We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fiona Humphrey
Hoi An, Vietnam

Great experience and calming visit.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 May 2024via mobile
This is a lovely hotel with staff who always do their best to meet your needs. The superior rooms are a good size with nice toiletries and have traditional items that can be worn around the hotel. There are single sex onsens available all day, every day. In the foyer you can get a variety of fruit teas or coffee. A special coin is given by front of house for the ice cream vending machine. Breakfast is a vast buffet of continental and Japanese items.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Free hotel shuttle mini bus to local Gora Station every 20 mins to take cable car and ropeway.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this review
Responded 16 May 2024
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone.
We appreciate your wonderful review on your stay.
We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and that we were able to meet both your expectations and needs throughout your stay.
We are also glad to hear that you liked the Onsen and you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
The scenery always changes and you can see the different beautiful nature at our garden in every season.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Mount View Hakone

AU$216
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$217
  • Priceline
    AU$225
  • Vio.com
    AU$215
4.6 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

AU$606
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$673
  • Vio.com
    AU$542
  • Expedia.com
    AU$598
4.3 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$635
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$635
  • japanican.com
    AU$583
  • Expedia.com
    AU$634
1.4 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

AU$529
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$756
  • Agoda.com
    AU$482
  • Priceline
    AU$686
0.4 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free parking
Restaurant
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Pax Yoshino

AU$329
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$356
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$316
  • Expedia.com
    AU$371
4.8 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free parking
Restaurant
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
AU$334
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$365
  • Vio.com
    AU$288
  • Priceline
5.5 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Yoshiike Ryokan

AU$497
  • Priceline
    AU$684
  • Agoda.com
    AU$367
  • Vio.com
    AU$381
5.1 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$397
  • Expedia.com
    AU$580
  • japanican.com
    AU$371
  • Priceline
    AU$646
4.5 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$392
  • Expedia.com
    AU$485
  • Vio.com
    AU$325
  • Hotels.com
    AU$412
5.6 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
ナカニワ(夕景イメージ)
AU$411
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$411
  • japanican.com
    AU$305
  • Hotels.com
    AU$411
1.1 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
168
75
33
32
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
168
75
33
32
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool worst dinner mountain view alternate days public onsen private bath tub breakfast buffet was excellent open air bath shuttle bus beautiful hotel the rooms were nice japanese style modern design beautiful garden men women memorable stay surrounding mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2024

My family of 4 stayed in 2 Superior Room with Open-air Bath, and our reservation included the "Gorgeous Kiseki Taste of Abalone and Lobster Dinner" and buffet breakfast.

Hakone Tenyu is amazing. Throughout the entire stay, we got to consistently experience the WOW factor (the staff and service, the views, the room, the onsens, the garden at night, the dining/food, the buffet breakfast, the sunset, the free ice cream :) .... all WOW, WOW, WOW)

The 5th and 6th floor onsens were fantastic. Very quiet and clean with 2 types of lockers (small ones for your phone/keys outside the change room area; larger ones in the change room area for your clothes). The facilities were well stocked with towels (large and small), soap, shampoos, hair dryers and brush, skin care products, hair care products. The 5th floor had a beautiful outdoor onsen with a waterfall and the 6th floor had the amazing outdoor infinity pool.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clownfish88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2024

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone.
We appreciate your wonderful review on your stay.
We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and that we were able to meet both your expectations and needs throughout your stay.
In addition, we are very pleased to hear that you had a great ONSEN experience during your stay and you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and dinner.
We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff, which we will share with all of our staff. We will continue our efforts to provide more comfortable stay.
The scenery always changes and you can see the different beautiful nature at our garden in every season.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2024 via mobile

It’s one our best hotel experience, in particular, the service, food quality and variety, private onsen, room standard and facilities were simply overwhelming. The cost was commensurate with the experience so it wasn’t cheap but still well worth it. Breakfast and dinner were to die for and I mean seriously out of this world. Pamper yourself here.

Room tip: Check out the bus shuttle from Gora station, try getting a room near level 5 so you use the stairs and there’s free ice cream
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 639abbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2024

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone.
We appreciate your wonderful review on your stay.
We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and that we were able to meet both your expectations and needs throughout your stay.
We would also like to thank you for your wonderful comment about the breakfast and dinner, which we will share with all of our staff.
We will continue our efforts to provide more comfortable stay.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2024

I loved this hotel. Not only was a it a lovely setting but its just the nicest place.

The rooms were extremely comfortable, the breakfast was superb and the onsen was a great experience.

I wish we had stayed for 2-3 nights. Very kid friendly.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank thehungryexpat2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2024

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone.
We appreciate your great review on your stay.
We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and that we were able to meet both your expectations and needs throughout your stay.
Also, we are happy to hear that you liked the comfort of the room and the onsen and you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
The view is one of the featured points of Ten-Yu and you can see the different great scenery in every season.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2024 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in Hakone. Rooms excellent as is the onsen bath in the room and in the public area.
The food is carefully prepared and the service by staff excellent. Breakfast excellent. If you are not keen on the evening buffet then can grab a pizza in downstairs lounge. Overall a great hotel. Only reason for 4 not 5 is it has no laundry service which is a pain if you need it. Also no advice on where to get the shuttle bus back to hotel from Gora station so remember to ask. The hotel should have a map as to where the stop is as not obvious. We waited an hour in the wrong place. But when I rang the hotel they did send a car down for us which was kind.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DrORFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your valuable experience.
We appreciate your perfect rating to us.
We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
Also, we are glad that you liked the onsen bath in the room and two public baths and you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
However, we apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the lack of information about the shuttle bus stop. We will improve the information of the shuttle bus stop to make it easier for the guest to access to our hotel.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2024 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms but the staff gave us terrible advice and then failed to help us out when we needed them. The reception advised us to take the circuit which involves getting a bus back to the hotel from the lake at the end. Unfortunately there was a 3 hour wait for a bus and no taxis. I called the hotel and asked them to send a taxi. They said they couldn’t and didn’t offer any other kind of solution. Hakone doesn’t have nearly enough infrastructure to support the numbers that visit. It is crowded and stressful and we won’t be coming back to the hotel or the area.

Room tip: Avoid going to Hakone.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank R7089DWandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the limited number of taxis in Hakone and the difficulty in arranging a taxi.
We understand the frustration of not having a taxi available, especially when traffic is congested.
In the future, we will look into solving this problem.
Your feedback will definitely help us improve our services.
It is wonderful to find out that you have been satisfied with the room you stayed in.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again at TEN-YU and to exceed your expectations.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews