We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ian M
Baku, Azerbaijan

Stunning Ryokan

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Dec 2023
We had an exceptional experience at the stunning Ryokan. The spacious and comfortable room, complete with an outdoor bath featuring onsen (hot spring water) on the balcony, provided a truly delightful and exhilarating retreat. The pleasant bar and the very good restaurant for dinner, along with the extensive breakfast choices, added to the overall satisfaction.

It's worth highlighting the convenience of the regular shuttle bus into Gora, particularly valuable for those arriving by bus, saving a walk up the hill. The staff were consistently nice throughout our stay, contributing to a memorable and enjoyable visit
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: If you can get a room with the hot springs bath on the balcony
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this review
Responded 16 Dec 2023
Thank you so much for having stayed at Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU.
We appreciate your perfect rating to us.
We are glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay.
In addition, we are glad to hear you that you liked the outdoor bath on the balcony and that you enjoyed the dinner and breakfast.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Gora Hanaougi

Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
    AU$1,496
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mount View Hakone
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Mount View Hakone

  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$272
  • Hotels.com
4.6 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$474
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Pax Yoshino

Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$294
  • japanican.com
4.8 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free parking
Restaurant
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

  • Expedia.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$400
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
  • Expedia.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$265
  • Hotels.com
4.7 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$506
  • Hotels.com
4.3 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$227
  • Algotels
4.5 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Yoshiike Ryokan

  • Expedia.com
  • japanican.com
    AU$332
  • Hotels.com
5.1 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$356
  • Hotels.com
5.6 km from Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
167
75
33
32
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
167
75
33
32
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool worst dinner mountain view alternate days public onsen private bath tub breakfast buffet was excellent open air bath shuttle bus beautiful hotel the rooms were nice japanese style modern design beautiful garden men women memorable stay surrounding mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2023

Stunning Ryokan, friendliest of staff, very comfortable spacious room with onsen (hot spring water) on balcony into outdoor bath delightful and exhilerating, pleasant bar with classic live music in evening, very good restaurant for dinner and huge choice for breakfast. Regular shuttle bus into Gora to pick up train/cable car etc. Open air museum (a must visit) closeby. We took taxi to Tokyo Haneda airport - very expensive!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2023

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone.
We appreciate your perfect rating to us.
We are glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay.
We are also highly pleased that you liked the private bath on the balcony and that you were satisfied with the dinner and breakfast.
The scenery always changes and you can see the different beautiful nature in every season.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2023

My family and I would like to commend the extraordinary customer service I received from Miss Chen Yi Hsin during our recent visit to your Hotel at

From the welcoming smile as we entered to the attentive assistance throughout our visit, Miss Chen demonstrated an exemplary commitment to customer satisfaction.

Towards the end of our dinner, she even surprised our daughter with her creative and heartfelt effort when she presented my daughter with chocolate hand written decorative plate of dessert wishes for our daughter birthday. We were all very touch by her kind effort!

Once again, thank you for giving us a memorable dinning experience! Definitely fully recommend to anyone who is celebrating their wedding anniversary or birthday to give this hotel, Hakone Kowaiken Ten-Yu a try!

Warmest Regards
Dixon, Perlin & Gisele

Room tip: The hotel provide free shuttle service from Gita Train station which is very convenience to get your way to the hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dixonsioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2023

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone for your daughter’s birthday.
We appreciate your perfect rating to us.
We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff on your daughter's birthday.
We would also like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, which we will share with all of our staff.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
We hope this Hakone trip becomes unforgettable and exceptional memory for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again on your next opportunity to visit Hakone.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2023

The hotel is absolutely stunning and perfect for a couple's getaway in the mountains. The onsens are lovely and views are spectacular. Regular bus transfers to/from Gora are a great feature.

Sadly the evening meal we had at the hotel was the worst meal we had in our two week trip in Japan, by quite some margin. The food, service (staff were very friendly but clearly very inexperienced) and setting were all well below expectations - I really cannot recommend enough avoiding dining at the hotel. The second night of our stay we ate in a restaurant in Gora, which is a short taxi/bus ride away, which was superb.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2023

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Hakone.
We appreciate your review on your stay.
We are glad to hear that you liked the onsen with a great view and that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in the mountain.
However, we apologize that we fell short of your expectations about dinner.
Regarding the matter you pointed out to us, we will discuss with the manager of the restaurant and make efforts to improve with this matter.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again at TEN-YU and to exceed your expectations.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2023 via mobile

This traditional Japanese accommodation with a modern flair must be one of the country’s best hotels—-everything was perfect—the rooms are spacious and comfortable—the private hot spring-fed bath on the balcony was a delight. The breakfast and dinner services are superb, with great variety and the highest quality food. Staff were attentive to our every need and we were made to feel welcome during our entire stay. This is the place to splurge during your visit to Japan!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DougA554
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2023

Thank you for having stayed with us at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu.
We appreciate your perfect rating to us.
We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
We are also very pleased to hear that you liked the private bathtub (Shigaraki ware) on the balcony and you enjoyed the breakfast and dinner.
In addition, we are highly pleased that you were satisfied with our staff service.
We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2023

While I stayed in Japan for two weeks, Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu was the most luxurious stay that I splurged on and it was well worth it. They were celebrating their 6 year anniversary while I was here. My first impression walking into the hotel was that it was grand and true Japanese hospitality when the staff gave a warm welcome. There was an immediate sense of calm and peace within the ryokan. I enjoyed a sip of tea in the library lounge to cool down from the summer heat. Even before arriving at the hotel, the staff were very responsive to questions in email, such as how to reach the hotel by shuttle. They can also accept your luggage delivery from your previous hotel. I have to admit it is a bit hard to reach the location, as there was around 30-min bus ride from Odawara station. I arrived to the property at night, so it was a bit hard to find the stairs up to the entrance in the dark. The Hakone bus system is harder to use with Google Maps because the bus names are in kanji, so I recommend arriving by mid-day at the latest. This part of finding the ryokan was memorable in of itself and I was relieved to finally reach the ryokan.

This is a more modern ryokan, in which there are no tatami mats and there are western beds. I booked the Superior Room, Open-Air Onsen Bath with the breakfast plan. I opted out of the dinner plan. The room itself is very spacious and there is a small nook that you can walk up to lounge. It was one of my favorite parts of the room. The mountain view from the 9th floor was well worth it. I was lucky to see amazing lightning at night and deep red sunrise all from my room. There are plenty of viewpoints in the property to see the sunrise or sunset. There is a notification what time the sun rises in the lobby. The private bath in the patio of the room was very nice and relaxing. There are privacy shades to roll down, while the bath is filling with water. The bath was nice and warm and fills up within 15 minutes. The sound proofing was good, and I did not hear the rooms next door or below.

For dining options, the breakfast buffet was exquisite. There were a lot of options and I found the meal very balanced. The buffet has an inspired Japanese menu with some Western influence, with different proteins, soups, pastries, drinks, coffee bar, and vegetables. Don’t forget to order an omelette and try the pomegranate juice with black vinegar. My favorite item was the onsen egg, abalone and shrimp soup, and truffle omelette. However, everything was delicious and well balanced with fruit and salad bar. For other dining and snack options, the property also has ice cream and drink vending machines, and is connected to Family Mart and several other restaurants for teppanyaki or soba.

After so much walking in Kyoto and Osaka, the rest and relaxation in Hakone was well worth the two nights’ splurge. I could even just stay in the ryokan as a staycation. I ended up staying in half a day because it was raining hard outside. The two public onsen were very nice and clean. They had high quality hygienic products to use. I must say the 6th floor onsen was better than the 5th floor in my opinion, so it is good that they rotate onsens for men and women to use. There is a nice waterfall view and scenic view for both hot springs. Within the property, there is also a garden to walk through to see water runoffs, shrine, and relax outside. Each room provides traditional clothing, including yukatas and pajamas. It enriches the experience of being in Japan. During my stay, there was also scheduled performances from opera singer Takumi Torio. You had to find him in the garden, library lounge or Ten-Yu Bar & Lounge. This added to the specialized experience of Japan. There is also a gift shop to take home memories from the stay.

I experienced the An-Spa as well for the "Shiseido Qi" Aesthetic Therapy Body treatment. Mio was very skilled and I felt so relaxed that I fell asleep. Tea and mochi was included with the treatment.

Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu is a short bus ride to most destinations, including museums and the famous Hakone shrine. Hakone is a great place for scenic views of nature. During summer, Hakone was a little cooler than other cities. Overall, this was a very memorable stay. I highly recommend staying here for great value to experience a modern ryokan and opportunity to experience Japanese culture and hospitality. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room tip: Get here mid-day at the latest. The bus frequency in Hakone is reduced later in the day and it is hard to find the stairs up to the lobby.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jaimedtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nakamura Yuki, お客様サービス / フロント オフィス at Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023

It was truly our pleasure to welcome you to Hakone Kowakien Ten-Yu.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us.
We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
In addition, we are glad to hear you that you enjoyed the private bath in the patio of the room and you liked the breakfast.
It is also wonderful to find out that you have been satisfied with the treatment of An-Spa. We will continue to try our best to provide our guests with pleasant stay.
The scenery always changes and you can see the different beautiful nature at our garden in every season.
We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Hakone Kowakien TEN-YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews