive (1 night was more than 4 nights in our hotel in Kyoto) but for the 1 night it was worth it for sure.
The dinner was a Kaiseki style and was delicious. The breakfast was Japanese style, which for us was not an issue, but if you're not a fan of savoury breakfasts, involving fish in many forms it's something to be aware of. We were in the Annex which was quite far from the main area and we were down some stairs so if you have mobility issues try to avoid that area but it's hard to find a fault. Lastly, the location in Gora is fantastic, very close to the station, and if I were to return to Hakone I would 100% stay in Gora again, definitely the best connected spot not too close to proper civilisations.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2023

An amazing mountain town retreat, worth staying to relax after a few intense days in Tokyo.

A lovely hotel, the team are super friendly and willing to help (one particular young lady who was there during our entire stay in bordeaux red work attire, working mainly in and around the lobby). She ensured everything we asked for was catered for, be it drinks in the evening in the bar (with footbath), to guiding us to our table or booking the private onsen. Really appreciated her service and assisted us with check out today 14 Oct.

Next to great views, the beds are very very comfortable and the food is good interesting and daily changing. To get the true experience wear the Yukata the hotel provides in all public areas for breakfast, dinner and the use of spa facilities.

The hotel provides a great place to explore the region, with cable car and ropeway over the mountain to lake Ashi but also walking opportunities.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IvodeBeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2023

Amazing stay, myself and girlfriend absolutely loved it. We paid £250+ for one night stay which was quite expensive in comparison to how much we paid for other hotels in Japan this trip. But it was super worth it. The hotel room had a hot stone bath on the balcony which we only used once but so worth it after a long few tiring days. Our balcony overlooked a Mountain View which was beautiful. Our room had a superb Japanese feel with all the flooring and bedding/chairs being on the floor. Our room was absolutely massive whereas all other hotels in Japan we stayed in, they were quite small. Very close to Gora station which could lead you to Odawara in an hour or towards mountains/Fuji in 30 mins. We loved the foot spa bar which we enjoyed two drinks at. The hotel supplied us with free wine & cakes & soft drinks for when we checked in.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 769kerima
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2023 via mobile

THE WORST !!!

I have stayed in ryokan more than 50times, this is the worst!

It was overprice!

The room was very “tired” and very old.
The food experience was very very bad compare the price we paid.

The good thing is the staff, as you all know, most of Japanese is very good and kind.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Santosa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

We really enjoyed this Onsen and hotel. Japanese style with private open air bath. They give you Yukata to wear as well. Can’t say enough good about the whole experience. I highly recommend and can’t wait to go back.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank joehO6919NR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews