We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
EW42
Krylbo, Sweden

Hotel Green Plaza Gora

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 May 2017
Clean and nice hotel with good service. Onsen indoors and outdoors with free fine products. Very good food and a number of dishes were served at the dinners. Friendly staff who, however, could not speak much English but went well with google. We came by cable car and got off at the right side at Kami-Gora station, then it was only a few minutes walk to the hotel and it was easy to find. A lot to choose from for breakfast. It was nice that there were Yakuta to borrow as you carry at the hotel.
Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Mount View Hakone

AU$243
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.2 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

AU$607
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$607
  • Hotels.com
3.8 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$529
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    AU$585
1.4 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
    AU$591
  • Expedia.com
    AU$604
0.1 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Pax Yoshino

  • Priceline
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$322
  • Expedia.com
    AU$335
5.9 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free parking
Restaurant
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

  • Expedia.com
    AU$767
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$643
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free parking
Restaurant
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
  • Algotels
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$299
  • Hotels.com
6.4 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
    AU$356
  • Expedia.com
    AU$491
6.7 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
  • Algotels
  • japanican.com
    AU$377
  • Expedia.com
    AU$589
5.6 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
ナカニワ(夕景イメージ)
  • Expedia.com
    AU$530
  • japanican.com
    AU$310
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Hotel Green Plaza Gora
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
22
46
25
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
46
25
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2016

I together with two of my friends had two nights stay at the hotel. We booked in advance for the free shuttle bus from the hotel to Gora Station on the day we check-in. On the departure day, we even went to the hotel lobby early (more than 1 hour allowance) to confirm on the booking. When 10 minutes before departure time, we went up to the hotel staff again to check on when to move our luggage to the hotel vehicle, we got the shock of our lives when told the vehicle broke down 30 minutes earlier!

We were mostly at the lobby all the while taking photos and could not understand why they did not bother to approach us to inform us immediately when the vehicle broke down. As we had another bus to catch and there was snow fall at that time, we tried to ask for alternative transport/taxi but to no available. We ended up have to lugged our big luggage ourselves all the way to the nearest cable car station for the transfer to Gora Station!

No sure is the country culture or the miscommunication issue (staff with limited English language proficiency), would like to see the hotel have better service for such unforeseen situation to reduce unnecessary frustration from guests.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2016

THE TA MAP IS WRONG! You actually need to get off at Kami-Gora station, which we found out in after tramping from Gora train station in the rain as we thought it was so close. But it was worth it - we were the only Westerners in the hotel and it finally felt like we were in the depths of the real Japan. The onsen is a great experience - make sure you try all the various face and hair products they have for free. It's fun trying to work out the bathing procedure the first time you go (Google helped us!) Definitely walk round in the robe and slippers provided, like everyone else does. The staff don't speak much English but that doesn't matter as they go out of their way to make sure that you're understood and somehow all your requests are catered for. The dinner provided with half-board was spectacular - food kept coming and coming. We asked for rice as well after reading on here that there wasn't a lot of food, but we found we were too full after it. (Tip - the sake tasting gives you 5 different ones, all yummy). The open-air museum is great, both for adults and kids, but there isn't much else to do, especially when the weather's not good enough to catch sight of Mount Fuji on the cable car. We all loved the hotel's faded 70s elegance, and it was a lovely relaxing two nights after the frantic travel beforehand. A real treat to see a different side of Japan.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kfn219
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

A very enjoyable stay with great food and service.
The onset was an experience in itself.
Unlike some of the reviews the hotel was easy to find.
The only downside was the lack of a view.
To get the best out of your visit I would recommend to go along with the Japanese guests by wearing the robes supplied by the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank BrianCheltenham60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a family room. Hotel is a bit older but quaint and clean. At first we had trouble finding the hotel - get off at stop 61 from cable car then follow path/ road, then turn right. We enjoyed the onsens morning and night with hardly anyone else using them. We had paid "half board" and the food was excellent. Dinner involved nine courses and was beautifully presented and delicious. Breakfast was a buffet of everything you could want. The staff spoke little English but bent over backwards to help. Amazing what sign language and Google translate can achieve. We will return when back in Hakone

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Mpeg36
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

When you have spent the last week in tiny airbnb rooms, Hakone Green Plaza is a luxury. Easy access via the Ropeway from Gora Station, hop off at the 2nd last stop on the right. Walk down the road less than 10 minutes and you're there! Gotemba shopping outlets have a bus from Gora station. Also easy access to the cable cars, we got to repeat the cablecar ride in the morning before 11am checkout! We got the dinner and breakfast deal which I would recommend because there arent any restuarants in its vicinity and it is quite quiet at night. Dinner was very good and filling (although perhaps not enough for a full grown male - supplement with sulfur eggs!) Breakfast was a mix of western and japanese buffet. We chose the japanese suites which were spacious and the futons incredibly comfortable. (The hotel helped us set up whilst we were at the hotel restuarant). I highly recommend spending time in the onsen in the evening, take advantage of their excellent bath products that make my hair smell divine. Wearing the Yakuta around thr hotel was fun also! Don't forget to check out the outside as well as inside onsen!! The hotel charges an onsen tax so you may as well! There are also massage chairs to relax! Wifi is in the lobby only but it is fast and the lobby has chairs private enough to curl into and skype. On checkout we missed the shuttle bus back to Gora station but the bus driver was kind enough to do a second loop on his return, and helped us carry our heavy bags up and down the undercover walkway. Excellent experience to remember!

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank Whitney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews