We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
AtilaL

Great experience

Review of Hakone Hisui
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 July 2018
Very high end accomodation, lots of onsen to bath and a great dinner. The bathtub in the balcony of the room was the cherry in the cake, enjoyed every minute of it and will definitely come back more times. Totally recommended!
Date of stay: September 2017
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Mount View Hakone

AU$216
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$219
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
0.3 km from Hakone Hisui
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

AU$606
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$603
  • Agoda.com
    AU$579
  • Hotels.com
    AU$612
3.6 km from Hakone Hisui
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$596
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$601
  • Hyatt.com
    AU$601
3.2 km from Hakone Hisui
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$523
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$582
  • travelup.com
    AU$1,034
  • japanican.com
    AU$712
4.6 km from Hakone Hisui
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$398
  • Expedia.com
    AU$492
  • Agoda.com
    AU$342
  • Vio.com
8.7 km from Hakone Hisui
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

AU$529
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$768
  • Agoda.com
    AU$489
  • Trip.com
4.9 km from Hakone Hisui
Free parking
Restaurant
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Pax Yoshino

AU$329
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$377
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$322
  • japanican.com
    AU$384
9.0 km from Hakone Hisui
Free parking
Restaurant
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$395
  • japanican.com
    AU$377
  • Expedia.com
    AU$588
  • Hotels.com
    AU$653
8.8 km from Hakone Hisui
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Yoshiike Ryokan

AU$615
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$367
  • Priceline
9.2 km from Hakone Hisui
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$158
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$163
  • Expedia.com
    AU$159
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$159
4.1 km from Hakone Hisui
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
76
44
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
44
9
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

We have just got back home from our 1 month holiday in Japan. Three of us traveling together wanted to stay at a Ryokan whilst in Japan. This place was truly amazing. We stayed here 2 nights. After arrival we were shown to our rooms. There was a complimentary welcome drink in the fridge, tea and crackers. Plus each of us were provided with a pamper pack, a Yakata and nightwear to wear.
Our package included free wifi and breakfast. The breakfast was a real treat. We had the choice of western or Japanese breakfast so we elected to have western one morning & Japanese the other....very nice indeed even though I've worked out I'm not a big fan of Conge.
This place has a free shuttle bus to take you to local train station but you do need to book it in advance.
The true highlight of this stay was having a traditional Japanese Onsen each day. And the gardens are beautiful.
I would stay at the place again in a heart beat.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank JKS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Just stayed 1 night here as couple & found Hakone Hisui to be a great choice.

Free undercover parking was a big plus as we arrived during a huge rain downpour.

Staff were extremely helpful & friendly with a gentleman greeting us as soon as we exited the carpark lift to direct us inside to reception. Check in was fast & efficient with a good run down of all amenities (in English which was unexpected).

We had arranged dinner outside the hotel so reception easily organised us a cab to pick us up for travel to the restaurant.

Our room (standard triple western style) was stunning. Huge room including balcony & very modern with everything you need.

The onsen was lovely - I had a very reasonably priced massage which was great. The actual hot baths are very clean & well designed. The general area of the Onsen including reading room & attached gardens are all beautifully laid out.

The hotels common areas are all very clean & modern. The one disappointment we had was the the lounge bar doesn't open until 8pm (this may just be weeknights) as we would of liked to of enjoyed a drink before we left for dinner.

Would highly recommend as a great medium priced Hakone hotel.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AussieGypsy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

First of all, it's the worst hotel I have visited to in terms of service. No english menu available for the room service and also what kind of hotel requires a guest to make a reservation for dinner? The map which provides information for different restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel is very inaccurate. Plus the staff who works in front of the restaurant couldn't understand english at all and he had to bring his colleague for help. All this in a 5 star hotel. Totally not worth.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Can easily get there by one bus ride from Odawara station and will be covered by the Hakone Free Pass and only about 10 mins to lake Ashi via the same bus. Rooms were large with excellent amenities. The concierge/reception was very helpful and even shown us a map of where to eat nearby and their opening times as well. The Kaiseki course at the hotel was also very good. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very spacious room (booked an executive room with an onsen bath), with a view of a very beautiful garden. We opted for a bed and breakfast option, to eat out in restaurants around, this flexible system is rather rare for classic japanese hotels, but worked well for my husband, who is vegetarian, thus cannot enjoy meals at hotel. The services were very professional and my family could experience "omotenashi" :)

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank miyukiNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews