We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
DayTrip43982100103

decent choice, amazing onsen nearby

Review of Hotel Okada
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Apr 2024
This is a very good choice in the Hakone region. The hotel itself is a bit dated and it seemed to target mostly older Japanese people, and some Western tourists. The room was ok, the dinner and breakfast buffets were very good. The nearby onsen (the one located in the woods, not the one in the hotel) is outstanding.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Pax Yoshino

AU$363
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
0.5 km from Hotel Okada
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
AU$302
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Hotel Okada
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$475
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
5.6 km from Hotel Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

AU$500
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.1 km from Hotel Okada
Free parking
Restaurant
Mount View Hakone
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Mount View Hakone

AU$262
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
8.8 km from Hotel Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

AU$470
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
8.7 km from Hotel Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Gora Hanaougi

AU$1,493
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$1,493
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
5.5 km from Hotel Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$511
  • Expedia.com
    AU$582
4.5 km from Hotel Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Yoshiike Ryokan

  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$497
  • japanican.com
0.8 km from Hotel Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$359
  • Algotels
7.2 km from Hotel Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
143
194
92
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
143
194
92
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus service ryokan style buffet style large hotel onsen facilities traditional tatami room twin beds japanese hot spring nice stay mount fuji train station hakone sakura annex hill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

First time at this location and choose this hotel by my wife and kids. Quite good as the hotel has onsen for male and female and interestingly it changed the second day on the male side into female. The onsen has indoor and outdoor. After onsen it has a location near the entrance which a machine you can drink for free on hot or cold apple juice, green tea and next to it has an outdoor foot onsen too! We stayed at a traditional Japanese tatami style room and it was fun for us all. It has daily Japanese traditional amenities for us to taste. Though the hotel is a little away from the main train station but it has shuttles that connect and actually is just a 15-20 mins walk.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Veteranito
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2023

We wanted to love this hotel because it has a decent location, pretty views, and spacious rooms. Unfortunately, the staff ruined our experience.

I’ll start by saying we loved the room. It was the biggest we’ve stayed at so far in Japan, the bathroom was so nice and spacious with a lot of nice touches, and the personal onsen was incredible. However, we did have to wait over an hour to check in because the onsen was broken, which lead to us also having to fish out sediment from the pipes every time we wanted to sit in the onsen.

Now for the hotel, it’s pretty dated. The carpet is peeling up and fraying in places and overall, the hotel just feels old. But nothing too bad. The hotel offers a paid breakfast and dinner which we did not try, but we did try their massages. The team is incredibly sweet and nice and my husband had a great massage. Mine was way too light (I did ask her to increase the pressure but her fingers were shaking so I felt bad asking again). So only get a massage if you’re looking more for a back rub / touches on your head and ears versus a massage to get out knots / muscle pain.

Now for the staff. When we arrived, we were pushing all our suitcases up the giant hill to get to the hotel. We were looking for the door and staff member outside told us we had to walk all the way around the parking lot to get to the check in. After my husband did that, we realized the check in was literally straight in front of our face and he just made us do a large loop dragging all of our stuff with us. Furthermore, on our last morning we wanted to heat up some ramen we had picked up at 7-11 the night before to eat. We asked one of the staff members if we could use their microwave and he said we could only use it if we bought the food from the hotel. IT’S A MICROWAVE for crying out loud! Also, keep in mind that most restaurants in town close at 7pm and don’t open until 10-11am so what are you supposed to eat outside of those hours? I guess that’s a way for the hotel to make even more money from you, because over $370 a night apparently isn’t enough. So I went and asked another staff member who directed my question to the man who looked liked he was in charge. After running around for 5 minutes (to do what I don’t know) he came over to me to tell me they don’t have a microwave in the hotel so they couldn’t heat it for us. My husband, literally standing next to the microwave (but it was in a closed off section) starts pointing AT THE MICROWAVE and was like sir there’s the microwave can we use it? The man stares at us then finally says that’s not a microwave. I’m sorry what? My husband tells him, if it’s policy or he just doesn’t want us to use it then just tell us, and the man seems at a lost for words. We gave up and walked out. Needless to say we will never be returning to this hotel… ever. We loved Hakone as a whole, but Hotel Okada left a TERRIBLE impression. Hospitality does not exist at Hotel Okada.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2023

This Japanese style hotel is a LONG way from anything -- unless you have a car. No way to get into shops and restaurants; held hostage on site.

Arrived late afternoon and informed that dinner had to be reserved 24 hours in advance. So, we had to walk up the hill (in the rain) to their public onsen building where they have a small bar / restaurant. Breakfast was included but you had to have a reservation for a specific time, and not all times were available. The breakfast buffet was extensive but so overcrowded it became unappealing.

We booked a Japanese-style room, which meant no beds, just mats. But the mats and linens were stuffed in a closet and we had to set them up ourselves.

Worst of all, our room faced the front of the building (and parking lot) and we had EXTREMELY bright lights pointed at us all night long -- with no way to darken the room. And the light in the toilet room automatically came on when you got near it, so if you got up in the middle of the night you were again blinded immediately.

Staff were brisk and unaccommodating; English extremely limited. And the whole place was overcrowded -- booked to the maximum, apparently. Way too many people, crowded into spaces not intended to accommodate so many.

We were not happy here, and would not recommend it for any reason. So many other options, closer to shops and restaurants. If this was our introduction to Japan, we would have had a very bad impression.

Room tip: Pick a different hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2TravelFarNWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2023

much further and difficult walk from station than anticipated; partly because it is uphill from the station and the road is very narrow. Recommend taking the hotel shuttle bus from the station (next to TIC). Check in was easy. Room was very comfortable and large, with a choice of western bed or futon mattresses. Option of no daily cleaning but fresh towels, toiletries and bottled water delivered daily. Dinner had many choices, including Japanese, Chinese and western. Food was good but not great. Best for people who want volume. Breakfast was a typical onsen hotel buffet with western, Chinese and Japanese choices. Desserts excellent. Dining room staff at both meals were very friendly and happy. Check out was what made this stay the most challenging. We asked to get a taxi to the station and were told no taxi's will come. Although there was a hotel shuttle van and we saw others take it, we were unable to understand their explanation as to why we couldn't. After a while, the staff seemed like they didn't want to talk to us anymore. Although many foreign tourists stay here, English proficiency was difficult for the staff. Unlikely to stay here again. Too far from the station for first time visitors to Hakone

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2023 via mobile

I would give the hotel 4 stars if they can do some updates to the hotel. It's starting to show wear in some sections.
We had 2 rooms to compare experiences. One was western style twin beds with open air bath. That is more updated but somehow the room has musky smell. Could be the hot springs water and humidity. Air conditioning in that room was not the best. The other room we got was Senyu. Though that was Japanese style with futon and twin beds, it could use some updates, especially the bathroom. The open air bath is set in a garden outside the room. Get bit by mosquitoes while trying to dry off.
Food was decent. Not high quality but ok. Dining area could use updates.
We tried the off site public onsen that was included on top of the main building onsen. Nice experience as more natural. Water very hot.
We got lucky with the shuttle to the train station. Lined up 15 min earlier and was able to get on the small bus.
But it can be inconvenient if you are on a tight schedule.

Room tip: Avoid second hall rooms at the end. More outdated hall
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jackjack706
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews