We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
alic3cat
London, United Kingdom

A highlight of our trip

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Some of the reviews for this place had me a bit worried in advance of our stay, but the actual experience was absolutely fantastic from start to finish. Firstly, we were worried about getting there, but the hotel happily arranged very reasonably priced taxis (2k per head) to and from the station, so that wasn't a problem at all. Also the staff spoke perfectly good English.
The hotel itself is set in a fantastically beautiful location and is absolutely beautiful. The room was spacious and well appointed, I'd say it could do with a lick of paint in spots but given that the experience was sooo wonderful and the price not insane, I can let that go. I loved that they provided face care products in the room and makeup remover. The in room onsen was obviously fab. The bar downstairs was great, the cocktails were really good and really reasonably priced, plus the outlook onto the beautifully lit up garden were amazing.
I'm vegetarian (no fish) and Japan was a bit difficult in this regard, but the staff noted this for us from the beginning and made sure I was well catered for with varied menus both nights. I particularly appreciated the creativity of the vegetarian sashimi course. The one thing I'd say is that the lighting could afford to be dimmed a bit. Also, everyone wears pyjamas to dinner, so don't make my mistake dressing up in heels haha. The breakfast was huge and well-appointed. If you need anything extra there's a nearby family mart, and they provide free ice cream tokens + free flowing iced tea.
It's a great location from which to go hiking if you're after a slightly more active holiday, then spend the evening at the onsen. The local buses are great and you pay in cash for them.
I also had a massage at the spa which was wonderful and reasonably priced (13k yen).
Overall, we had a totally blissful time. I'd love to come back in winter.
Also, I don't know why but google calls this a 3* hotel, they should fix that as it is decidedly 5*.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Book your dinner slot early so they don't hit you with the 17:30 slot. Also, let them know in...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
AU$250
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$260
  • Agoda.com
    AU$241
  • Expedia.com
    AU$274
4.6 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$484
  • Priceline
    AU$484
  • Expedia.com
    AU$478
  • japanican.com
    AU$502
1.4 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$290
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$365
  • Trip.com
    AU$304
  • Hotels.com
    AU$353
4.8 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
AU$284
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$313
  • Agoda.com
    AU$266
  • Hotels.com
    AU$288
4.7 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$544
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$605
  • Vio.com
    AU$491
  • Expedia.com
    AU$594
4.3 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
AU$257
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$245
  • Agoda.com
    AU$239
  • Expedia.com
    AU$284
5.5 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$304
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$287
  • Priceline
    AU$338
  • Hotels.com
    AU$309
4.5 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
AU$381
  • japanican.com
    AU$338
  • Vio.com
    AU$396
  • Trip.com
    AU$426
5.1 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$302
  • Priceline
    AU$335
  • Agoda.com
    AU$278
  • japanican.com
    AU$331
5.6 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
AU$615
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,113
  • Vio.com
    AU$442
  • Priceline
    AU$868
0.4 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
167
75
33
32
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
167
75
33
32
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool worst dinner mountain view alternate days public onsen private bath tub breakfast buffet was excellent open air bath shuttle bus beautiful hotel the rooms were nice japanese style modern design beautiful garden men women memorable stay surrounding mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment you arrive at the onsen until you leave the atmosphere is calming. Check-in is excellent, although we had a group and some of the reservations were mixed up, but immediately taken care of. The natural beauty, the quality of the rooms = with the private tub on the balcony to the beautiful baths in the hotel (every day they change the men's and women's so everyone gets to view different sites) and the food are all incredible. It is not cheap, but it is a very good value

Room tip: The hotel is a walk anywhere and driving is challenging - so be prepared for that
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone.
We appreciate your wonderful review on your stay.
We are highly pleased that you were satisfied with your stay.
We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the private bath tub on the balcony and two public baths and you liked the food.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
The scenery always changes and you can see the different beautiful nature in every season.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with staff who always do their best to meet your needs. The superior rooms are a good size with nice toiletries and have traditional items that can be worn around the hotel. There are single sex onsens available all day, every day. In the foyer you can get a variety of fruit teas or coffee. A special coin is given by front of house for the ice cream vending machine. Breakfast is a vast buffet of continental and Japanese items.

Room tip: Free hotel shuttle mini bus to local Gora Station every 20 mins to take cable car and ropeway.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Janeontour2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone.
We appreciate your wonderful review on your stay.
We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and that we were able to meet both your expectations and needs throughout your stay.
We are also glad to hear that you liked the Onsen and you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
The scenery always changes and you can see the different beautiful nature at our garden in every season.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2024

My family of 4 stayed in 2 Superior Room with Open-air Bath, and our reservation included the "Gorgeous Kiseki Taste of Abalone and Lobster Dinner" and buffet breakfast.

Hakone Tenyu is amazing. Throughout the entire stay, we got to consistently experience the WOW factor (the staff and service, the views, the room, the onsens, the garden at night, the dining/food, the buffet breakfast, the sunset, the free ice cream :) .... all WOW, WOW, WOW)

The 5th and 6th floor onsens were fantastic. Very quiet and clean with 2 types of lockers (small ones for your phone/keys outside the change room area; larger ones in the change room area for your clothes). The facilities were well stocked with towels (large and small), soap, shampoos, hair dryers and brush, skin care products, hair care products. The 5th floor had a beautiful outdoor onsen with a waterfall and the 6th floor had the amazing outdoor infinity pool.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clownfish88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2024

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone.
We appreciate your wonderful review on your stay.
We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and that we were able to meet both your expectations and needs throughout your stay.
In addition, we are very pleased to hear that you had a great ONSEN experience during your stay and you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and dinner.
We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff, which we will share with all of our staff. We will continue our efforts to provide more comfortable stay.
The scenery always changes and you can see the different beautiful nature at our garden in every season.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2024 via mobile

It’s one our best hotel experience, in particular, the service, food quality and variety, private onsen, room standard and facilities were simply overwhelming. The cost was commensurate with the experience so it wasn’t cheap but still well worth it. Breakfast and dinner were to die for and I mean seriously out of this world. Pamper yourself here.

Room tip: Check out the bus shuttle from Gora station, try getting a room near level 5 so you use the stairs and there’s free ice cream
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 639abbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2024

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone.
We appreciate your wonderful review on your stay.
We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and that we were able to meet both your expectations and needs throughout your stay.
We would also like to thank you for your wonderful comment about the breakfast and dinner, which we will share with all of our staff.
We will continue our efforts to provide more comfortable stay.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2024

I loved this hotel. Not only was a it a lovely setting but its just the nicest place.

The rooms were extremely comfortable, the breakfast was superb and the onsen was a great experience.

I wish we had stayed for 2-3 nights. Very kid friendly.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank thehungryexpat2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2024

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone.
We appreciate your great review on your stay.
We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and that we were able to meet both your expectations and needs throughout your stay.
Also, we are happy to hear that you liked the comfort of the room and the onsen and you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
The view is one of the featured points of Ten-Yu and you can see the different great scenery in every season.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews