We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
240
177
36
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
177
36
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private onsen ocean view internet reviews breakfast and dinner hot spa town centre onsen hotel excellent stay traditional japanese room sushi stayed two nights night view taxi hokkaido baths luggage tokyo
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2015

The room with the private onsen at the balcony doesn't have any view other than the vast ocean. But the thrill of sitting in the hot tub (enough for 2 persons) at the balcony, whether it is day or night, is worth the price. If only the notice/instructions on the use of the onsen can be in English other than Japanese, it will be most helpful. The room looked like it was newly renovated. Other reviewers wrote that the room is stuffy. We had to open our windows too as there was no aircon. Could it be because we stayed in April when the weather is still cold? I couldn't sleep at first because the winds were howling but luckily the wind died down after a while. Hence I gave the sleep quality a 3 star.

We find he service throughout our stay very good though. I asked for a travel charger at the reception but they did not have it. However, they did try their very best to get one though unfortunately, it wasn't suitable. We had trouble setting our GPS to the fish market and spent some time in the car park figuring out how. The attendant at the car park must have alerted the reception staff and the next thing we knew, an English speaking staff came to our car and helped us.

We had stayed for two nights and had the Japanese set dinner and breakfast. Both were good.

Next to the hotel is a ramen shop by a famous ramen chef. It is very good and opened till late.

We also visited the Botanic Garden which is about 5 mins walk from the hotel. A waste of money. Nothing like what was shown on its website. Some monkeys were bathing in the enclosure which smelled terribly and the few flowers in the flower dome were nothing special. In fact, hardly any flowers.

If I were to spend a day just relaxing at Hakodate, I will definitely stay here again. For the onsen, food and good service.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PALMS4EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
湯の川プリンスホテル渚亭, Reservation Staff at Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

Thank you for your review and your stay!
We read your review.
It seems that you had a lot of experience at Hakodate.
The best news for us is that you think you want to visit again.
We are very happy that you get good impression for your hotel!
And the location of our hotel is blessed with grand view ocean of Tsugaru Straits.
So you had an unusual experience of your thrilled in the hot tub.
You can see the sea over the world, but it is always beautiful wherever you are!
By the way, you pointed out our air conditioning of the room.
The season of your staying is not prepared air conditioner.
Because it was still cold, you know.
Hakodate has always strong wind, so it made you uncomfortable at night a little.
Sorrry for your inconvenience.
Thank you for all, we are looking forward to your visiting again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Check in process is fast. The staff will lead u to ur room and brief u about the room. They will make the futon for u at night. Different sizes of yukata are available. You will need to wear that when u r in the hotel.
Room is spacious. The private onsen is just nice for 2 person. Toiletries are provided. U got what u need. Aircond is off at night. So we hv to open the window as it's abit stuffy.
For the package, we opt for buffet dinner. Nothing special.not much variety. Bit disappointed. The breakfast is much better and more appetising.
Public onsen is nice.worth trying even though u hv ur private one in room. The public outdoor onsen is with ocean view. There is sauna as well. Swimming pool is same floor as female onsen. It's always empty.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay there. Near to several attractions. But personally feel that it's a little overpriced.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank jillcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
湯の川プリンスホテル渚亭, 予約係 at Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel.
We are very glad that you enjoyed a private onsen and public onsen.
Out hotel stops air conditioning according to temperature by night.
We're sorry that it gives you wakeful night.
It's regrettable taht you couldn't be satisfied with dinner, but we're very happy that you could be satisfied with breakfast.
We can arrange a Japanese course dinner and the Teppanyaki course dinner, too.
Please try them if there is the opportunity when you come to our hotel again.
Once again, thank you for selecting Yunokawa Prince Holte NAGISATEI,
and we sincerely hope to welcome you back with your friends in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a Japanese style room with private onsen facing the ocean. It was great & we could enjoy onsen anytime. It's too bad we couldn't get a bigger room, I think the onsen tub should be wider than ours. Hotel has public bath facing ocean too, just don't lean out as there's car park area on the right side. Breakfast buffet was great with free flow of salmon fish roe!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank karenLHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
湯の川プリンスホテル渚亭, 営業部予約係 at Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for staying at NAGISATEI.
It was good to hear that you enjoyed staying at our hotel.
How abuot trying "Mt.Hakodate side of the room"next time?
We are looking forword to meeting you again.
Seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Rare Gem of Heaven Found on Earth

It was winter when we arrived for our honeymoon

Clean and Spacious Room
Top Class Customer Service
Perfect View across the ocean from our own private onsen
Good location just 15 mins away from town via the punctual bus service
Excellent and Very Fresh Seafood taken in a own private cabin

A place that i will definitely visit again with my family

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eskay1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015 via mobile

Just came back from this hotel a month ago, it was a second visit for my wife but first visit for me.

The hotel located about 15 minutes away by taxi from Hakodate Train Station, it can also be reached by the city tram, with 10 minutes walk.

The unique point of this hotel is they have many rooms with private Onsen which has sea view, we stayed in one of them and it was a memorable experience.

The food, especially the dinner which has the freshest seafood from Hakodate is truly superb and it was the reason my wife keep thinking of coming back to enjoy.

Is a hotel with great food, private Onsen, good view and convenient in terms of proximity to the town centre.

The only set back compared to other luxury ryokan is that the hotel is larger in size and attracted many tourist, is a busy hotel. Luckily we have private onsen.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tedbeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
湯の川プリンスホテル渚亭, 予約係 at Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel.
The number of rooms open-air bath is most in Japan.
Bathing while overlooking the sea is the best!
When summer comes in the evening,
light of ship for squid fishing called ISARIBI is very beautiful.
Please come together again with your wife!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews