We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kajal M

Worth visiting a ryokan!

Review of Senkyoro
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Dec 2017via mobile
Definitely worth staying in a ryokan if visiting japan. This particular one was lovely. The staff were so helpful and polite. As soon as we entered our room we received green tea and a lady showed us how to put on our traditional Japanese robes. We went to a private onsen which was 1800 yen for 45 mins and it was so relaxing! The traditional kaiseki meal was an experience! My husband loved it as he eats anything but I wasn’t overly sure about some items as they were quite fishy. The room was cosy and the beds on the floor were super comfy! Shower was very disappointing as it was more like a drizzle but for one night it didn’t matter. For breakfast, my husband went for the traditional meal which he enjoyed but I went for the western one which was lovely and consisted of fruits, yoghurt, breads, eggs and bacon. The surrounding area was lovely and green but I’m not sure you need more than 1-2 nights here.
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Mount View Hakone

AU$215
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Senkyoro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

AU$462
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$462
  • Algotels
3.3 km from Senkyoro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$270
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
8.2 km from Senkyoro
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
    AU$579
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Senkyoro
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
    AU$697
  • Algotels
3.9 km from Senkyoro
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$488
  • Algotels
4.2 km from Senkyoro
Free parking
Restaurant
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Pax Yoshino

  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
    AU$325
  • Priceline
8.4 km from Senkyoro
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$329
  • Algotels
8.2 km from Senkyoro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Yoshiike Ryokan

  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
    AU$328
  • Trip.com
8.5 km from Senkyoro
Free Wifi
Free parking
ナカニワ(夕景イメージ)
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
    AU$416
  • Expedia.com
    AU$477
3.5 km from Senkyoro
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
94
56
25
8
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
94
56
25
8
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We booked one night at this ryokan as we were after a typical ryokan experience and didn't want to leave Japan without this experience. Our expectations were high as we had heard many positive things about the ryokan experience. Our experience at Senkyoro unfortunately fell short. Although the hosts were gracious and made every effort to make our stay enjoyable, the place is tired and has a strong musty smell. I found the meal, which was served in the dining room (the only re-furbished area), largely inedible as many items were just too foreign for my taste (my husband is not fussy and eats literally everything and even he struggled with some items). Having said all this, the highlight for us was the private onsen which was a unique and enjoyable experience.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank theShevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2017

May, 2017

Wanted to experience ryokan hospitality and getting soaked in an onsen (with real hotspring water). Had a room with a private open-air onsen, Room came with breakfast and dinner. Delighted! Had expectation before the trip. Not disappointed at all!

The room (suite) was very large. A sitting area with sofa, and a TV - although the TV didn't have any English language channel, was looking for CNN to keep up with the news worldwide. But then we were not there to watch TV so not too bad with this.

It had a separate area for dining, a very low table on tatami completely traditional, which was what we had requested for, a Japanese-style room. Breakfast and dinner were served in the room and we had to cross our legs to have our meals as expected.

There was a separate bedroom, with two western twin beds and we were puzzled why it was the case for a Japanese-style room. Upon a telephone inquiry to the front desk the receptionist realized that she had checked us into a wrong room, but by then all the Japanese-style rooms were gone. However, as the room was set up to house 2-6 people, the crew came in after dinner, pulled out a couple of Japanese-style mattresses for the tatami and blankets on the tatami area and let us experience sleeping on the tatami. After all, that's one of the experiences with staying at a roykan. The next day they moved us to a completely Japanese-style room.

Breakfast and dinner were unbelievable for both days. A total experience and one should not miss.

The open-air onsen was great! The spring water kept coming out 24-hr a day without overflowing the "tub" which was large enough for definitely 3 people if not 4. I was sitting in the "tub" and trying to find where the water was draining so that it wouldn't overflow while maintaining that the water level was constant at the top; and for almost 10 minutes using my fingers to search all over in the murky spring water I couldn't locate where the drain hole/line was, it is still a mystery to me to date :-). As with tradition, one needed to clean oneself at a shower with a wooden stool and a water bucket - it was so much fun with the water bucket I must say! After soaking into the onesen for 15-20 minute each time, it felt so relaxed and comfortable! We did that in the morning and at night :-).

Also tried an open-air private onsen - which was much large that it could easily hold 8-10 people without problem, in a garden like setting. However it was night time at 9:30pm - would have been much better if there were better lightning set up.

Last mentioning on the facility - easy access from Tokyo. Two-hour direct express-way bus from Shinjuku Bus Terminal Station to literally the entrance to the roykan without any need to transfer to a local train or taxi in Hakone.

Despite a couple of minor issues, I'd still give Senkyoro a top rating!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank michaelyL7107JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2017

If you are looking for authenticity in a quiet surrounding, don't look further. On the top of the public traditional Japanese bath (water at 42°). Our first experience on sleeping on futon/tatami (all slept like babies in a room for 4).
The evening dinner and breakfast are a MUST try. The food is varied and exquisite, each "dish" a new experience. The staff dressed in traditional kimonos will relentlessly serve you more and more food, don't be afraid, you will not go hungry. If you are in the mood you can yourself put on your "yukata" after you relaxed at the baths and before heading to the bar/karaoke. A good oasis close to the Mount Fuji, Five Lake and Lake Ashi. Good connections with the bus from Odawara if you don't have a rental car.
It might be a bit more expensive than other hotels in the area, but it is worth it !!!

Room tip: Try a room with a private bath if you are too shy to use the public one (i.e. no swimming gears allowed)
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We wanted an authentic ryokan experience and combed the reviews to find one that we thought would provide it. Senkyoro didn't disappoint. While somewhat dated in its appearance, the experience itself was amazing. We arrived by taxi having been caught in a heavy downpour (we would've taken the bus but were too wet). Immediately 3 different people came out to greet us and lead us into the building. We completed the paperwork quickly and then Haruku, our hostess showed us to our room. If it wasn't raining, I'm sure the views would be gorgeous. We were given Japanese tea and sweets and she explained everything to us including how to put on the hotel provided yukatas. We only had an hour before dinner so we relaxed in the room. We had hoped to eat in our room but we're told that this was not possible and we would be eating in the dining room. We changed and headed to dinner. Wow. It was a 12 course dinner of all types of interesting and very beautifully presented food. I can't say I loved every bite but the experience was amazing. The food just kept coming out and each dish was a visual masterpiece. Our 9 year old had a kids meal and even his bento box was spectacular. We ate for over 1.5 hours and were so stuffed when we finished we were almost uncomfortable. The dining area overlooks a gorgeous rock wall covered in foliage with a little water feature. Truly lovely. After dinner we went back to the room which was laid out with the traditional mats. The linens were crisp and fresh and the duvet was so fluffy and lovely we wouldn't wait to get into bed. But first we went down to the onsen to soak. It is gender segregated so my daughter and I went to ours and were delighted that we were the only 2 there. The water was very hot so we stayed only about 10 minutes, just enough to relax. Lots of shampoos and cleansers were available and also hair dryers. We headed back to the room to have a wonderful nights sleep. It was an absolute downpour outside and we could hear the wind whistling through the walls which was annoying but mother natures fault. We woke up to continued rain. There was a choice of Japanese and western breakfast. We chose western and it was another meal of delight. Homemade yogurt, fresh fruit artfully arranged on the plate, fresh coffee and oj plus scrambled eggs and bacon and fresh buns warm from the oven with jams. It was delicious. We were so disappointed to check out. Definitely recommend this place. It was shockingly expensive but the experience was once in a lifetime and we will remember it always.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank JLandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We have been there for my wife birthday as I wanted an exceptional ryokan experience before leaving the country (we live in Japan and will leave in next summer). Let's be clear it was simply fantastic.
From the checkin the staff makes you feel comfy and you know you are in particular location. I have chosen room with private onsen and for sure it brings a greater level to the experience. Having onsen in your room only with your lover that's great.
Then meal arrived and it was as expected : fantastic. Lot of meals, nice, good - sometimes strange - and serve in room.
As usual in this type of ryokan after meal they prepare the futons (good smoothy ones) and we good relax.
Of course on the morning they did opposite for breakfast.
So happy to have offered this to my wife and enjoyed also myself. It is obviously more expensive than normal ryokan but price worth it!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cleplatois
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews