We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Little Hotel”
Review of Hotel Okuyumoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Okuyumoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2016

It's kind of a quirky little hotel that looks like it's maybe past its heyday. But we both enjoyed our stay very much. For the price, the option to stay in a traditional Japanese room was very attractive. The breakfast in the morning was varied and good. The onsen at the hotel wasn't bad (read: not great, but not horrible either); I'd recommend instead checking out the Tenzen buplic bath nearby- which lives up to its reputation on this site.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cavista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed in 2 room suite "Tsubaki" with private outdoor hot springs bath. Two rooms separated by hallway and 1 full bath with toilet just adjacent to bathroom so if someone taking a bath can have privacy yet toilet available for others. Recommend for family reunions.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank countrygrammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We had a pleasant one night stay at this hotel which is reasonably well located for exploring the Hakone area. The manager was very helpful to us making a couple of special trips in the hotel shuttle bus to and from the Hakone station, to collect our luggage so we could explore the area and then later to pick us up to take us back to the hotel. His English is good. The hotel is comfortable and well presented. We had no booked the tradition dinner but they have a very good dinner buffet where some of the main dishes are cooked fresh by the Chef – good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NickNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We stayed here for two nights in a traditional room. The room was for Japanese standards very big. There is a free sauna in the hotel next to some great onsen baths (indoor and outdoor) getting to the hotel was easy with an shuttle bus. It is nog near a city centre so you are dependent of the hotel kitchen. We only took breakfast and that was ok.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Check in was done as a group and was quick and easy.
This hotel is a traditional Japanese Inn so the rooms are not like western hotel rooms. We all had Japanese style rooms. The main room is covered with tatami mats and the seating is on the floor. The futon was made up while we were eating dinner. Yukata's were supplied in all rooms and worn by all of us for our included dinners.
Wifi was only accessible from the lounge area.
If you stay at this hotel, you should take a communal bath.
I was in 2 minds about taking a bath before I visited here but decided that "when in Rome" and I'm so glad that I did. The ritual before bathing is very "cleansing/relaxing". I thought I would be embarrassed, bathing in the nude with women that I did not know but the bath itself is so warming and relaxing that the nudity just isn't a consideration.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank SpiderB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakone-machi hotels
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Tenseien
Tenseien
#13 of 246 in Hakone-machi
495 reviews
Gora Onsen
Merveille Hakone Gora
Merveille Hakone Gora
#57 of 246 in Hakone-machi
200 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Okada
Hotel Okada
#45 of 246 in Hakone-machi
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hotel Senkei
Hotel Senkei
#105 of 246 in Hakone-machi
118 reviews
Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Hakonenomori Okada
Hakonenomori Okada
#64 of 246 in Hakone-machi
107 reviews
Tounosawa Onsen
Tonosawa Ichinoyu Shinkan
Tonosawa Ichinoyu Shinkan
#42 of 246 in Hakone-machi
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okuyumoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okuyumoto

Address: 211 Yumotochaya, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0312, Kanagawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Kanagawa Prefecture > Ashigarashimo-gun > Hakone-machi > Hakoneyumoto Onsen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 246 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakone-machi
Price Range: $250 - $832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Okuyumoto 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Okuyumoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing