We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jcartio
Banjarmasin, south borneo - indonesia

1st time around Hakone Yumoto

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 May 2024via mobile
This hotel breakfast and dinner is great. We are staying at river view with hottub in the balcony. The only probles is if you have room on east side you will be facing Tenseian Hotel parking lot which is less privacy and disturbing view from your balcony and from your hot tub. Since this hotel is old, you can constantly step sound from floor above, so if you got noisy neighbors above you, it will be disaster (like our experience) it will not be a problem if you bring earplug like me. A lot of choice around hakone yumoto, i think i will try other hotel if visiting this area again
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Twin Room at the Tenseien
AU$274
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Hakone Pax Yoshino
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Japanese-Western Style Room with Open Air Bath at the Mizu no To
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Kowakudani Onsen Mizu no To

AU$579
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$579
4.4 km from Hakone Pax Yoshino
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$496
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
5.9 km from Hakone Pax Yoshino
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room with open air bath (SUISAI)
AU$330
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Hakone Pax Yoshino
Free Wifi
Free parking
ナカニワ(夕景イメージ)
AU$538
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • japanican.com
4.9 km from Hakone Pax Yoshino
Free Wifi
Free parking
湯本富士屋ホテル外観
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$356
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Hakone Pax Yoshino
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$678
  • Algotels
4.8 km from Hakone Pax Yoshino
Free Wifi
Free parking
Private Hot Spring Area
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Yoshiike Ryokan

  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$417
  • japanican.com
0.3 km from Hakone Pax Yoshino
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$377
  • Algotels
7.7 km from Hakone Pax Yoshino
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ryokan
A Ryokan is a traditional Japanese accommodation which typically features ‘futon’ (folding mattresses) on ‘tatami’ (straw mat) floors. Many Ryokan are known for their public baths (typically "Onsen" hot springs) and their traditional cuisine. 24/7 front desk service is not guaranteed for this accommodation type.

Hakone Ashinoko Hanaori

  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$543
  • Hotels.com
9.0 km from Hakone Pax Yoshino
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hakone-machi
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
205
254
78
32
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
205
254
78
32
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station private onsen table tennis traditional room tourist town tatami floor cost yen hot spring water yoshinoya dinner bath english hakone japan dishes slippers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2024

I stayed at this hotel with my friend for 2 days 1 night. We are looking for a nice hotel with onsen that are not too far from Tokyo. While researching Hakone, we stumbled upon the hotel. The pictures are beautiful enough with a few good reviews. Although we do notice the horrible reviews.. should have heed those reviews.

While booking the hotel (we chose the option with kaiseki/dinner and breakfast), we put in the note that we cannot eat a particular meat, due to allergies. Please note that in the booking form, there is a question on allergies, etc. However, upon our dinner, we notice that the particular meat was presented to us in the form of a hotpot. When we question the waiter, he seemed confuse and not aware of our request (Note: 1 waiter can seem to talk decent enough English). He then proceed to remove the particular meat from the hotpot, and just left the hotpot as it is where the meat has been soaked. We informed the waiter that this is not acceptable and asked to get a new pot. This request is not met and another waiter who cannot speak English at all simply ignore us. Oh, and btw, don’t bother asking for a refill of hot tea or water, as it will take them at least 20 minutes to serve the tea/water to you. Btw, the whole dinner is TOTALLY UNDERWHELMING. Afterwards, when we complaint to the front desk, they did acknowledged our request in the form. They then just said they cannot do anything and offered a free personal onsen which is only available from 9.30 to 10.30 pm. (At that time, it is already 9.15 pm). We decline as we already went to the onsen earlier and who would go again after that.

Another horrible realisation we encounter is during breakfast. Most of the ingredients that we ate during kaiseki/dinner is the same with breakfast - same fish, miso soup, tofu, etc.). So, in hindsight, the kaiseki is just totally normal ingredients with fancy cutleries. This is not my first onsen hotel with kaiseki I’ve experienced in Japan, so I do know the standard they are supposed to deliver.

In summary, please AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COST. I saw another review that say this hotel does not cater to your special dietary so my experience is not the first one. You can get better option hotel with more nicer onsen around Hakone at the same price.

Room tip: AVOID THIS HORRIBLE HOTEL - TERRIBLE SERVICE
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cruiser10675208604
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2023

We got a Japanese style room, and the experience was great. The staff prepared our beds while we were having dinner and when we returned to our room, everything was setup for a good rest. Breakfast were great and delicious. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jorbrele
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2023

I was really looking forward to this hotel as the picture presents it well. What the pictures does not: The hotel smells of mould. So there is not one place in the hotel that does not smell. We could have the windows open but i cannot imagine how the smell would creep into every pore with windows closed.The hotel is located a 12 min walk from the station which is ok, so with luggage its easy to get there. Rooms are spacious. I booked a room which I thought would have view to the nature. It had, partly but we mainly saw the parking lot. Paid for included food in situ. Had breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was basic and ok. Dinner consisted of several fares. It was clean and fresh, but not especially tasty. Staff was nice.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Firstrow100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2023 via mobile

Amazing staff.

We came here as part of a 2 week tour of Japan to experience traditional type rooms and dining. We were given a large room with a small wooden tub. I think our travel agent had severely miscommunicated what a private onsen would be, so we were a little underwhelmed. However, the staff at the front desk especially the manager were exceptional in trying their best to help. It all gets quite frustrating with language barriers yet they really did want to ensure we had the best stay. We used the private onsen as we didn’t feel comfortable using the public one. This was amazing and my skin has never felt so good. And much needed after days of sight seeing.

Food wasn’t to my taste as I don’t eat fish, my daughter on the other hand was in heaven with the beautifully presented food. Please ensure you let the hotel know before hand if you have any food allergies as they will do their best to help.

Two ladies came to set up our beds and also helped and talked us through wearing the yukata. (Dressing is not part of their service, we were lucky to have such helpful staff arrive)

The main manager on the desk (we stayed 3/7/23) was the shining star for us. He was so helpful he made me cry happy tears. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room tip: Ensure food allergies are made known prior to booking
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LadyBnMiniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2023 via mobile

Situated around a 10-15 minute walk from the train station the hotel is easy to get to. The staff were friendly and there was bag storage for those arriving before check in. The room was pretty cool more traditional Japanese than our Tokyo hotel. We had dinner included which wasn't to our taste but we are quite fussy! The highlight though was hiring the private onsen for an hour this cost 3300 Yen around £21 well worth the money!

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ldgp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews