We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Anthony Devitt
Dublin, Ireland

Truly Japanese !

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 June 2018
Great location away from it all up a mountain. You can have a truly Japanese experience here if you go for the Dinner Bed and Breakfast Rate but be warned, this is hardcore Japanese food and some Westerns will find it hard to eerrrrr appreciate. The food keeps coming and it is 5 Star presentation all the way. Very traditional Japanese. You will be wearing the house provided 'Kimono' to dinner if it takes your fancy. Most people did. The location is superb in the dense woodland of the mountainside and it's only a short taxi to the cable car. The staff here are superb. They speak little English. Probably because they are Japanese so why should they. If necessary they will bring up a translator online. I have to say I was taken unwell whilst staying here and they could not have been more helpful and considerate. When I returned from my unplanned visit to hospital they allowed me to stay late in the room to get some rest, no problem. Great Onsen here and you really feel like you are immersed whilst only being a 3 minute taxi from the railway station costing only a couple of dollars. They also have a shuttle you can book. Thanks to all the very helpful staff at the hotel. Your kindness was much appreciated.
Date of stay: April 2018
Room Tip: Ask for Japanese Beds. the western ones are singles and kinda blow that aspect of the experience.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$277
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$464
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
0.1 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$301
  • japanican.com
5.9 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$497
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$272
  • Hotels.com
5.7 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$546
  • Expedia.com
    AU$604
3.8 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
  • Hotels.com
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$286
  • Algotels
6.4 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$314
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
5.6 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$494
  • japanican.com
6.1 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$327
  • Algotels
6.7 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
22
46
25
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
46
25
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

This lovely little hotel may be a little outdated, and in peak times overpriced (but as is everything else in the area) but it’s a great representation of Japanese hospitality. The dinner is very memorable (make sure you like seafood and sashimi), and we found the room comfortable. The staff speak limited English but are very helpful.

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank sydneyIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Expensive for what the place offered but not bad for a ryokan. It was a bit of a last minute booking and not too many places left given the season. It is outdated but on the positive side, it adds to the "local" experience.

We arrived about an hour before check-in and instead of letting us occupy the room, they preferred to have us waiting around.

Another complaint was the fact that our room was never done. It was skipped two days in a row. The fact that we had to go to reception each day to request fresh towels is what made it a huge miss for us.

Outside onsen (hot spring) was small but very relaxing and the yukatan (Japanese robe) the hotel provided were well appreciated.

Last but not least, make sure you like seafood. If seafood is not your forte, make sure to let them know at check-in so that they can carter to your allergies/palette. Almost every course has some element of seafood incorporated.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Justarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Large room compared to Japan standarts.Comfortable separate beds,super clean.Good location on right hand side of railway funicular.The price included perfect breakfast and delicious dinner.Very lovely outdoor onsen.Good value for money,recommend.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikisVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2018

There are 2 Green Plaza hotels in the Hakone area. This is the Gora Green Plaza hotel.
Front office staff were excellent even with limited english knowledge. I really enjoyed the ryokan style bedroom with tatami mats an futon beds and the yutaka dresses which we wore while in the hotel. This was my first onsen experience and I enjoyed it (specially the outdoor onsen). Though we only booked breakfast at first, we decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant as well, which turned out to be great decision, with a number of lovely japanese dishes included in the set menu.
Reaching the hotel from Kami Gora cable car station is a down hill walk, but we ended up taking a taxi to Gora station as we did not want to pull all our lugguage up the hill to Kami Gora. The hotel has a free shuttle service to Gora twice a day at set times though.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kushan_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

We were in a room with japanese tatami aerea. Room was large and futon beds ok. A bit hard om the ground for me but my husband liked it. Enough room for 4 people. Rooms a bit old and in need for reconstroction. The onsen inside was very outdated. The outside area was very good.
Dinner was excellent! I would visit here again but for a little less money. For the quality of the rooms it was overprices.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mirreke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews