We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ken B
Fussa, Japan

Great weekend get away.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 July 2023via mobile
Wonderful location and a beautiful setting. The breakfast and dinner buffets were the highlight of our stay. Really varied options both western and Japanese to choose from. 3 minutes walk from a rope way station that takes you to the lake or up the mountain. Staff, especially Sugawara we’re all great. Room had a strong smell of mildew or mold though.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
AU$250
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    AU$278
  • Agoda.com
    AU$241
  • Expedia.com
    AU$251
2.7 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$484
  • japanican.com
    AU$501
  • Vio.com
    AU$484
  • Trip.com
    AU$484
2.9 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$505
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$613
  • Agoda.com
    AU$477
  • Vio.com
    AU$522
3.6 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$507
Fully refundable
  • Algotels
    AU$515
  • Agoda.com
    AU$439
  • Vio.com
    AU$446
1.2 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$273
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
    AU$285
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$270
  • Vio.com
    AU$282
8.4 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
AU$285
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$313
  • Agoda.com
    AU$266
  • Trip.com
    AU$274
8.2 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
AU$411
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$650
  • Agoda.com
    AU$382
  • Vio.com
    AU$425
4.0 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free parking
Restaurant
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$268
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    AU$313
  • Expedia.com
    AU$265
  • Agoda.com
    AU$297
8.1 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
AU$382
  • japanican.com
    AU$338
  • Vio.com
    AU$423
  • Trip.com
    AU$426
8.6 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$1,369
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • japanican.com
    AU$1,521
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,344
  • Rakuten Travel
2.8 km from Hotel Green Plaza Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
152
218
90
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
152
218
90
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ropeway station mount fuji tempura breakfast and dinner tatami room shabu shabu onsen luggage hakone japan ryokan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2023

Great potential. Fifteen to twenty years ago this would have been a great hotel. However now the rooms and common areas are very tired. This is even more important because this is such a weather dependent hotel. On a clear day with great visibilty and views of Mount Fuji you would overlook the imperfections. But on a dull and rainy day, which often happens here, you would be stuck in your room. These rooms are very small.

The bathroom is quite simply depressing and may have looked good in 1970.
Fortunately Japanese people are very quiet but the bedroom doors and plumbing are not. The beds are not very comfortable impacting on sleep quality, pillows are small and hard. So if the first person on your corridor is up at six o'clock we are all awake.

There is no bar as such, we asked at reception where we could get some ice, to be told you have to buy if from the shop which was often closed.
The redeeming factor was the food. The 'restaurant' was more like a works canteen but the staff there were lovely. The food selection was vast and we particularly liked the individual burners for Shabu Shabu. Great variety of Sushi, Tempura and quality meat and fish.
The Onson is nice and cosy and if the weather is kind you can see Fuji.
With a refurb this hotel could be substantially better.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sparkyfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2023 via mobile

The hotel has a great potential, location is good once once you are there but arriving to the Hotel is terrible. The free shuttle wasn’t running when we arrived to gondola station and we needed to walk in the middle of an icy road carring our luggage, the most incredible thing is the staff didn’t really care when we got to the reception. The hotel installations are quite old and you have issues with mold all over the place, the corridor had a basket on the floor to colect dropping water from the ceilings, our bathroom was smelling really bad probably due to some sewage leak behind the toilet. The onsen was OK, just like others in the same category, however the views of the Mount Fuji are not that great as you need to stand up and take you body out of the onsen waters to see the it. Also, it is a quite lateral and partial view. So don’t expect great things here. The food was OK and restaurant staff was friendly and helpful. I felt that the food standards were also a bit low compared to other places we stayed in Japan. The worst part was the reception staff, they don’t know how to cater for international guests and they are not willing to help in your way in and out of the hotel if you are not driving your own car. So here is my recommendation, DON’T stay here if you are planning to use Hakone’s public transportation to get hotel. We actually lost 1:30 hours of our itinerary on the way out because they didn’t want to run the shuttle bus 5 minutes earlier to take us to a bus station 6 minutes away from the hotel (btw you can’t really walk with your luggage in Hakone’s roads on winter since they are steep an icy sometimes). The funny thing is thay me and my wife where the only guests on the shuttle when the left the hotel, so they could easily save 1:30 hours of our day being a little more understanding. Overall, just find somewhere else to stay in Hakone.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank brucruvinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2022

First time in Hakone but not in Japan. Perfect choice! We were a family with a toddler, and the ryokan will be not a proper place for a child to be or enjoy the traditional setting. Green Plaza was a nice cross between ryokan ( we got a tatami room) but had the convince of buffets for breakfast and dinner. We enjoyed it all. Great choices for food, Eastern and Western. Local salmon was to die for, but pasta and pizza were solid as well.
The room was big enough and we had a pleasure of viewing Fuji-san from out window.
There is a store inside the hotel and you can get supplies and water/ beer for reasonable price.
Not far from a ropeway station Ubako but we rented a car and it was a great idea to save time if you want sightseeing.
Onsens were awesome and open late. Everything was clean!
Overall, highly recommend, especially if you are not ready to commit to a traditional ryokan and picky with food or have kids.

Would love to come back and explore the area more

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 209Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2021 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel during COVID 19 period so the service provided was minimal - no room service, self-service of futon and bed-making. Our room has excellent view facing Mt Fuji, spacious for two people, although a bit old but clean. The onsen was great.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank B0B0chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2020

We chose this hotel because of the view of Mount Fuji. It was foggy, so the view was missing, but the room was good. We had a traditional Japanese room. While we ate dinner at the buffet, they placed beds on the floor which is cool. The hotel Onsen was a great feature. The buffet was good but not spectacular. Overall, the hotel was above average but the view depends on the weather.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JazzPatNimNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GreenPlaza Hakone, 支配人 at Hotel Green Plaza Hakone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2020

Dear Mr./Ms. Jazz PatNimNik,
Thank for your satying at hotel Green Plaza Hakone and your review on the hotel. what's a pitty when the weather was foggy. However it was great when you had a good time and good expericence with onsen and a traditional Japansese room.
We are looking forward to your next coming.
Best regards,
Hotel Green Plaza Hakone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews