We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
bugsimpact
Singapore, Singapore

Budget Friendly for family with meals , nice stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Dec 2023
Hotel was not as inaccessible as per other reviews. Just take the shuttle bus from Hakone-Yumoto to Hotel Okada. The Hotel Okada staff will give a map to walk to Hakonenomori Okada through level 8 and a short upslope, a few mins walk only. To arrange to go to catch an early train, simply email the staff at least one week earlier and they can help you to book a taxi at your requested timing. Taxi ride only 5 mins less than 1000 yen. At least one of the staff who greeted me can speak English to explain everything. There's a private family onsen which you can pre book a timing on the same day. Outdoor onsen was nice and quiet on early Sunday morning. For shuttle bus, be early to queue especially on weekends. We had a good stay with our children at Western Japanese Room as there was space for them to play around in the room. We even had a vending machine just outside our doorstep. Breakfast buffet was nice. Dinner menu was changed nightly and we enjoyed the second night meal. There is a link bridge from level 3 to the onsen facility just next door. Just wear the provided outdoor slippers from your room and leave them at the doorstep of the onsen facility ( no footwear allowed)
This place is budget friendly compared to all other ryokans with meals provided.
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Perhaps can request to stay on the side with a nicer facing. Queue early for shuttle bus.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
AU$279
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$253
  • japanican.com
    AU$307
0.4 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$673
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • japanican.com
    AU$602
  • Expedia.com
    AU$792
4.4 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

AU$382
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$345
  • Expedia.com
    AU$581
4.0 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$495
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$496
  • Priceline
  • japanican.com
    AU$539
5.5 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Yoshiike Ryokan

AU$373
  • japanican.com
    AU$332
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$415
0.9 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$301
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • japanican.com
    AU$383
  • Expedia.com
    AU$331
0.1 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$368
  • Expedia.com
    AU$445
  • Agoda.com
    AU$320
  • japanican.com
    AU$324
7.1 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

AU$533
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$475
  • Expedia.com
    AU$590
8.6 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Pax Yoshino

  • Priceline
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$319
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free parking
Restaurant
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Gora Hanaougi

  • Agoda.com
    AU$2,034
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
5.4 km from Hakonenomori Okada
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
41
60
31
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
60
31
11
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2022 via mobile

The Japanese rooms are almost to small to house two people with luggage, mattresses very thin, no Aircon available (only air clean). Room was run-down, the entire hotel is in dire need for make-over. It surely has seen better days. Therefore, it is overpriced. On the plus side: Food was good and so was the Onsen. But one would find similar Onsen standards nearby, in fact, next door. The nicely sized swimming pool closes at 5pm, can’t tell it’s quality. Massage service available, good service.

Room tip: If you use it to get closer to Fuji-hiking departure: it takes over one hour to get to the parking lots near Gotemba or Fujinomiya
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Maikind74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2019 via mobile

Don’t stay here if you want to see Mt Fuji, unless you have your own car. (But who hires a car in Japan? The train system is great.)

Foolishly I believed the reviews saying this was a good hotel in a good location. It’s ok, but nothing special. The location is not special at all.

At this time of year (May) it seems you have to be in a good position to see Mt Fuji at around 6am till 8am maybe, and then if you’re lucky and Mt Fuji is not covered with clouds. This hotel is at least 30-60mins from any Fuji viewing spot, and I was just told that getting a taxi at 6am is “impossible”. The first taxi could come at 10am, which doesn’t help. This hotel has a car but they only use it to ferry guests to a nearby hotel where the shuttle bus service operates to take you down the hill to public transport. The shuttle starts at 7.55am which is too late. Mt Fuji will be in clouds by then. The hotel could easily take us to the station in their car, but they refuse, as this too is “impossible”.

This place is just another hotel. It’s not great, and it’s not even good. Yes it has hot spring baths. If you want to not see Mt Fuji, and cook yourself red like a live lobster, then stay here if you must. The onsen bath is ok if that’s what you’re after. Personally, I wish we hadn’t stayed here at all.

My tip is to stay very near a good Mt Fuji viewing place that you can get to in 20-30 mins max. Wake up at 530am, and go on an early morning adventure. Be in position by 6am and pray a bit to whatever weather god you like. And don’t rely on unhelpful people who make things impossible for you.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RichardKPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2019

We stayed at this place for 2 nights. We booked the mixed western-Japanese room, which was really spacious. We would recommend that to other families with small children, the tatami area was great for our toddler to crawl around on and putting him to sleep on the futon definitely was also very convenient, as there's no risk of him dropping off the bed in the middle of the night. It is also spacious enough, as it has the tatami area, the area with the two western beds as well as separate toilet, bathroom and sink areas.

We also really enjoyed the onsen and the food. (Note that for dinner there are no baby chairs provided, however there are baby chairs for breakfast). The dinner was really nice with a lot of different food items and it was not the same for the two nights we stayed. The breakfast is also nice, however be aware that it's Japanese breakfast only, so there was no toast or corn flakes.

The one thing we didn't like about this place is the shuttle bus. We knew beforehand that the hotel is a bit hard to reach and the walk from the shuttle bus is really no issue (they can call a car for you if you ask at the hotel where the shuttle stops), but the shuttle bus itself is really horrible. We took it 3 times and every time it was very crowded. When taking the shuttle from the station, it would fill up 10-15 minutes before departure time every time and on the way down to the station it was already almost full when it reached our hotel. The bus is tiny and is definitely not made for taking any luggage.

So we would definitely go back here if it wasn't for the atrocious shuttle bus.

Room tip: The mixed western-Japanese room is really spacious.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drat70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2019

The hotel was a little tricky to get to. We would recommend people leave large pieces of luggage at a train station to be stored or sent through a delivery service to your next destination.

We liked our room and our experience at the onsen was positive. It was just a bit busy because of the holiday season. The dinner was good and breakfast was OK. Wifi was decent.

Unfortunately, the hallways smelled of cigarette smoke.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banhwagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2018 via mobile

This hotel was very far in from the road. It was dark and deep in. The room was large and comfortable. The futons were surprisingly comfy. The onsen experience was great with both indoor and outdoor jacuzzi. Would probably go back. Check out the hakone bakery about 3 mins drive out. It serves really good pastry.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CTSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews