We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ryan M

Great onsens, solid room, horrible location

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 May 2024via mobile
Hot springs are great, especially the view of Mt. Fuji. The women’s view (the one seen in the photo) is better then the men’s, but the men’s is still solid. Room is solid, nothing super special. It is nearly impossible to get a taxi out of the hotel, meaning if you’re not already out you won’t be able to eat out for dinner. Make sure you book your taxi in advance the night before departure. Food is average to below average, nothing great here. Wouldn’t spend more than 1 or 2 nights here; very remote but good if you want to use the onsens.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Plan taxi in advance and/or bring a car
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
AU$250
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$241
  • Expedia.com
    AU$251
2.7 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$484
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$484
  • Priceline
  • japanican.com
    AU$501
2.9 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$505
Fully refundable
  • Rakuten Travel
  • Agoda.com
    AU$477
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$545
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$479
  • Expedia.com
    AU$537
1.2 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
AU$285
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$266
  • japanican.com
    AU$313
8.2 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
AU$411
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$650
  • Agoda.com
    AU$382
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free parking
Restaurant
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$307
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$265
  • japanican.com
    AU$313
8.1 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
AU$382
  • japanican.com
    AU$338
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
8.6 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$1,521
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,344
  • japanican.com
    AU$1,521
  • Vio.com
2.8 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$273
  • Expedia.com
    AU$297
  • Trip.com
8.4 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
152
218
90
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
152
218
90
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ropeway station mount fuji tempura breakfast and dinner tatami room shabu shabu onsen luggage hakone japan ryokan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2023

It is not easy to get to the hotel except by car. Although the hotel provides a shuttle bus but it only goes to the nearest cable car station. Getting around the area would be easier if you have a car. Otherwise, you have to rely on the cable car or public bus. Taxis is not easy to get even with the help of the hotel.
Having said the above, the hotel is quaint in an attractive manner. The service of the staff was excellent both at check-in and throughout our stay. Room was spacious and large but a bit dated. They have a nice garden and the best part of it is that it has an excellent view of Mt Fuji. The buffet dinner at the restaurant in the hotel was fantastic in terms of the range of food and quality. Its breakfast was just as good.
This hotel provides great value in the quality of stay and service despite its location.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AlbusD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023

If you're looking for a traditional ryokan experience this isn't it. Rooms are a little tired, dinner has a good range but cafeteria style. Staff are helpful. There are better options for the money.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2023

Great hotel. Located on the Hakone ropeway at Ubako stop (short walk on path to hotel or call from station for a courtesy pick-up to the hotel), one stop more to Lake Ashi and lake cruise. Fabulous view of Mt Fuji from their back garden. Huge buffet dinner and breakfast included in the price (best we had in 3 weeks of travel throughout Japan). Relaxing onsen in hotel (some Japanese style rooms include your own private onsen). Only suggestion is courtesy van driver should wait a minute or so at hotel door for pick-ups to station (we were right at the door with luggage, when he left without stopping) - also driver could get out and open back luggage compartment for suitcases (I had to struggle to lift ours into an already full van, then he drove extra fast to the station, throwing our suitcases all over and into other passengers). Besides this, the hotel was still a great stay and I would highly recommend it for your visit to Hakone.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rbthodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2023

This is my first royakan so it’s a bit hard to know how to compare with others, it as a first timer I had an amazing time here. My room and onsen had a view of Mount Fuji, the dinner and breakfast buffets were great (fruit in Japan!) and we had fun sleeping on the mat and sitting by the low table in our room. So overall it was a good experience. However there are some negatives: the room needed a bit of a face lift and same with the bathroom. Still, if you can get over those details you won’t regret staying here. Make sure you stay on the mount Fuji side though!

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank simjenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2023 via mobile

Wonderful location and a beautiful setting. The breakfast and dinner buffets were the highlight of our stay. Really varied options both western and Japanese to choose from. 3 minutes walk from a rope way station that takes you to the lake or up the mountain. Staff, especially Sugawara we’re all great. Room had a strong smell of mildew or mold though.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kenb2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews