We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ivo de B
London, United Kingdom

A true Ryokan experience

Review of Tensui Saryo
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Oct 2023
An amazing mountain town retreat, worth staying to relax after a few intense days in Tokyo.

A lovely hotel, the team are super friendly and willing to help (one particular young lady who was there during our entire stay in bordeaux red work attire, working mainly in and around the lobby). She ensured everything we asked for was catered for, be it drinks in the evening in the bar (with footbath), to guiding us to our table or booking the private onsen. Really appreciated her service and assisted us with check out today 14 Oct.

Next to great views, the beds are very very comfortable and the food is good interesting and daily changing. To get the true experience wear the Yukata the hotel provides in all public areas for breakfast, dinner and the use of spa facilities.

The hotel provides a great place to explore the region, with cable car and ropeway over the mountain to lake Ashi but also walking opportunities.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
AU$251
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$484
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$484
  • Priceline
  • Rakuten Travel
1.0 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
AU$599
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Tensui Saryo
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$297
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
5.1 km from Tensui Saryo
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
AU$280
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
5.0 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$479
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
4.8 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$304
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
4.9 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$1,521
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,344
  • japanican.com
    AU$1,519
  • Rakuten Travel
1.2 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$488
  • Rakuten Travel
1.5 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$408
  • japanican.com
5.3 km from Tensui Saryo
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
90
59
25
13
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
90
59
25
13
30
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2023

Amazing stay, myself and girlfriend absolutely loved it. We paid £250+ for one night stay which was quite expensive in comparison to how much we paid for other hotels in Japan this trip. But it was super worth it. The hotel room had a hot stone bath on the balcony which we only used once but so worth it after a long few tiring days. Our balcony overlooked a Mountain View which was beautiful. Our room had a superb Japanese feel with all the flooring and bedding/chairs being on the floor. Our room was absolutely massive whereas all other hotels in Japan we stayed in, they were quite small. Very close to Gora station which could lead you to Odawara in an hour or towards mountains/Fuji in 30 mins. We loved the foot spa bar which we enjoyed two drinks at. The hotel supplied us with free wine & cakes & soft drinks for when we checked in.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 769kerima
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2023 via mobile

THE WORST !!!

I have stayed in ryokan more than 50times, this is the worst!

It was overprice!

The room was very “tired” and very old.
The food experience was very very bad compare the price we paid.

The good thing is the staff, as you all know, most of Japanese is very good and kind.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Santosa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

We really enjoyed this Onsen and hotel. Japanese style with private open air bath. They give you Yukata to wear as well. Can’t say enough good about the whole experience. I highly recommend and can’t wait to go back.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank joehO6919NR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2020 via mobile

This property is less than 100m from Gora station which is a key bus transport hub to get to many places in hakone including to gotemba and kawaguchiko. This is the most critical for us for our travel movement and meals outside. Its amazingly convenient and the connectivity made a great impact as we are on our own and first timers to hakone region.

The room is spacious and comfortable. We took the Japanese style with mattresses. There was also daily 1 hour booking of private open air hot bath at the top level of hotel overseeing the hills. We used it once in the afternoon before sunset and had the opportunity to see the scenery.

Breakfast was part of the room and the menu alternated from day1 and day2. Lobby bar was a foot bath. Staff were friendly and some could manage English. If they can't, they will get another colleague who can to assist. No issues with wifi throughout. No regrets of staying here.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 9357MarkY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2019 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay while in Hakone area. It’s an easy train ride up the mountain and short walk to hotel. If you’re traveling with bags this is easy and avoids buses which are harder to navigate. From the welcome drink and treats at the footpath bar to the beautiful breakfasts and dinner, this place has Japanese hospitality down and at a fair price. The private Onsen is essentially in a hot tub, but you need something to hold the hot springs water.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank DaakRitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews