We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Venture281887

A break in the countryside

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
Lovely hotel in the middle of the Hakone region. Staff are welcoming and attentive. Rooms are well appointed and with stunning views of the valley. There is an onsen available late afternoon for a few hours which has all the necessary items to wash and dry afterwards. Leisure/bedwear provided by hotel. Breakfast buffet has a vast array of Japanese/European food. A nice touch is the free ice cream token for the vending machine and free teas/fizz/coffee in the reception lounge area for parts of the day. A free shuttle transports you to the local station- available approx every 20 mins excpet lunch hour. A lovely experience and would return there.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Check which day & level women/men onsen is on as it varies! allow time to enjoy the breakfast...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone.
We appreciate your wonderful review on your stay.
It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you had such a relaxing stay with us.
In addition, we are especially pleased that you enjoyed the onsen and you liked the breakfast buffet and free ice cream
We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our staff service. We constantly strive our guests in ways that cater to their needs and are very happy that our staff made your stay comfortable.
The scenery always changes and you can see the different beautiful nature in every season.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Mount View Hakone

AU$216
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$217
  • Priceline
    AU$225
  • Vio.com
    AU$215
4.6 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

AU$606
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$598
  • Vio.com
    AU$542
  • Priceline
    AU$673
4.3 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$635
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$635
  • japanican.com
    AU$583
  • Expedia.com
    AU$634
1.4 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

AU$529
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$756
  • Agoda.com
    AU$482
  • Hotels.com
    AU$832
0.4 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free parking
Restaurant
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Pax Yoshino

AU$329
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$356
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$316
  • Expedia.com
    AU$371
4.8 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free parking
Restaurant
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
AU$334
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$365
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$294
  • Priceline
    AU$318
5.5 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Yoshiike Ryokan

AU$497
  • Priceline
    AU$684
  • Agoda.com
    AU$367
  • Vio.com
    AU$381
5.1 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$397
  • Expedia.com
    AU$580
  • japanican.com
    AU$371
  • Priceline
    AU$646
4.5 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$392
  • Expedia.com
    AU$485
  • Vio.com
    AU$325
  • Hotels.com
    AU$412
5.6 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
ナカニワ(夕景イメージ)
AU$411
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$411
  • japanican.com
    AU$305
  • Priceline
    AU$457
1.1 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
168
75
33
32
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
168
75
33
32
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool worst dinner mountain view alternate days public onsen private bath tub breakfast buffet was excellent open air bath shuttle bus beautiful hotel the rooms were nice japanese style modern design beautiful garden men women memorable stay surrounding mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2024 via mobile

Lovely ryokan with hot springs onsen in each room. Our room overlooms a stream running down the side of the mountain. Our experience was marred by dinner. We elected the "kaiseki" dinner excluding the sashimi course. My son will not eat sashimi so this was our sole option (other options may have been sold out, not sure). This was 9000 yen pp, while the buffet style with sashimi ran 16k yen. When we arrived they stuck us in an empty back room and gave us a hotpot with 4 thin slices of beef, maybe 2 ounces total, and 2 mushrooms. No one ever came back to ask if we needed more (of course anyone would). Nothing else was offered so we left very hungry. Hopefully breakfast will be better but cannot recommend due to the dinner situation.

Room tip: Bring your own dinner. Ask lots of questions about meal options if any are offered
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DivePhotographerJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your valuable experience.
We are very happy to hear that you liked the location and you enjoyed hot spring in your room.
However, we apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding dinner.
Our staff should have told your son that there is a beef bowl option.
We would also like to once again apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the lack of explanation from the restaurant staff. We will train our staff to ensure customer satisfaction.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again at TEN-YU and to exceed your expectations.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2024

I had a fairly wonderful time at Ten-Yu, get to enjoy different types of onsens in the facility: the open air with water fall, the infinity pool style onsen with mountain views and indoor ones. The hotel offers different Kaiseki menu if you stay more than one nights, which is a pleasant surprise. the only thing i have little trouble with is the taxi concierge service, the front desk was unable to book me the taxi by calling the them until I talked to the front desk in person. Overall, I enjoyed stay at Ten-Yu.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your valuable experience.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a great ONSEN experience during your stay.
In addition, we are very happy to hear that you liked the Kaiseki dinner.
For booking about taxi, we are sorry to know that service about front staff did not live up to your expectation.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
The scenery always changes and you can see the different beautiful nature in every season.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2024 via mobile

Hotel Room This was the last hotel on our tour of Japan. It was a massive disappointment. Room was dark but reasonably comfortable. Furniture was old and dated. This is not a Royokan and this hotel is not five star. We had an old bath on the balcony with a hot spring tap.

Reception The check in staff were aloof and unhelpful. Unable to book us a taxi to get us back to the train station to get our bullet train on time. Also unable to help us with bus information. The next morning we spoke with a different member of staff who organised a taxi for us without a problem. We found this quite stressful.

Food
The food was disappointing and cafeteria style. We would not recommend eating here.

Hot springs
Clear notices that tattoos are not allowed. We were surprised how many gentlemen walked about with large arm tattoos visible to all.

We would not recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a royokan or for five star service.

Room tip: Book elsewhere.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank spaggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your valuable experience.
We are sorry to know that service about front staff did not live up to your expectation. For tattoo, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We will increase the number of patrols by the staff and strive to ensure that the guests can use the public bath comfortably.
Regarding the matter you pointed out to us, we will discuss with the manager of the department in charge and make efforts to improve with this matter.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again at TEN-YU and to exceed your expectations.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2024 via mobile

The anticipation was high as we neared the end of our trip to Japan.
We spent a bit more than all of our other accomodations and it was meant to be the highlight of our trip.
The hotel is big with an unusual layout that makes you scratch your head a little.
The rooms were lovely, spacious and with everything you needed.
Shuttle bus was good to get to and from the hotel but as a few others have mentioned it is a little harder to navigate far and beyond though I suspect that is common with other hotels in the area.
The real disappointment was the food options and having eaten delicious food from many regions across Japan we were let down with the offering.
The breakfast offering was massive - but just too much variety and yes it was crowded and poorly designed - I guess with 150 rooms it just doesn’t cope well.
The staff are vague and not that friendly which again disappoints when compared to all other places we have stayed at in Japan.
It actually doesn’t feel like a Japanese owned/run facility.
Dinner options - what can I say!!
They force you to pay the equivalent of AUD$160 per person for a set menu at the three restaurants on site.
No a’la carte option for those who 1. Maybe can’t afford such an extravagance, or 2. Just want a modest meal.
The alternative was the bar/lounge on level 1.
Three options - Pizza, pizza and a bouillabaisse.
The pizza came with cold tomatoes, not really appetising and an insult to the Italian food of
the people.
Don’t come here, there must be smaller accomodations in the area that would be co more reflective of the real Japan🇯🇵👎

Room tip: Just don’t waste your money staying here.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MelbourneGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your valuable experience.
It is wonderful to find out that you have been satisfied with the room you stayed in.
However, we regret that the food options did not meet your expectations.
We also apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced with our staff.
We will discuss your concerns with the manager in charge and strive to improve the situation.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again at TEN-YU and to exceed your expectations.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2024

This is a large modern hotel and every room has its own private onset. The t=rooms are traditional with tatami mats so you must remove your shoes. The food was outstanding as we had all our meals in the hotel and some of the staff went out of their way to help us especially when dealing with allergies. I must mention the waitress Nguyen The Ha and Manager Takayoshi Suzuki who helped make our stay so memorable

Room tip: Be careful getting out of your onset. And it is a long walk to the shuttle bus.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricky39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your valuable experience.
We are highly pleased that you were satisfied with your stay.
We are very happy to hear that you liked the room and the private onsen in your room and you enjoyed the arrangement menu of dinner with your allergies.
We would also like to thank you for your kind comment about our staff, which we will share with them. We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews