We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay if you enjoy a spa in your room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2015

This is a good hotel - but beware the web page makes it appear a shiny new slick 5 star - whereas the reality is that it is a bit worn at the edges and the lobby is a cluttered mess of odds and ends for sale. It is also located far from town in a grubby grey typical Japanese streetscape. Nevertheless I think it is a great hotel. Mainly for the spa and ocean view. The staff are friendly and the breakfast great. The dinner buffet is too expensive so we ate in town with the total cost of dinner, beers and taxi fare still cheaper than the meal offered there. I love the tatami room with adjoining spa and I have not seen this before in Japan. But if you don't like spa or tatami rooms stay in town near Motomachi.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
湯の川プリンスホテル渚亭, 予約係 at Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2015

Thank you for staying NAGISATEI.
We are very glad that you enjoyed a spa in your room
and the breakfast.
Our dinner buffet may be more expensive than other hotels.
However, you maybe understand the price and quality of it.
Hope you once try it.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2015

The room with the private onsen at the balcony doesn't have any view other than the vast ocean. But the thrill of sitting in the hot tub (enough for 2 persons) at the balcony, whether it is day or night, is worth the price. If only the notice/instructions on the use of the onsen can be in English other than Japanese, it will be most helpful. The room looked like it was newly renovated. Other reviewers wrote that the room is stuffy. We had to open our windows too as there was no aircon. Could it be because we stayed in April when the weather is still cold? I couldn't sleep at first because the winds were howling but luckily the wind died down after a while. Hence I gave the sleep quality a 3 star.

We find he service throughout our stay very good though. I asked for a travel charger at the reception but they did not have it. However, they did try their very best to get one though unfortunately, it wasn't suitable. We had trouble setting our GPS to the fish market and spent some time in the car park figuring out how. The attendant at the car park must have alerted the reception staff and the next thing we knew, an English speaking staff came to our car and helped us.

We had stayed for two nights and had the Japanese set dinner and breakfast. Both were good.

Next to the hotel is a ramen shop by a famous ramen chef. It is very good and opened till late.

We also visited the Botanic Garden which is about 5 mins walk from the hotel. A waste of money. Nothing like what was shown on its website. Some monkeys were bathing in the enclosure which smelled terribly and the few flowers in the flower dome were nothing special. In fact, hardly any flowers.

If I were to spend a day just relaxing at Hakodate, I will definitely stay here again. For the onsen, food and good service.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PALMS4EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
湯の川プリンスホテル渚亭, Reservation Staff at Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

Thank you for your review and your stay!
We read your review.
It seems that you had a lot of experience at Hakodate.
The best news for us is that you think you want to visit again.
We are very happy that you get good impression for your hotel!
And the location of our hotel is blessed with grand view ocean of Tsugaru Straits.
So you had an unusual experience of your thrilled in the hot tub.
You can see the sea over the world, but it is always beautiful wherever you are!
By the way, you pointed out our air conditioning of the room.
The season of your staying is not prepared air conditioner.
Because it was still cold, you know.
Hakodate has always strong wind, so it made you uncomfortable at night a little.
Sorrry for your inconvenience.
Thank you for all, we are looking forward to your visiting again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Check in process is fast. The staff will lead u to ur room and brief u about the room. They will make the futon for u at night. Different sizes of yukata are available. You will need to wear that when u r in the hotel.
Room is spacious. The private onsen is just nice for 2 person. Toiletries are provided. U got what u need. Aircond is off at night. So we hv to open the window as it's abit stuffy.
For the package, we opt for buffet dinner. Nothing special.not much variety. Bit disappointed. The breakfast is much better and more appetising.
Public onsen is nice.worth trying even though u hv ur private one in room. The public outdoor onsen is with ocean view. There is sauna as well. Swimming pool is same floor as female onsen. It's always empty.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay there. Near to several attractions. But personally feel that it's a little overpriced.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank jillcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
湯の川プリンスホテル渚亭, 予約係 at Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel.
We are very glad that you enjoyed a private onsen and public onsen.
Out hotel stops air conditioning according to temperature by night.
We're sorry that it gives you wakeful night.
It's regrettable taht you couldn't be satisfied with dinner, but we're very happy that you could be satisfied with breakfast.
We can arrange a Japanese course dinner and the Teppanyaki course dinner, too.
Please try them if there is the opportunity when you come to our hotel again.
Once again, thank you for selecting Yunokawa Prince Holte NAGISATEI,
and we sincerely hope to welcome you back with your friends in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a Japanese style room with private onsen facing the ocean. It was great & we could enjoy onsen anytime. It's too bad we couldn't get a bigger room, I think the onsen tub should be wider than ours. Hotel has public bath facing ocean too, just don't lean out as there's car park area on the right side. Breakfast buffet was great with free flow of salmon fish roe!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank karenLHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
湯の川プリンスホテル渚亭, 営業部予約係 at Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for staying at NAGISATEI.
It was good to hear that you enjoyed staying at our hotel.
How abuot trying "Mt.Hakodate side of the room"next time?
We are looking forword to meeting you again.
Seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Rare Gem of Heaven Found on Earth

It was winter when we arrived for our honeymoon

Clean and Spacious Room
Top Class Customer Service
Perfect View across the ocean from our own private onsen
Good location just 15 mins away from town via the punctual bus service
Excellent and Very Fresh Seafood taken in a own private cabin

A place that i will definitely visit again with my family

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eskay1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakodate hotels
Yunokawa Onsen
La Vista Hakodate Bay
La Vista Hakodate Bay
#1 of 96 in Hakodate
1,596 reviews
Yunokawa Onsen
Heiseikan Kaiyotei
Heiseikan Kaiyotei
#26 of 96 in Hakodate
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakodate Kokusai Hotel
#3 of 96 in Hakodate
654 reviews
Yunokawa Onsen
Hakodate Yunokawa Onsen Hotel Banso
Hakodate Danshaku Club
#4 of 96 in Hakodate
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei

Address: 1-2-25 Yunokawacho, Hakodate 042-0932, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate > Yunokawa Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hakodate
#2 Business Hotel in Hakodate
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hakodate
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hakodate
Price Range: $260 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunokawa Prince Nagisatei Hakodate
Yunokawa Prince Nagisatei Hotel Hakodate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing