We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
thehungryexpat2015
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

A lovely find !

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Apr 2024
I loved this hotel. Not only was a it a lovely setting but its just the nicest place.

The rooms were extremely comfortable, the breakfast was superb and the onsen was a great experience.

I wish we had stayed for 2-3 nights. Very kid friendly.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this review
Responded 19 Apr 2024
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone.
We appreciate your great review on your stay.
We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and that we were able to meet both your expectations and needs throughout your stay.
Also, we are happy to hear that you liked the comfort of the room and the onsen and you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
The view is one of the featured points of Ten-Yu and you can see the different great scenery in every season.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Mount View Hakone

AU$216
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$216
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$216
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

AU$606
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$598
  • Agoda.com
    AU$570
  • Priceline
4.3 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$635
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • japanican.com
    AU$583
  • Expedia.com
    AU$634
1.4 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Pax Yoshino

AU$329
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$316
  • Expedia.com
    AU$370
4.8 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free parking
Restaurant
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

AU$529
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$757
  • Agoda.com
    AU$482
  • Hotels.com
    AU$832
0.4 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free parking
Restaurant
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
AU$334
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$365
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$294
  • Priceline
5.5 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$397
  • Priceline
  • japanican.com
    AU$371
  • Expedia.com
    AU$578
4.5 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
ナカニワ(夕景イメージ)
AU$411
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$411
  • japanican.com
    AU$305
  • Hotels.com
    AU$411
1.1 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Yoshiike Ryokan

  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$366
  • Vio.com
5.1 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$392
  • Agoda.com
    AU$337
  • Hotels.com
    AU$412
5.6 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
168
75
33
32
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
168
75
33
32
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool worst dinner mountain view alternate days public onsen private bath tub breakfast buffet was excellent open air bath shuttle bus beautiful hotel the rooms were nice japanese style modern design beautiful garden men women memorable stay surrounding mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2024 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in Hakone. Rooms excellent as is the onsen bath in the room and in the public area.
The food is carefully prepared and the service by staff excellent. Breakfast excellent. If you are not keen on the evening buffet then can grab a pizza in downstairs lounge. Overall a great hotel. Only reason for 4 not 5 is it has no laundry service which is a pain if you need it. Also no advice on where to get the shuttle bus back to hotel from Gora station so remember to ask. The hotel should have a map as to where the stop is as not obvious. We waited an hour in the wrong place. But when I rang the hotel they did send a car down for us which was kind.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DrORFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and for sharing your valuable experience.
We appreciate your perfect rating to us.
We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
Also, we are glad that you liked the onsen bath in the room and two public baths and you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
However, we apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the lack of information about the shuttle bus stop. We will improve the information of the shuttle bus stop to make it easier for the guest to access to our hotel.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2024 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms but the staff gave us terrible advice and then failed to help us out when we needed them. The reception advised us to take the circuit which involves getting a bus back to the hotel from the lake at the end. Unfortunately there was a 3 hour wait for a bus and no taxis. I called the hotel and asked them to send a taxi. They said they couldn’t and didn’t offer any other kind of solution. Hakone doesn’t have nearly enough infrastructure to support the numbers that visit. It is crowded and stressful and we won’t be coming back to the hotel or the area.

Room tip: Avoid going to Hakone.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank R7089DWandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the limited number of taxis in Hakone and the difficulty in arranging a taxi.
We understand the frustration of not having a taxi available, especially when traffic is congested.
In the future, we will look into solving this problem.
Your feedback will definitely help us improve our services.
It is wonderful to find out that you have been satisfied with the room you stayed in.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again at TEN-YU and to exceed your expectations.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

Quaint hotel, located in Hakone.

Our room had its own outdoor onsen, however there’s no heating on the balcony so it was very cold!

The restaurant provides the traditional 5 course kaiseki meal in the evening, which includes quite a bit of fish, including sushi. We don’t really eat fish so on the second night, the chef made us a version without fish, which was delicious.

The breakfast was superb - lots of different options.

The Hakone Open-Air Museum is within walking distance although you can also get the bus.

Room tip: The hotel adjoins another hotel over the road which is connected via a bridge. There is a well-stocked Family Mart on the ground floor.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank heverb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

It was truly our pleasure to welcome you to Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu.
We appreciate your great review on your stay.
We are glad to hear that the breakfast and the location met your expectations.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

After a trek to get to the hotel given its location it was far busier than we expected with a wait to check in in reception. Room was nice with space and the balcony overlooking the gardens with a bath tub fed directly by hot springs a nice touch. The beds were comfortable but the rest of the room a little tired - the shower felt like I was camping with plastic walls and floor and far too cramped given the rest of the amenities it felt out of place. That said the room was quiet and we enjoyed relaxing before dinner.

We had a dinner and breakfast included rate booked by our travel agent. While the entry greeters were nice we were sat at a table next to each other staring at a window (it’s night time so only a reflection of us as the view) which was rather odd. Food was preset and not the quality expected and had elsewhere in Japan which was a real let down. The sushi pre frozen and chewy for example. You also had to visit a buffet area for your rice and later dessert. They only offered coffee not even green tea on the buffet too! While the staff were nice and made it feel like an experience i would rather have been given a choice of food (appreciating we had a preset dinner) and it have been higher quality. Breakfast was a huge disappointment- cramped space and people all over the place with their trays trying to navigate the poorly laid out buffet. Worse than school dinners!. Not a relaxing spa type experience!!

The free shuttle bus stops in lots of places to Gora and takes ages, there’s a bus you can take at the bottom of the car park that’s public and is faster to be honest. Also a bus put on by the hotel up to the ropeway start would have been more helpful as it’s far closer than Gora and you don’t then have to get the cable car up.

Given the weather and the Ropeway being closed we decided to check out a day early and not subject ourselves to the same dinner format and breakfast chaos. Real shame as I’m sure it could be a great hotel/ or was.

Room tip: Avoid eating here
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Y2CLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

It was truly our pleasure to welcome you to Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu.
We appreciate your review on your stay.
We are glad that you liked the private bath tub on the balcony and comfort of the bed in your room.
However, we apologize that we fell short of your expectations about the dinner and breakfast.
Regarding the matter you pointed out to us, we will discuss with the manager of the restaurant and make efforts to improve with this matter.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and surely helps us to improve our service.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again at TEN-YU and to exceed your expectations.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2024

Lovely Ryokan experience.
Awesome breakfast and dining experience as well! Really loved that I could have my onsen experience from the privacy of my own balcony (each room comes with a private spring-fed open air bath).
Hakone, the town itself is gorgeous with plenty to do should you choose to leave the grounds or if staying for more than 1 night.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ninasadventures2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Thank you for having stayed with us at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu.
We appreciate your perfect rating to us.
We are delighted that the breakfast and dinner food at our hotel met your expectations.
In addition, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the private bath on the balcony.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
The scenery always changes and you can see the different beautiful nature in every season.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews