We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Beatriz
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Don’t Do It

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
If I could give it less than one star, I would. We left immediately. The hotel looks nothing like the website. It looks very neglected. The pool was closed and full of algae and frogs. I was told that the exterior pools in the area do not open until July, but that was no excuse for the condition that the place was in. The buffet restaurant was also closed. The room smelled of mildew. The hotel felt abandoned. Unacceptable.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$274
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mount View Hakone
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Mount View Hakone

AU$239
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
8.7 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

AU$463
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$463
  • Algotels
8.6 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$180
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
4.6 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$572
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$572
4.4 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Pax Yoshino

  • Priceline
  • japanican.com
    AU$325
  • Expedia.com
    AU$354
0.6 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free parking
Restaurant
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
  • Algotels
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$293
  • Expedia.com
    AU$407
1.4 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

  • Expedia.com
    AU$604
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$444
  • Hotels.com
4.0 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
    AU$349
  • Expedia.com
    AU$419
7.1 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
    AU$580
  • Expedia.com
    AU$590
5.5 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
41
60
31
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
60
31
11
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where do I start!
From the start when we checked in 4 people refused to check in and left without refund.
All the pictures that are posted have been edited to look nice.
1.I made a complaint about the poor condition and the staff member laughed in my face even after I asked him to stop. The manager had to tell him to stop.
2. The pool had fish in it and was green water.
3. The walls in the room had holes and tape to fix it..
The sink had rust on it.
4. The room looked liked a backpacker.
5 the staff was mostly Indian and was very rude and not helpful .
6 when I complained they offered me what I have already paid for.
7 the hole place smells .
8 they even put tape on the walls to fix it
I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Japan and this is the worst.
Please don’t stay here.

Room tip: This hotel is like a hotel in Africa. The worst hotel in Japan.. I got laughed in my face.
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djandy3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2024

We had a great time here! they could do with changing the carpets in the corridors, but you forget about that very quickly when you enjoy the onsen. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Food was really nice too, japanese and western options were available

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 311lizethl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2023

Hotel was not as inaccessible as per other reviews. Just take the shuttle bus from Hakone-Yumoto to Hotel Okada. The Hotel Okada staff will give a map to walk to Hakonenomori Okada through level 8 and a short upslope, a few mins walk only. To arrange to go to catch an early train, simply email the staff at least one week earlier and they can help you to book a taxi at your requested timing. Taxi ride only 5 mins less than 1000 yen. At least one of the staff who greeted me can speak English to explain everything. There's a private family onsen which you can pre book a timing on the same day. Outdoor onsen was nice and quiet on early Sunday morning. For shuttle bus, be early to queue especially on weekends. We had a good stay with our children at Western Japanese Room as there was space for them to play around in the room. We even had a vending machine just outside our doorstep. Breakfast buffet was nice. Dinner menu was changed nightly and we enjoyed the second night meal. There is a link bridge from level 3 to the onsen facility just next door. Just wear the provided outdoor slippers from your room and leave them at the doorstep of the onsen facility ( no footwear allowed)
This place is budget friendly compared to all other ryokans with meals provided.

Room tip: Perhaps can request to stay on the side with a nicer facing. Queue early for shuttle bus.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bugsimpact
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2022 via mobile

The Japanese rooms are almost to small to house two people with luggage, mattresses very thin, no Aircon available (only air clean). Room was run-down, the entire hotel is in dire need for make-over. It surely has seen better days. Therefore, it is overpriced. On the plus side: Food was good and so was the Onsen. But one would find similar Onsen standards nearby, in fact, next door. The nicely sized swimming pool closes at 5pm, can’t tell it’s quality. Massage service available, good service.

Room tip: If you use it to get closer to Fuji-hiking departure: it takes over one hour to get to the parking lots near Gotemba or Fujinomiya
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Maikind74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2019 via mobile

Don’t stay here if you want to see Mt Fuji, unless you have your own car. (But who hires a car in Japan? The train system is great.)

Foolishly I believed the reviews saying this was a good hotel in a good location. It’s ok, but nothing special. The location is not special at all.

At this time of year (May) it seems you have to be in a good position to see Mt Fuji at around 6am till 8am maybe, and then if you’re lucky and Mt Fuji is not covered with clouds. This hotel is at least 30-60mins from any Fuji viewing spot, and I was just told that getting a taxi at 6am is “impossible”. The first taxi could come at 10am, which doesn’t help. This hotel has a car but they only use it to ferry guests to a nearby hotel where the shuttle bus service operates to take you down the hill to public transport. The shuttle starts at 7.55am which is too late. Mt Fuji will be in clouds by then. The hotel could easily take us to the station in their car, but they refuse, as this too is “impossible”.

This place is just another hotel. It’s not great, and it’s not even good. Yes it has hot spring baths. If you want to not see Mt Fuji, and cook yourself red like a live lobster, then stay here if you must. The onsen bath is ok if that’s what you’re after. Personally, I wish we hadn’t stayed here at all.

My tip is to stay very near a good Mt Fuji viewing place that you can get to in 20-30 mins max. Wake up at 530am, and go on an early morning adventure. Be in position by 6am and pray a bit to whatever weather god you like. And don’t rely on unhelpful people who make things impossible for you.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RichardKPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews