We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Michiharu
Japan

Although the building and facilthes are old,

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Feb 2023
and the windows in the rooms are small not taking full advantage of the scenic mountain views. This dated but relaxed hotel has relatively inexpensive rates as compared with others in Hakoe area.

The service is courteous in a Japanese way. The view from the lobby and the restaurant is wonderful. Above all, the outdoor hot spring bath, which is a cloudy white water with not too strong sulfur content, is wonderful. That may be due to the fact that I entered three times and was alone all three times.
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount View Hakone
Booking.com
AU$249
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$354
  • Agoda.com
    AU$233
  • Expedia.com
    AU$326
3.3 km from Hotel Marroad Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$268
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$264
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$264
5.6 km from Hotel Marroad Hakone
Free parking
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
Expedia.com
AU$311
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$289
  • japanican.com
    AU$312
5.5 km from Hotel Marroad Hakone
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$501
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$429
  • Rakuten Travel
    AU$598
4.3 km from Hotel Marroad Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
Booking.com
AU$248
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$230
  • Priceline
6.1 km from Hotel Marroad Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
Booking.com
AU$358
  • Priceline
  • japanican.com
    AU$286
  • Expedia.com
    AU$449
5.4 km from Hotel Marroad Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$628
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • japanican.com
    AU$500
  • Expedia.com
    AU$627
0.4 km from Hotel Marroad Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • japanican.com
    AU$612
  • travelup.com
    AU$782
1.5 km from Hotel Marroad Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$511
  • Trip.com
1.7 km from Hotel Marroad Hakone
Free parking
Restaurant
Private Hot Spring Area
Vio.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$353
  • Trip.com
5.8 km from Hotel Marroad Hakone
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
25
72
34
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
72
34
18
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2022

Stayed at Hotel Marroad Hakone overnight in Gora to break up the Golden Route around Hakone. Was not seeking an onsen experience, was only looking for a room for the night (did not eat at hotel) for a reasonable price, so cannot comment on food and beverage. Room was older and dated, but very clean and quiet. Staff were friendly. Used the indoor and outdoor hot mineral baths, which were clean and well maintained. Hotel was a 12 minute walk (and substantial elevation) away from restaurants in Gora (not that there are many), so dining options were limited (and a hike uphill to get back to the hotel).

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H3565SVscottw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2020 via mobile

This was not our first choice but the hotels we wanted were booked out. We had requested a room with a nice view and had been happy to pay accordingly when we made the booking, but were given one with a tiny dormer window, facing away from the mountains, which was quite dark, even in the middle of the day.
Once we checked in my husband and adult son went out immediately for a few hours and took the only key we had been given. I went to reception to ask for an extra key but they told me it was one key per room. So I wasn’t able to go out until they returned. I did ask if I went for a walk could they just let me back in when I returned but they said they would be unable to do that...
There were huge mosquitos in the room which we didn’t discover until we turned the lights out. As there were warnings about dengue fever in this area perhaps they could have provided insect screens on the windows.
Breakfast was included and the time slot needed to be booked at check in. It included risotto and croque monsieur which was rather odd, but the serves were large.
Our room was clean, but parts of the hotel were rather run down. The outside onsen and tennis courts were closed, and the corridors leading outside smelled musty and mouldy. We peeped in the outdoor onsen and a tiny bat flew out.
The grounds were mostly overgrown although the front of the hotel was neat.
Very unusually for Japan we found the reception staff rather unfriendly and disinterested. As we appeared to be pretty much the only guests I don’t think it was because they were super busy.
The best thing about staying here was the beautiful French restaurant, Cresson, which we discovered about 5 minutes walk away. The most amazing food, beautifully presented and reasonably priced.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Climber20030068502
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2018

This hotel is very difficult to rate. On one hand the rooms are very big and very comfortable. On the other hand, everything requires some upgrade to modern standard. The hotel is clean and the staff is very helpful.

To reach the hotel you either call for a pick up at the Hakone station or grab the cable car to the Koen-Kami stop and walk a few hundred meters to the hotel.

The breakfast is ordered the day before and is ready at the table the next morning at the agreed time. Breakfast is good, coffee could be better.

We also tried the 5-course set menu. A rather expensive choice of dinner but it was good. In our opinion they could have slowed down a little and left a little break between the dishes. The menu is inspired by the French kitchen which we also found a bit strange when in Japan. We would have preferred a Japanese inspired kitchen. The restaurant is, however, a good convenient alternative after a long days walk in the national park.

The onsen (thermal bath) and sauna area is functional but in dire need of renovation. The best part is the outdoor area.

The size of the rooms the comfortable hotel and the friendly personnel would give this hotel 5 stars. The extreme lack of maintenance leaves me only with 3 stars in this review.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadsDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We spent two nights there. Our room had a nice view of the mountains. The Onsan was very nice with an outside area in the fresh air. We enjoyed the bath in the evening and again in the morning and never even used the tub or shower in our room. The only problem we had was that the meals were out of our price range, so we went elsewhere to eat

Room tip: Every room looks like they have a good view. There is an elevator so accessibility is no problem.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuko-Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2018

My wife and I stayed in late March.

Positives:

Hakone is a beautiful area.
Transport around the region is fun. I really enjoyed the ropeway.
Bus driver at the hotel was great. Could not be more helpful.
Our room was a great size.
Great restaurants nearby.

Negative:

Biggest mosquito's I have ever seen in the room.
Not a lot of English spoken at the hotel. Totally understand this isn't an issue for locals but its worth knowing if you are not Japanese.
Hotel is pretty old.
Bathroom was old and water pressure was variable.
Breakfast served was odd and unlike anything else we had in Japan.

Ultimately I wouldn't return, but it could have been worse.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank V1110UBpaulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews