We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely scene for hot spring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heiseikan Shiosaitei
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The hotel is located by the sea. The only downside I can say is the sound of the wave throughout the night. If you hv big luggage, I would recommend you going by taxi from the station. It costs around 1800 yen. You could save the spending from elsewhere.

However, the staff and hotel website are not very customer oriented. You would have hard time to contacting the staff for advice etc. Please also remember that their check out is at 10am. We made a mistake and they would charge you for 30 mins delay.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Casey_An
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

This hotel is big and considered in town and is by the sea. We chose to stay in the room in the annex building as learning from Tripadvisor review. The room was specious with good sea view and of course, we had a good time of the private hot spring bath in room. The service was really great as the staffs seemed very care. The half board meals which were included were superb!! As We noticed, the guest who stayed in the annex part would get great extra dishes on the table i.e. Crab, big scallop and etc. There were a show kitchen which offered some western/fusion food i.e. Sliced Wagyu steak, Fried chicken and etc. so staying in annex building is recommended.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Yong M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

This hotel is not worth the money, too expensive. The entire hotel and our room stinks of cigarette smoke, the walls were dirty, there is no wifi in room and the bath is far too small for 2 people. I wouldn't stay here again. Staff were friendly.

Stayed: February 2016
2  Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

The hotel is a little far from the center of town, and only accessible by bus and taxi. What it lacks in location, however, it more than makes up for with its 2 in-house onsens (hot spring) and a huge tatami room. You can view the sunrise from one of them and the other has an outdoor onsen. Both men and women can enjoy both views because the hotel switches the assignment of the onsen in the morning. The buffet spread is also very satisfying, the famous hairy crab is provided for guests to eat to their hearts content.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

It is a rare opportunity to get such a nice onsen hotel in the near vicinity of a city.

Heiseikan has three hotels in hakodate. This is the one with good sea view. You can also choose Bekkan Hanatsuki, which is like the exectuve or premium part nestled at the side of Shiosaitei. But the price of the Bekkan has been outrageous in the new year time so we saw the Heiseikan as a good choice.

It is a gigantic hotel, but I am quite surprised to see that the onsen is not really very busy, at least not packed at all at the hours we used it. We have got the buffet dinner package. We would love to pay more for the kaiseki, but it was not possible as it was fully booked.... But the buffet was not bad at all as there were a big selection of sea food.

The view of the sea was amazing, with snow covered street on the other side. Room was traditional Japanese. Fluffy beds would be made up from the floor in the evening from where the tea table was standing during the day. Quite an interesting experience.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dewei j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakodate hotels
Yunokawa Onsen
Heiseikan Kaiyotei
Heiseikan Kaiyotei
#27 of 96 in Hakodate
130 reviews
Yunokawa Onsen
Yunokawa Prince Hotel Nagisatei
Yunokawa Onsen
Hakodate Yunokawa Onsen Hotel Banso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yunokawa Onsen
Hanabishi Hotel
Hanabishi Hotel
#38 of 96 in Hakodate
145 reviews
Yunokawa Onsen
Yumoto Takubokutei
Yumoto Takubokutei
#40 of 96 in Hakodate
279 reviews
Yunokawa Onsen
Bourou Noguchi Hakodate
Bourou Noguchi Hakodate
#20 of 96 in Hakodate
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heiseikan Shiosaitei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heiseikan Shiosaitei

Address: 1-2-37 Yunokawacho, Hakodate 042-0932, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Hakodate > Yunokawa Onsen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakodate
Price Range: AU$248 - AU$515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heiseikan Shiosaitei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heiseikan Shiosaitei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing